Is Bella OTJ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BellaCat

Member Since 2011
I am so new to this message board and cat diabetes. Our cat Bella was diagnosed with diabetes about 3 to 4 weeks ago (if my memory serves me right). We started on Lantus about 18 days ago thanks to Venita and the wonderful folks at Diabetic Cats in Need! They have saved our Bella's life! If you view our spreadsheet you will see that for the past 8 days Bella has required NO SHOT! Her BG is now staying under 100 consistently. I am supposed to call our vet and let her know how her BG readings have been, which I will do early next week, BUT I was wondering if any of you have had your cat go OTJ and if so how long before you know they are OTJ? Is it too soon to tell in Bella's case?

Thanks!
Cheryl Lynn Moore
 
rule of thumb if the cat can go 14 days without insulin and stays within normal BG range, then the cat can be considered OTJ.

Remember to continue testing to ensure cat stays withing normal bg range and if not, then be prepared to administer insulin again.
 
yea BELLA!
My Bean has not had a shot since 5/21! I still am tooo afraid to get out the party hat yet! Although I have just dusted them! I am soo happy for her and I am in denial as well! I test about every 3 days when I want - randam times so I would think that she is in remission!
Congrats to you Cheryl Lynn Moore and the Bellacat!
Mom to Sugar Bean girl, Civvie Slappy girl & heart patient Gumpy girl
 
I am really pleased for you and Bella. Yes, I would definitely say she is going OTJ. Just to check it out, you might try a food test. Take her BG reading in the morning before you feed her--a fasting BG test. Then 2-3 hours after you feed her, take another BG reading. You should see that her number is down, the result of her pancreas pumping out insulin in response to the food.

Isn't it amazing what low carb canned food can do?
 
Thanks to all of you for the encouragement and rejoicing with me in the path that Bella seems to headed down. I feel the same - like I want to make CERTAIN she is healed before I start doing the HAPPY BELLA'S HEALED DANCE!!! Let's keep praying!

Cheryl Lynn Moore
 
I am EXCITED TO SAY THAT BELLA IS OTJ! With switching to Fancy Feast classic line of cat food only and administering the proper amount of insulin that was needed initially, Bella has totally healed up! She is not urinating and drinking all the time and is back to her pre-diabetic self! She has more energy and she shows all the signs of 100% recovery! I will still keep an eye on her and if she starts showing any symptoms again, I will quickly check her blood glucose. Thanks again to all of you for your help and advice and for Venita Woods and all the gang at DIABETIC CATS IN NEED for helping my Bella live again!

Cheryl Lynn Moore
BELLACAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top