In need of help & advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
View attachment 50949 Hendrix is in his pj's too.
Last poke, you may have hit the ear vein instead of the "Sweet spot" .
It's ok, it will heal.
Apply a bit of pressure to stop the bleeding.
You can poke the other ear too if you want.

Not worried unless Hendrix drops below 2.7 (50 mg/dL).
It's later in the 12 hour cycle, so not as worrisome.
But we are using an "abundance of caution" to make sure Hendrix is safe.
That made me giggle !!! Hendrix would look so cute in Pajamas. And I tested him at 8:03am it was 5.0 when should I retest again? And I’m sorry for replying the way I was too I’ve just never dealt with low numbers before also I’m still semi newish to all this diabetes stuff I started way back the beginning of Jan. Also I get little sleep because I always want to keep an eye on him and his testing and stuff too. It means so much that you are helping me I don’t know what else I would have did but fed and gave syrup. It’s good to know someone is with me through this
 
Test again at your +10.
Do you know when that is?


His shot is usually at 11:30am....the time now is 8:34am ...I skip it the 11:30 dose for this morning , correct?? And +10 would be 6pm or am I wrong? Also do I need to retest in 30 from when I gave him that food and stuff at 8:03 or no?
 
Ok we have plenty of time for a review. No need for another test until +10 from your PMPS pre-shot test cycle.
That was 11:10 last night. so +10 hours, or 10 hours later from the the dose of insulin test is 9 am this morning.
So a test at 9 am this morning

You are using a dosing cycle that overlaps the PM cycle from one day to the next, so it gets tricky to record it on the SS.
And a little confusing counting hours.

Keep thinking in terms of how many hours from the last shot.
The last shot was Yesterday. PM cycle
Any tests you do between Yesterday PM dose and Today AM pre-shot test get recorded in the last PM cycle.

I think you are ok for dosing this morning.
 
Last edited:
Ok we have plenty of time for a review. No need for another test until +10 from your PMPS pre-shot test cycle.
That was 11:10 last night. so +10 hours, or 10 hours later from the last pre-shot test is 9 am this morning.
So a test at 9 am this morning

You are using a dosing cycle that overlaps the PM cycle from one day to the next, so it gets tricky to record it on the SS.
And a little confusing counting hours.

Keep thinking in terms of how many hours from the last shot.
The last shot was Yesterday. PM cycle
Any tests you do between Yesterday PM dose and Today AM pre-shot test get recorded in the last PM cycle.

I think you are ok for dosing this morning.

You want me to test him at 9 which is right now? I just tested him 30 mins ago. He hates it lately and swats and bites at me he’s beginning to hate it :( so it’s hard for me to do so many tests.

Also I try to go by the info I’ve learned so, am I doing something wrong? as you said: (You are using a dosing cycle that overlaps the PM cycle from one day to the next, so it gets tricky to record it on the SS.
And a little confusing counting hours.

Keep thinking in terms of how many hours from the last shot.
The last shot was Yesterday. PM cycle
Any tests you do between Yesterday PM dose and Today AM pre-shot test get recorded in the last PM cycle.) this confused me so bad.

Also his BG is at 5.0 so I’m suuuuper sceptical of giving him his shot this morning...he has big drops a lot so that scares me.... also I thought you weren’t supposed to shoot under 150???

the stress of this is horrible and so hard on me and him both. I just want to save him but I feel like a monster putting him through this somedays.
 
It's do not shoot under BG of 150 (8.3) if your pre-shot test is below that. Stall and ask for advice.

You have not done your pre-shot test for this mornings dosing cycle. What we call the AMPS on the SS.
You have only done tests for last nights dosing cycle. Last nights PMPS.

You still have 2 hours to go before your AMPS or morning pre-shot test.

Hendrix is likely to rise a lot between now and then.
 
It's do not shoot under BG of 150 (8.3) if your pre-shot test is below that. Stall and ask for advice.

You have not done your pre-shot test for this mornings dosing cycle. What we call the AMPS on the SS.
You have only done tests for last nights dosing cycle. Last nights PMPS.

You still have 2 hours to go before your AMPS or morning pre-shot test.

Hendrix is likely to rise a lot between now and then.
Sorry I get it now , I’m so stressed and barely get sleep so I can’t think anymore ever....it’s been super hard on me all of this. I will test him again soon before his morning preshot then and see where’s he at and if he is still below 8 then I don’t give it to him right and if he’s above 8 I do?
 
Sorry I get it now , I’m so stressed and barely get sleep so I can’t think anymore ever....it’s been super hard on me all of this. I will test him again soon before his morning preshot then and see where’s he at and if he is still below 8 then I don’t give it to him right and if he’s above 8 I do?
Yes, if Hendrix is above 8.3 mmol AT PRE-SHOT TEST TIME then he is high enough to give a shot.
If Hendrix is below 8.3 mmol AT PRE-SHOT TEST TIME then it is too low for a shot. Skip for this morning.

But let's have you do a reduced dose. Only 0.25U

This is how you should have the test numbers on your SS:
The 4.3 from this morning goes in the PMPS +7 column on your ss for 1/29/20
The 4.1 from this morning goes in the PMPS +8 column on your ss for 1/29/20
The 5.0 from this morning goes in the PMPS +9 column on your ss for 1/29/20

The "whatever it is BG" reading you get when you test at your AMPS test time goes in the AMPS column on the SS for today's date, 1/30/2020.

We can teach you stalling another day, if the BG is below the 8.3.

Would you try to fix your SS so I can see that you understood what I said?
 
Yes, if Hendrix is above 8.3 mmol AT PRE-SHOT TEST TIME then he is high enough to give a shot.
If Hendrix is below 8.3 mmol AT PRE-SHOT TEST TIME then it is too low for a shot. Skip for this morning.

But let's have you do a reduced dose. Only 0.25U

This is how you should have the test numbers on your SS:
The 4.3 from this morning goes in the PMPS +7 column on your ss for 1/29/20
The 4.1 from this morning goes in the PMPS +8 column on your ss for 1/29/20
The 5.0 from this morning goes in the PMPS +9 column on your ss for 1/29/20

The "whatever it is BG" reading you get when you test at your AMPS test time goes in the AMPS column on the SS for today's date, 1/30/2020.

We can teach you stalling another day, if the BG is below the 8.3.

Would you try to fix your SS so I can see that you understood what I said?



There, I believe I fixed it for you. I was so tired this morning and being exhausted from all of this in general that I could not think right for the SS. I usually just keep logs in a journal on the counter it’s way faster and easier for me that’s all.
 
No Crystal, you fixed the SS for you.

You originally told us the 4.3 (77) was at +3. Or 3 hours into the dosing cycle. A number that low, that early in the dosing cycle can mean your cat will continue to fall and possibly fall into hypoglycemic numbers at nadir. When is the nadir for Hendrix by the way?

Right now, I'm not sure that most of your tests on the SS are in the right columns. You might want to double check your handwritten notes and make corrections where needed. We rely on the SS being updated and correct when someone asks for help.

We don't have access to your handwritten notes. It's great that is the way you prefer to record the data, but it doesn't help us to help you.

Those folks over on the facebook page that told you those numbers didn't look low? Well, it depends on when it happens in the dosing cycle. You need context to understand the BG readings.

Hope that Hendrix is headed for remission. Numbers are definitely getting better.
 
No Crystal, you fixed the SS for you.

You originally told us the 4.3 (77) was at +3. Or 3 hours into the dosing cycle. A number that low, that early in the dosing cycle can mean your cat will continue to fall and possibly fall into hypoglycemic numbers at nadir. When is the nadir for Hendrix by the way?

Right now, I'm not sure that most of your tests on the SS are in the right columns. You might want to double check your handwritten notes and make corrections where needed. We rely on the SS being updated and correct when someone asks for help.

We don't have access to your handwritten notes. It's great that is the way you prefer to record the data, but it doesn't help us to help you.

Those folks over on the facebook page that told you those numbers didn't look low? Well, it depends on when it happens in the dosing cycle. You need context to understand the BG readings.

Hope that Hendrix is headed for remission. Numbers are definitely getting better.



That’s true because I didn’t want to confuse myself and mess anything up especially if someone needed information especially in situations like today.

Id be more then happy to take pictures of my notes and send them to you through messenger on Facebook if that helps??? I know it seems like a lot of paperwork to read through but if I can fix my spreadsheet day by day to get it where it needs to be that would be awesome. I actually didn’t understand the SS one bit when I first started using it but I slowly got used to it. Still learning.

Also, yes I know. I don’t rely on everyone’s answers to be honest I usually stick with admins advice and what not because not every cat is the same and not everyone has the same answers or advice. I surely appreciate all your help today. It means a lot.

I pray and hope Hendrix is heading towards remission soon as well. He’s such a sweet boy I don’t ever want to lose him or see his numbers as high as I have before, again.
 
Hendrix first PJ party. You did great. Hope you can nap later on.

Ss doesn't open for me.
Hi Paula! I am hoping I can get some rest too. I haven’t been sleeping the best because I always want to make sure Hendrix is doing okay and keep my eye on him as much as I can. Hendrix needs a set of PJS for sure LOL.
 
I don't use facebook hardly at all. So thanks for the offer of sending copies of your notes, but I wouldn't have the time to read them.

Fix your SS day by day, working backward from most recent data and then moving backward in time. That will work.

Any notes you have that could be useful to us, such as when you made the food change from Friskies to Fancy Feast would be useful too. Making a note in the remarks column when that was done would be helpful for us to see.

SS still looks to me like something else happened on 1/25/20. Maybe you changed treats you were feeding, or fed a different flavor of the Friskies pate. Hendrix suddenly went from the pink ranges to the blue ranges in the middle of the cycle, and now he is dropping into the green color coded ranges. Exciting, but scary.

Keeping our paws crossed that Hendrix is headed for remission. Don't be surprised if his BG readings are high for a while. He'll probably be bouncing from all that extra high carb food he got this morning.

Maybe this link about Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid will help you out a bit. As you found out, "day" doesn't always mean a calendar day. Think of it more in terms of a 24 hour period. From one AMPS to the next AMPS.

Take good care of yourself. Maybe a nap after the shot this morning. Remember, reduce it to 0.25U for now. We can always increase it again later.
 
I don't use facebook hardly at all. So thanks for the offer of sending copies of your notes, but I wouldn't have the time to read them.

Fix your SS day by day, working backward from most recent data and then moving backward in time. That will work.

Any notes you have that could be useful to us, such as when you made the food change from Friskies to Fancy Feast would be useful too. Making a note in the remarks column when that was done would be helpful for us to see.

SS still looks to me like something else happened on 1/25/20. Maybe you changed treats you were feeding, or fed a different flavor of the Friskies pate. Hendrix suddenly went from the pink ranges to the blue ranges in the middle of the cycle, and now he is dropping into the green color coded ranges. Exciting, but scary.

Keeping our paws crossed that Hendrix is headed for remission. Don't be surprised if his BG readings are high for a while. He'll probably be bouncing from all that extra high carb food he got this morning.

Maybe this link about Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid will help you out a bit. As you found out, "day" doesn't always mean a calendar day. Think of it more in terms of a 24 hour period. From one AMPS to the next AMPS.

Take good care of yourself. Maybe a nap after the shot this morning. Remember, reduce it to 0.25U for now. We can always increase it again later.
Oh okay I figured as much. It is a lot of paperwork but I keep it on hand just in case my phone goes dead or something on me. Plus it’s useful if I need to fix my ss like today.

He has had a few big drops and I sit there boggled to be honest. So I will definitely be checking over my spreadsheet to make sure it’s correct with my notes.

It is exciting to see blues and greens but scary too for sure especially after being in the red or pinks.

I am keeping my fingers crossed and my hopes and prayers up as well.
 
It’s hard testing him so much at the beginning he was nervous at first but got used to it and now that it’s been done so much and multiple times in one day...lately he’s been swatting at me, growling and hissing at me...it makes me sad I’m just trying to help him so it upsets me as well but I don’t show it infront of him as they pick up on fear etc...but it has surely become a hassle I think his ears are bugging him. Sometimes he even paws at his ears and try’s to clean them I feel SO bad. Also I just tested him after the 10th trying of even getting close to him with the lancet and my flashlight on my phone once he sees that light he’s mad. But his BG is 9.9
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top