Is Prozinc still safe to use

I am sorry. I forgot that you are on Central Time so one hour earlier than I am. Also, I was thinking your shot time was 6 a.m./6 p.m.
Before power outage It was @ 7 or before have not got down to 7. He is @174. He
Okay good. That’s a good PMPS. He is already getting better. I would go with 1.25 units since he was safe with that dose today.
I am glad for that response, he has just started coming up and did not start going down till a lot later. Thank you.
 
Okay good. That’s a good PMPS. He is already getting better. I would go with 1.25 units since he was safe with that dose today.
He has not peed today, unless he peed over top of where he peed sometime last night or this morning. That is how I knew something was wrong with him because he was peeing so much and he did not pee very much.
 
He has not peed today, unless he peed over top of where he peed sometime last night or this morning. That is how I knew something was wrong with him because he was peeing so much and he did not pee very much.
It is a good sign that he is not going so much. It is because his Blood Glucose has been closer to the normal range (and below the kidney threshold when in blue)
 
Last edited:
It is a good sign that he is not going so much. It is because hos Bloos Glucose has been closer to the normal range (and below the kidney threshold when in blue)
What is the kidney threshold number. Last night & today he did well with 1.25. In the morning if he has high numbers i will give him 1.50. Before he got diabetes he only peed maybe 1 time a day, sometimes 2. He did eat a lot tonight, maybe he feels better, I hope so.
 
He did not start coming down till +6.
Yes. He did really well today with the later nadir. He started coming down slowly, perhaps because of the delayed shot, but at +4 he was slightly going down and kept on going. Some cats always nadir at the same time and some do not. I thought KitKat was going to be a cat who nadired at +6, but maybe not. Thatis what I think happened this morning (that his AMPS was a late nadir.). We will see.
 
What is the kidney threshold number. Last night & today he did well with 1.25. In the morning if he has high numbers i will give him 1.50. Before he got diabetes he only peed maybe 1 time a day, sometimes 2. He did eat a lot tonight, maybe he feels better, I hope so.
I hope he does feel better!

Renal threshold number varies by cat, it can be mid 100's to mid 200's on a human meter. It's the point at which their kidneys start to spill extra sugar into the urine, but it also means the kidneys are working extra hard trying to clear the sugars out. You will also see them peeing more frequently as a result. There are a couple of ways to test and see on each individual cat as to when they start spilling sugar into their urine. But let’s just try to keep him in green, blue and very low yellow.
 
I hope he does feel better!

Renal threshold number varies by cat, it can be mid 100's to mid 200's on a human meter. It's the point at which their kidneys start to spill extra sugar into the urine, but it also means the kidneys are working extra hard trying to clear the sugars out. You will also see them peeing more frequently as a result. There are a couple of ways to test and see on each individual cat as to when they start spilling sugar into their urine. But let’s just try to keep him in green, blue and very low yellow.
OK, I thought it was 300. I tested him at +2 he is @206, lower than this morning.
 
OK, I thought it was 300. I tested him at +2 he is @206, lower than this morning.
It will be okay. You have an automatic feeder to dispense some snacks for him tonight, right? Hopefully you gave him a little of his food at +2 and will set the feeder to give food at +4 and maybe +6? He is lower than last night at this time, but he also started out at a much higher place last night. Last night, he had a pink PMPS. He is doing very well and I feel good about things as long as he will eat his snacks if he wants to. Does he usually eat the small meals?
 
I still do not believe he is in any danger of hypo tonight and the mini meals will stabilize his BG as well. He has a long way to go before he would be in danger. If you are very worried then set an alarm to wake up and test him, but I think he will be just fine.
 
I still do not believe he is in any danger of hypo tonight and the mini meals will stabilize his BG as well. He has a long way to go before he would be in danger. If you are very worried then set an alarm to wake up and test him, but I think he will be just fine.
I test his BG@ 3.5 hrs It was 114, I had not been to bed yet so I gave him his food @11:38 I had not been to bed yet, so I will be up for a while. If i went to bed I would have been up in 20min.
 
Teresa, please check in here on your thread (or start a new one since this one is very long) and let me know you are okay. I have been checking KitKat’s spreadsheet since early this morning — multiple times— and it’s not up to date. I hope both of you are well.
 
It will be okay. You have an automatic feeder to dispense some snacks for him tonight, right? Hopefully you gave him a little of his food at +2 and will set the feeder to give food at +4 and maybe +6? He is lower than last night at this time, but he also started out at a much higher place last night. Last night, he had a pink PMPS. He is doing very well and I feel good about things as long as he will eat his snacks if he wants to. Does he usually eat the small meals?
Yes, he eats his snacks, I gave it to him a little early at 11:28 he was 114. I knew i was in trouble then. I ended up going to bed at 4am got back at 7am, laid down after I feed all the cats for 1 hr. I got up to see my church live stream church . I am going to lay down for a little while, even though my hair is rolled up in rollers. I can see it already coming for tonight again.
 
Teresa, please check in here on your thread (or start a new one since this one is very long) and let me know you are okay. I have been checking KitKat’s spreadsheet since early this morning — multiple times— and it’s not up to date. I hope both of you are well.
Just tired.
 
Chronic pancreatitis.
Teresa, please check in here on your thread (or start a new one since this one is very long) and let me know you are okay. I have been checking KitKat’s spreadsheet since early this morning — multiple times— and it’s not up to date. I hope both of you are well.
I have been trying to think of something to start a new thread. Most of what i say is just talking to you, nothing that anybody else wants to hear.
 
Going to post on SS. I don't want another night like last night. i think it will be the same.
But he was in really great numbers last night. The lowest he went was 114 and then he started rising after that and then unfortunately he went high. You should have gone to be at least by the time he was going up in blues (the 138 and the 157). There was no need to keep staying up after you had tests showing he was rising.
 
I have been trying to think of something to start a new thread. Most of what i say is just talking to you, nothing that anybody else wants to hear.
You can just start a new thread and call it anything. Some people just put something like KitKat continued or Kit Kat and the date. It really doesn’t matter. Just put Kit Kat’s name in the title. You would be so surprised at how many people read the threads on this forum and don’t ever post. They try to learn from reading other people’s threads.
 
But he was in really great numbers last night. The lowest he went was 114 and then he started rising after that and then unfortunately he went high. You should have gone to be at least by the time he was going up in blues (the 138 and the 157). There was no need to keep staying up after you had tests showing he was rising.
I probably should have, but i was not for sure the numbers would hold and he would keep rising. As high as he started out he has come down to 190.
Okay good. That’s a good PMPS. He is already getting better. I would go with 1.25 units since he was safe with that dose today.
Well i won't have a PMPS for a couple more hours, right now is 190, he has been coming down all day, he started at 499.
 
Wow. That's not nice! What do you use as a treat for when you test him? What time will his shot be? I need to set myself an alarm so I will be here.
Well, i have some chicken in the refrigerator I need to cook for him tonight. His shot should be around 8:oop.m. Right now he is playing with some toy mice that squeak, he has not played in a long time.
 
PMPS almost identical to last night’s. Do I think it will be safe to shoot 1.25, yes, but I don’t want you staying up half the night. So if you would like to shoot only 1 unit, we can hope he may still see a little blue and not go too high in yellow. And hopefully you can get some rest.
 
PMPS almost identical to last night’s. Do I think it will be safe to shoot 1.25, yes, but I don’t want you staying up half the night. So if you would like to shoot only 1 unit, we can hope he may still see a little blue and not go too high in yellow. And hopefully you can get some rest.
Thank you.
 
We could not expect him to go up at +2. It’s actually a good sign that his +2 is basically the same as his PMPS. That means he isn’t dropping much yet, so it should be a gentle cycle. He will go down from the 176, of course, because that is the insulin doing its job of driving the sugar out of the blood and into his cells for energy. But I don’t see any danger. Just give him the small meal (which hopefully you already did about half an hour ago.)
 
He really must be doing this because of his tooth healing up. That is good, but I am sorry you are still awake. He has earned a reduction down to .75 units.

Will he let you test him again in say half an hour? At 1 a.m. I will be here. I keep setting alarms to stay awake with you. Please keep feeding him in small amounts so that he will not get too filled up.
 
Also, what is he eating? Do you have any food that is closer to ten percent carbs? If you had some food that was 8 or 9 percent carbs, that would be good.
 
Back
Top