In need of help & advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, my cats BG yesterday morning before his shot was 329 then I tested him +3 (3 hours later) and it dropped to 85. (Mind you yesterday morning he dealt with a bit of stress as my neighbours were yelling outside so I’m not sure if it stressed him out or not....then before his shot last night at 11:30pm his BG was at 252. Then (+3 hours) I tested him to see where he was at and it was at 77...... I fed him a meal because I got kind of scared and worried....I’m going to retest him (+1) to see if it went up any....I feel like 77 is quite low as I’ve never seen it that low before.....I attached his SS below just in case


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1L4Rr9XQgRPnwtJDnXKCbShbQkFg4dxBKmOwe9d3Lo_Y
 
That was yesterday, Wednesday.
Have you given insulin yet today?
Looks like you may need to lower the dose already.
No more than 0.25u
Are you around to test more in the +4 to +7 hour timeframe?
That +3 was probably not the nadir.
Good you gave him some more food last night.
 
No I haven’t he takes his insulin at 1130 AM. And I’m wondering that too about lowering his dose.... it scares me. Should I retest him right now or soon? Or do I wait 4 hours??? Waiting 7 hours scares me as he has his shot at 11:30. He had his test that was 77 at 5:46am. It’s not 6:58am. And yes I will be around I’m home everyday for him just in case.
 
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:

someinsulin-1.jpg
01unit-1.jpg

025unit-1.jpg
 
it was about a week or so ago. He was diagnosed on Jan 7th of this year and that day I transitioned him from dry to wet which wasn’t a hassle at all. But I recently switched him from friskies pate to FF classics
That food change could have made a difference. 8-10 % carbs to 4-6%.
p.s. We are cross posting, in other words, posting at almost the same time.

Please go back through the thread to make sure you have seen all the responses. Thanks.
 
Ok Crystal, that's a bit low for this early in the cycle.

4.1 mmol = 74 mg/dL
We'll try to guide you with feeding to bring that number up.
We are going to try and 'steer' the curve with food.
Do you have your hypo kit ready with medium and higher carb food? Corn syrup or honey if needed.
Do you have plenty of test strips?
When did you last feed him and how much?
 
Ok Crystal, that's a bit low for this early in the cycle.

4.1 mmol = 74 mg/dL
We'll try to guide you with feeding to bring that number up.
We are going to try and 'steer' the curve with food.
Do you have your hypo kit ready with medium and higher carb food? Corn syrup or honey if needed.
Do you have plenty of test strips?
When did you last feed him and how much?
I fed him around 5:50am and I fed him two small bowls ! And yes I have corn syrup right here in front of me and I have one bottle of strips left
 
Will he eat a teaspoon or so of his food? Try the Friskies if that is all you have that is higher carb.
Only a little bit of food.
Test again in 20 minutes.

We don't want the BG to go much below 2.7 (50)

What was the + hour for that 4.1 (73.8)?
 
That's ok, I'm here to help you.
How much syrup?
Sorry to keep replying so much and so fast I’m just scared and I have a can of tf meldeys it has 12-15 carbs I believe but I fed him some more of his normal other fancy feast classics just now like a spoonful
 
So you mean the 77 was 1 hour after you fed him? Simply trying to clarify.

don't feed too much too quickly. we need him to eat. syrup wears off quickly.
 
I tested him at 5:46am and it was 77 (4.3) and then I fed him two small bowls of food then waited an hour and tested again it was 4.1....:(
 
I tested him at 5:46am and it was 77 (4.3) and then I fed him two small bowls of food then waited an hour and tested again it was 4.1....:(
I just fed him a couple spoon fulls of his ff classics and a spoonful of friskies :( I’ll test again in 20 mins like you said I’m just scared that’s all
 
I need to know what the + hours were. The 77 was at +3? is that correct? 3 hours after you gave him insulin?
 
I know you are scared Crystal.
I'll walk you through this.
Don't need to go anywhere today.

Would you please take a minute and update the SS?
 
Hi Crystal,
Just piping in here. First BREATHE . . . you're in GOOD HANDS with Deb. She's got your back.

She needs to know recent tests.
Are you able to monitor him throughout the day? Do you have to leave the house for work?
Do you have plenty of strips?

Deb's got you hon . . . (I'm backing out now as I'm NOT one to give dosing advice. You can do this, it's scary as hell, but you've got this *hugz* )
 
Deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

14 (at PMPS) pre shot test at 11:30 PM last night Wednesday 1/29/20
4.3 (77) +3 at 2:30 am Thursday 1/30/20
4.1 (73.8) + ????? am Thursday 1/30/20

Is that correct?

We've got you hon. Those are low numbers but not scary low rush to the emergency vet numbers.
 
No his BG was was 14.0 at 11:10pm sorry last night then I woke up at 530am and i tested for 5:46 cause he hassles me sometimes and it was at 4.3 then I tested again at 7:17am and it was at 4.1
 
Deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

14 (at PMPS) pre shot test at 11:30 PM last night Wednesday 1/29/20
4.3 (77) +3 at 2:30 am Thursday 1/30/20
4.1 (73.8) + ????? am Thursday 1/30/20

Is that correct?

We've got you hon. Those are low numbers but not scary low rush to the emergency vet numbers.
 
Deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

14 (at PMPS) pre shot test at 11:30 PM last night Wednesday 1/29/20
4.3 (77) +3 at 2:30 am Thursday 1/30/20
4.1 (73.8) + ????? am Thursday 1/30/20

Is that correct?

We've got you hon. Those are low numbers but not scary low rush to the emergency vet numbers.
Read above it didn’t reply to you for some reason it posted by itself
 
When do I retest him where it’s not gonna be food influenced ???

Now I’m wondering if he was taking .75... that syringe picture is making me worried a bit I give him 2 lines down.....oh my god everything is so confused and I’m always so tired like ugh I can’t think ever !!! It’s too much all the time like I feel soooo sad and stressed I can’t take this anymore
 
Crystal, we just got caught in the daily database update and FDMB was not responsive.

BE Calm, Keep your cool, I have your back. Hendrix will be ok.

Give me a couple more minutes.
 
14 (252) PMPS Wed 1/29 11:10 pm
0.5U Wed 1/29 11:37 pm
4.3 (77) +6.75 Thur 5:46 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS +7 column)
4.1 (74) +8 Thur 7:17 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS +8 column)
 
Okay I will fix that and I just tested him and it’s 5.0
14 (252) PMPS Wed 1/29 11:10 pm
0.5U Wed 1/29 11:37 pm
4.3 (77) +6.75 Thur 5:46 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS +7 column)
4.1 (74) +8 Thur 7:17 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS +8 column)
okay I will fix that and I just tested him and it’s 5.0
 
14 (252) PMPS Wed 1/29 11:10 pm
0.5U Wed 1/29 11:37 pm
4.3 (77) +6.75 Thur 5:46 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS +7 column)
4.1 (74) +8 Thur 7:17 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS +8 column)
5.0 (90) +9 Thur 8:00 am (goes in the 11/29 PMPS + 9 column)

BG is rising. That is good.
You are doing great Crystal.
I've got your back.
Would you please test again in 30 minutes.
Want to make sure Hendrix keeps going back up.
 
Yes of course...the last test (just now) It was really bloody scared the hell out of me and I’m like oh no that was a good prick yikes. But it stopped.

I felt bad but he needs it done.... and I will test again in 30 for sure...I’m sorry I’ve just never seen it that low and I got super scared. I know you have my back I just have anxiety so I over thinks things and worry ALOT
 
cats pajamas 1.jpg Hendrix is in his pj's too.
Last poke, you may have hit the ear vein instead of the "Sweet spot" .
It's ok, it will heal.
Apply a bit of pressure to stop the bleeding.
You can poke the other ear too if you want.

Not worried unless Hendrix drops below 2.7 (50 mg/dL).
It's later in the 12 hour cycle, so not as worrisome.
But we are using an "abundance of caution" to make sure Hendrix is safe.
 

Attachments

  • cats pajamas 1.jpg
    cats pajamas 1.jpg
    7.3 KB · Views: 115
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top