Increase yet Higher BG #s ???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wanted to get some feedback and your thoughts on Bryce's numbers, especially the fact that they are trending up after a dose increase. What's up with that? We are working with Dr. P, reviewing the protocol, modified her diet and doing everything we can think to do, but struggling to get Bryce regulated. FYI - I was home on 3/9 so two #'s in yellow. Is she stressing herself out due to food? She's a maniac these days.

Also, want to start using an auto-timed feeder for a mid-day snack, but Bryce went crazy over it last night. Afraid she was going to hurt herself trying to get into it. Any advice on setup/use of these auto feeders? THANKS!
 
I'd like to have a few more people look at Bryce's SS. My concern is that dose increases have been much larger that what is recommended in the Tilly Protocol. Generally, increases are made in increments of 0.25u. You've increased as much as 1.0u and more routinely, by 0.5u. It's possible that you've missed what could have been a good dose of insulin for Bryce especially since you weren't getting AM pre-shot tests, PM cycle tests, or very many spot checks until recently.

One explanation for higher numbers for a short period after a dose increase is "new dose wonkiness" (NSW). According to the protocol:
Tilly Protocol said:
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

Also, can you please put today's AMPS in your subject line? Remember, one condo per cat per day.
 
Re: Increase yet Higher BG #s ?? AMPS 378

Thanks for the comment. Have read the protocol twice, but will definitely read it again. Hoping that this is the reason for the jump. In regard to increases, have gone up by no more than .5u. Have been working with Dr. Lisa for the last couple of weeks (who made the last two recommendations). Working to get our vet on-board, as well. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top