? Insulin Regulation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes. Thank you. I see that now. I understand. I had a similar problem. I changed to an early shot time because we had choir practice on Wednesday nights and had to leave the house at about 6 or so and then would not get home until 9:00 (or even later). If I shot at 6:00 then I got back home by no later than 9 so that was +3 after the shot and I could test and see what was going on. Shooting really early also worked on Sunday mornings because we didn’t have to leave until about 10 (sometimes 9) which was already +4 after shot time. I could feed higher carb at that time if necessary. You can shoot 30 minutes early or late on any given day without it impacting the numbers. That would be 30 minutes per day and not at each shot time. Much more than that and shooting early may act as a dose increase and shooting late may act as a dose decrease. But Lantus is actually a lot more forgiving than you may think. Yes, consistency is very important and we aim for that, but the real world sometimes gets in the way. The depot is what helps the Lantus to give more gentle curves without such dramatic highs and lows (not accounting for bouncing, of course, which is another subject.)
 
I attend church regularly Sunday morning 8:30 till noon and Wednesday evening 6 till 8:30. I get home around 9pm wed eve. I would have time to get in the door, do what I need to do to get him tested, fed, and shot wirhout being late. If I get home at 9. He won't get his shot until 9:15 while he is eating. So this means on sun/wed he woukd regularly be off schedule 2x a week. If I do 9pm.
See my post about how this is why we switched to an early shot time.
 
I see you said above
I purchased a bag of Crave dry food because fluffy really goes after the dry food I know it's not ideal but it had 21% carbs versus the 33 plus carbs that he was eating originally. If I could afford those ridiculously priced low carb foods I would rather do that but we all know how that goes.

Are you still feeding the Crave dry? Looked st your photo gallery you posted they are all so adorable
@Scarlette & Fluffy
I, out of desperation, bought a 2lb bag of Dr Elsey's Chicken kibble. Remember All 7 cats have to eat it. so It arrived today so I'm mixing about 2 TBSP in their wet food per cat. I really dunno how I can make all this work with so many cats. I won't be buying Crave now. It might have to be all wet food and use Dr Elsey as a topper. I just dunno yet. Fluff really likes dry food. I guess I'll have to just see how that goes. I want to do the best for my precious Fluffy. I'm gonna try raw maybe this weekend if I can manage time wise.

Question: With Lantus....do I have to feed him at the time of the shot? If his shot is at 9:30, can he eat at 7:30 or 8 and still get shot at 9:30??? I cannot early as in 5am/5pm. I am challenged with sleeping issues and cannot have my sleep broken up and stay sane and be in charge of what I am doing. I don't get a solid 4 or 5 hrs a sleep altogether.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
I, out of desperation, bought a 2lb bag of Dr Elsey's Chicken kibble. Remember All 7 cats have to eat it. so It arrived today so I'm mixing about 2 TBSP in their wet food per cat. I really dunno how I can make all this work with so many cats. I won't be buying Crave now. It might have to be all wet food and use Dr Elsey as a topper. I just dunno yet. Fluff really likes dry food. I guess I'll have to just see how that goes. I want to do the best for my precious Fluffy. I'm gonna try raw maybe this weekend if I can manage time wise.

Question: With Lantus....do I have to feed him at the time of the shot? If his shot is at 9:30, can he eat at 7:30 or 8 and still get shot at 9:30??? I cannot early as in 5am/5pm. I am challenged with sleeping issues and cannot have my sleep broken up and stay sane and be in charge of what I am doing. I don't get a solid 4 or 5 hrs a sleep altogether.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


You need to withhold food 2 hours prior to testing because you do not want Flurry's BG number to be food influenced, So if his shot time is 9:30 and he's starving maybe you can give him a little snack at 6:30 or 7:00
@Scarlette & Fluffy
 
Last edited:
AMPS means the first test in the morning , withhold feeding 2 hours prior to testing so it's not food influenced You would put that number in the AMPS cell that means AM pre shot
If you test him 2 hours later after giving insulin that BG number goes in the +2 cell
and so on

Same thing with PMPS withold feeding 2 hours before that test then test and put that BG # in the PMPS cell if you test 3 hours after giving insulin that goes in the +3 cell and so on

The U column means how many units of insulin you are giving
You can start a new post everyday on the Lantus board , there's a lot of Lantus users there
Just say you are new to posting on the Lantus board
, you would do it like this when you start testing
Date Fluffy AMPS # and any additional tests after that
To add those tests to the right you will see the word Tool Threads tap on that then tap on Edit Thread add those tests and tap Save

We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time. Those syringes make it easier to do that

Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit marking ?
yES...i HAVE THE 100u SYRINGES WITH HALF UNIT MARKING
 
You need to withhold food 2 hours prior to testing because you do not want Flurry's BG number to be food influenced, So if his shot time is 9:30 and he's starving maybe you can give him a little snack at 6:30 or 7:00

Scarlette
I'm going to tag Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom to make a line above the date you started lantus which is 7-15 PMPS I don't think the members will know why you put the letter L in your unit cell or what the N means you can just go back and leave Prev Novolin N/ Lantus 7-15 up top of the SS
OK Not sure if you mean line or cell?
 
OK Not sure if you mean line or cell?


Great I see you put the line on your SS saying when you started Lantus:cat:
If you can just go back to your spreadsheet up too where it says insulin and put back Prev Novolin N/ Lantus 7-15 that would be great
@Scarlette & Fluffy

Lantus takes 5-7 days for the depot to build just a heads up
Can you add kibble after the Dr Elsey's chicken in your signature too
 
Please clarify. Are you suggesting I blood test him every hour in pm till what time? Or all night long? Or every 2 hours thru the night? How much insulin do I give of Lantus? I did not give him any insulin this morning because I did not know the correct dosage to give for a BG 172. I appreciate your feed back and clarification as I need my boy to be around a ling time!
Hi Scarlette, can you remove the 4N from the cell right after 172 if you didn’t shoot? Put a NS (no shot) instead. Having it there seems that you shot the 4 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top