Is Fritz bouncing? Help, please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy & Fritz

Member Since 2021
AMPS was highest number yet tested at home, 354. Last night his PMPS was 293, his +2 was 248, and his +4 was 199 (first blue number, yay!). Then this morning, the high number. After giving him his 0.5 Prozinc injection, I felt some moisture on his coat, darn it. Not sure if insulin or from his water bowl, which he splashes a paw into. How often should I test him throughout the day? He ate well this morning, then ate some more, so I am fully expecting his +2 to be higher than 354, I am using the ReliOn Prime meter. This is his sixth day on insulin. Any help greatly appreciated. @Chris & China (GA) @JanetNJ
 
Last edited:
I do not expect that bounding is happening. With such a low dose you should inspect each syringe to look at the markings and where where bottom of the plunger is with respect to the zero mark. I have found syringe to ne off but as large as 1/2 unit usually withe the zero marking on the syringe really being 1/2 unit of insulin. If you pulled up to the 1/2 unit marking that mean you would be injecting 1 unit of insulin.
 
Larry, I have been using the 40U syringes from my vet. They do not have 0.5 markings. I do those markings myself. I have a box of 100U syringes that finally arrived, and I have the conversion table going from 40U syringes to 100U syringes. When I pull the Prozinc into the syringe, I am going halfway between the 1 mark and the 0 mark.
 
Last edited:
It's totally possible the morning number is a bounce. Also, the AMPS is almost always the last number to come down because of something called Dawn Phenomenon

I'd get a +5 and maybe a +8 just to start filling in some of the big white area's of your spreadsheet.
Just entered the +2 and +5 on his SS before coming here. +2 was 319, +5 was 263, so the moisture I felt on his coat must have been water. +8 coming in two hours. Dawn Phenomenon is very interesting, I had no idea. Thanks, Chris!
 
Are you home during the day? It would really help if you are if you could get tests at different points in the cycle. It's kind of like a puzzle...the more pieces you have filled in, the easier it is to see the whole picture.

Like one day get a +3, +6, +9 and another day get a +2, +5, +8, another get a +3/+4 and a +7...just "sprinkle" them all over to help fill in the puzzle named Fritz.
 
I am in and out of the house right now.. Yes, doing it the way you said, doing three days of staggered sticks, can definitely be done. I will start filling in his puzzle pieces tomorrow. His ears are bleeding like crazy, I do apply pressure for 20-30 seconds post-stick. I have some 28 gauge lancets due in, they were supposed to be here today, but aren’t here yet. For now, at least, these 26 gauge are beginning to get an “ouch” response from him. He is just the BEST boy. This is my heart kitty, super strong bond, he has been so patient with me. Thanks for yet another great suggestion, Chris. Fritzi and I so appreciate it.
 
Last edited:
That's basically the same as the PMPS...remember, meters are allowed a 20% variance so even if you tested the same drop of blood at the same time, you could get plus or minus 20%
You are now officially my therapist. I promise I only need a therapist for diabetic cat matters. Yes, I had read that. I feel like I am absorbing so much and learning more every day, and then when I need that particular tidbit of info, it eludes me. Once again, thank you!
 
It's a lot of information and it's all thrown at you at once. There's no way anybody can remember all the details!

I always thought that it's like trying to pass a test on a college level course in endocrinology when you only saw the textbook yesterday.

You'll get there!
 
It’s exactly like that and my brain feels like a sieve right now. Fantastic information if I can wrap my head around it…. And of course I have four others who need me too. They have all been so good, but I don’t want them to feel neglected or overlooked. We play a lot, the whole pack. Lets them know their world is still secure. Thanks for being here.
 
@Chris & China (GA) Hi, Chris, Fritz is refusing to eat tonight. He ate fine all day, but only ate about a third of his usual dinner portion (1/2 can if Fancy Feast pate). I put some Elsey’s kibble on it as a topper. He ate a few of the kibble, no more. I gave him another bowl of food, one of his favorite flavors, ate a few bites and stopped. I am not comfortable shooting before he eats a full meal. He is NOT acting as if he’s going to eat for me. His numbers today were AMPS 242, +4 291, +8 274, PMPS 263. You know my history with Maggie. I’d rather skip without a full meal in his stomach. He is acting like he’s just sick of the whole process, and I can’t say that I blame him. Can you give me some guidance, please? I feel like I am telling on my cat, lol.
 
The dose will not onset for a couple of hours so you do have time to feed some more.
However, I do understand your concerns with what you have been through.
How about a half dose? Most cats who are fasting for an operation or procedure are given a 1/2 dose of insulin.
You hold the syringe and you must do what you think is best for your kitty. You need to be comfortable with the decision.
If you do skip the dose, please test the urine for ketones.
I hope this helps.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) , if I skip the dose, how soon should I do a ketone test? I don’t have a ketone meter, but I have KetoDiastix. Thank you so much for responding! He is in a room with no distractions (other kitties) and the food he likes a lot. Will check in a minute to see if he ate more.
 
Last edited:
The KetoDiastix is absolutely fine. That is a urine test. I would check a couple of times when you can catch a urine sample.
It is just as an insurance if he doesn’t get the dose.
Any kitty who is not regulated should be getting a ketone test a couple of times a week. It is a simple test and an early warning sign. If caught early ketones can be treated quickly.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) I gave him 1/2 dose, so .25 . I think he ate enough to handle that, I’m okay with that. Thanks again, sorry for the panic,
Perfectly understandable. Remember you are testing so are in control. If you ever need to bring up the BG and he won’t eat, you can always rub honey or Karo on his gums…..and keep doing that until the BG comes up high enough.:bighug:
 
Perfectly understandable. Remember you are testing so are in control. If you ever need to bring up the BG and he won’t eat, you can always rub honey or Karo on his gums…..and keep doing that until the BG comes up high enough.:bighug:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) I did the syrup and honey on the gums with Maggie, to no avail. I suppose she was too far gone. But this time my hypo kit also contains a baby enema syringe bulb in case I have to give the Karo rectally, and I would do it in a heartbeat if necessary. The vet I just saw told me that they were taught to rub just a dab of honey or Karo on the gums, when in reality, it takes at least a tablespoon to work. That’s when I bought the infant syringe.

Believe me, I know how irrational this is. I have Fritz’s numbers, I didn’t have Maggie’s because like an idiot I trusted my vet. So intellectually I know these things, and if something throws us off a bit in the daytime, I handle it easily. At night, it’s a different story. Mags died late at night, with me rubbing honey and Karo on her gums and the inside of her cheeks as my husband sped toward the pet emergency clinic. She died as we arrived, and they could not revive her. Seizures, coma, all of it. They tell me she wasn’t aware of what was happening; I hope that’s the case. I am not the kind of person who panics, but Maggie’s death seems to have left a scar on my psyche, it was brutal. It’s unlike me, it’s a bit humiliating, but I loved her with all my heart, still do, and I saw how severe, how final a hypo episode could be. Thanks for being here and for bearing with me. I so appreciate it. Your Sheba was a beauty!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top