MollyWalcott
Member Since 2026
Good morning all! My name is Sydnee and my cat's name is J.C! We are extremely new to this (diagnosed on 7/28/26) and I have questions about how I should go about giving my baby with his first dose of insulin.
I feed him this morning around 5:30am, ~22g dry food (just started switching his diet from Purina 1 Senior 7 plus dry food to Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food. I know, I read the reviews after purchasing the vet recommended food
). I took a BG reading around 6:30am-6:45am and his BG was at 394. With this reading, should I give him 1u of Lantus? Or should I hold off and take a nothing reading in +2 and give him a dose once his BG fall? Any information helps, I'm incredibly nervous and don't want to throw him into hyperglycermia. Thank you!
-Sydnee
I feed him this morning around 5:30am, ~22g dry food (just started switching his diet from Purina 1 Senior 7 plus dry food to Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food. I know, I read the reviews after purchasing the vet recommended food
-Sydnee