have you given insulin since this morning? At 8:39 your time
AMPS 8:14 am 248
8:39 am 2 units Lantus
+3 11:17 am 305
+6 2:54 pm 122
+9 5:18 pm 46
Whew! That’s quite a bounce plus the gravy kicking in.
I would stop feeding her high carb foods now and stop feeding 2 hours before it’s time to give a shot.
I would also reduce the dose to 1.75 units tonight.
Crista just meant stop giving high carb foods tonight to bring her BG up. It is okay that she is high right now, it could from the all the food, which will wear off, or it could be a bounce from being in low numbers. Either way, it is just temporary and being too high for a little is safer than being too low.She has been off of high carbs for a week. Upon the advice from folks on this forum, I gave her the gravy chicken and then tested. In retrospect, I think I should have tested after just the tuna. That may have done the trick.
I HATE THIS DISEASE! I am freaking out now! It is 6:42 pm now.
The insulin is due at 8:15ish. She is now sound asleep. Should I test one more time before insulin?
Crista just meant stop giving high carb foods tonight to bring her BG up. It is okay that she is high right now, it could from the all the food, which will wear off, or it could be a bounce from being in low numbers. Either way, it is just temporary and being too high for a little is safer than being too low.
In the future, when you get a low reading you should restest to make sure it’s correct. If it is, feed a few tablespoons of medium or high carb food then retest in 15-20 minutes. It is a learning curve, but you will get the hang of it!
I think if the drop is big enough, you could probably use the same drop with a new strip. Sometimes a strip can be wonky or if you get too much or too little blood on the strip it can give you a weird reading as well.Retest as in repoke or just a new strip if there is enough blood. I am getting better at poking. The warm rice bag really makes a difference.
I think if the drop is big enough, you could probably use the same drop with a new strip. Sometimes a strip can be wonky or if you get too much or too little blood on the strip it can give you a weird reading as well.
Perfectly understandable. It's a hateful disease, and you had a scare. Yes, things could have gone smoother, and you will know better what to do next time, but you did it! You did it and you rock! Don't fret that high number. It will even itself out, as others have said. It's to be expected after a hypo event and the high carb food.I HATE THIS DISEASE! I am freaking out now! It is 6:42 pm now.
Hi I just found the FF Marinated Morsels Chicken Feast In Gravy on Dr Pierson's Chart it says 13% carbs its right above the FF Gravy Lovers ListI have FF Marinated Morsels chicken in gravy. I am not seeing it on the list. She also seems to have lost her voice. This was a big (best yet) blood sample.
Ok, gotcha. One of the other members asked me to keep on eye on you. If you are going to bed, than I can do the same and won't have to stay up "pulling an all nighter." Getting too old for that.
Stay safe Gracie and The Mum.
I'm on the east coast too, down in MA.
Of course I'll still be here with you. It's one thing we do.
How long until the PMPS blood poke?
Grabbing a late dinner, fed my cat, haven't put my jammies on yet, but soon.
Please post your PMPS BG reading before giving the Lantus insulin tonight. I want to see the number before you give the insulin. To double check if the BG is high enough for insulin. With an Alphatrak meter, just started on insulin, I want to see a number above 200. That number can be lowered in the future, but let's be conservative for now, and keep it a bit higher.
Here is a recap of what I have from earlier in the thread. Did I get things right?
Using an Alphatrak 2 (pet meter)
0 is your pre-shot test time. +1 is 1 hour later, +2 is 2 hours later, +3 is 3 hours later and so forth.
AMPS 8:14 am 248
8:39 am 2 units Lantus
+3 11:17 am 305
+6 2:54 pm 122
+9 5:18 pm 461
+10 6:26 pm 547
PMPS x:xx pm xxx
x:xx pm 1.75 ???? units Lantus
You are tired, wiped out, have a full life.Those numbers are accurate. I feel so stupid right now. I will poke in about 10 minutes. Thank you again.
That is definitely high enough to give insulin.
Feed her too.