i think we need help now...

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Guest
i know i've been terrible about keeping our ss up. honestly i thought we were ok, and i was lazy and most horribly i did'nt know who here could help us. now i want your eyes and i will somehow get that ss up all the way since...? in bits and pieces maybe this afternoon or tonight. i hope.

i went thru tom's home records and he has been steadily increasing #'s (mostly amps) since end of june. but so gradually and inconsistantly that i was not overly worried. lately the denial is wearing thin as for the last week i know to expect high 300's and have now hit 3 400's in the am..and even worse are his rising pm's...mid 200's and a few 300's. i've gone from token doses in janurary. (our first days on the return from the falls in 07) to 1.5 in the am and 1u in the pm.

yesterday i could'nt take seeing these numbers and i will show you what i did.

amps 394 1.5
+3 177
+7 135 .2units
+4 185-----------figured the .2 did''nt quite make it thru the needle but lower than he
should have been at his normal pmps.
+6 134-----------------well something hit
+7 168 .2units


amps(+8.5) 407 1.5

his appetite, bheavior, poo's and pee's are all fine, he's seems very happy and almost more compfortable in these higher numbers. he's always hungrier and does most of his eatting before 2 in the afternoon and is only mildly hungry at night. but always eats in rabbit.

thoughts. and please don't say vet visit. it's very very tight right now...has been for the last 2+ years and it is so out of budget.
 
i guess i'm going for TID...only problem is i sleep about 9 hours and seems i really need too. since chemo, before that i only slept maybe 7-8. and sometimes that hour or so before i go to bed i'm sooo tired...this might sound like bad mommie, lazy behavior but it's my reality.
i am going to try for 7:30/3:30/10:30......problem is the evening # is likely too low to shoot enough to get him thru the nite. as per last night.
 
If his PMPS is too low to shoot enough to get him through the night you may have to try twice a day.

What did those bg's look like.
 
oh robin yesterday was the very first time i tried TID....just felt sooo bad seeing tom in those #'s altho' i swear you would not know to look at him.
it was just an experiment.
that's what i wanted you all to see.
 
i will, either tonight or it may end up being my thanksgiving as those plans look like they may be falling thru.
 
my friend who hosts it nearly every year...is'nt feeling very well and has put everyone on notice. i don't really want to go any other place beside's janet's as it is just not what i'm up for. she is kind of like family to me. i don't cook meat in the house so i'm just up in the air as to what's going on.
i'm still not feeling 100% myself soooo, well, here come the holidays!!!!!
how bout you robin?
 
I wish I could offer some help with poor tom's yucky numbers. But I can help with moral support. You're certainly not a bad or lazy mommy! I didn't realize you had been through chemo. I don't know how long ago that was, but that toxic stew messes up your system for a long time. Get all the sleep you need! Who was it that was telling me about tid dosing? I don't remember her name off hand, but she said that her shoots weren't a perfect 8/8/8. You just do the best you can. You can adjust his doses to the lower 3rd shot numbers. You're a pro at this! It's great that Tom is acting like himself. Keeping kitty feeling well and happy is a very good thing.
 
Everybody bailed on me this year so I went and got a frozen turkey tv dinner and plan on having a proper pity kitty party on the couch. It's going to be the coldest Thanksgiving in 20 years, it's 16 degrees right now and thursday is supposed to be colder plus we're getting another freezing rain turning to snow event starting wednesday.

Soooo, the kitties and I will be snuggled in a down comforter watching movies all day, I might even fire up the fake fireplace, I'm kind of looking forward to it.
 
Lori, work on getting that SS up to snuff and I am sure the experts around here can help get Tom back on track.

I know it is difficult some days and sometimes those days can turn into weeks or even months. But...look at all you do.

Newbie Kits
Provide Sage Advice
Help New Diabetic Cats
Give support to discouraged caregivers
Lift up life and living everyday

Thank You.
 
Lori,
I am sorry to hear you are having a hard time and Tom's numbers are freaking you out. I wish I could help. You and Robin can come to my house for Thanksgiving!

Anyhow, why don't you work on the spreadsheet going backwards? That is, put in all the dates, and then start filling in the info starting from the current day.
 
well folks i hurried home but knew it was too late for my TID operation. tested tom anyway at +9.....115!
well, let's see him hit the 200's or 300 by +12. maybe he's all better :razz:
 
blue....so excited was i about tom's # that i forgot to listen to that utube.
ok, first how cute was that little girl...specially at the end when she's thru singing and just puts her little hands down.
my only question is that the words were so unclear i really wonder if english was her first language....i mean she sang it beyond beautifully but the words sometimes had no end to them??? kwim, i wonder if she was singing but not knowing exactly what she was singing. the way we can all sing ' voulez vou coucshe avec moi"
 
((((lori)))) hope Tomtom is doing ok, that's nice that he seems happy, that's what really counts. You know I am too braindead these days to think on anyone's spreadsheets, but I'm sure you'll get things under control! And then you can come over & fix Bixie. :lol:

Anyone who wants to join me at Denny's LOL for T'giving is more than welcome! I have a couple friends in the area with no family nearby (like me) so it's our new tradition. Got me a coupon too so I'm good to go!

That girl's singing is incredible! I listed to her accompanied by a chorus of civvie meows though ohmygod_smile One of mine just goes crazy with those high notes & stuff like that. Sad about her mom, there is an touching video tribute of/by her.
 
tom's pmps 236...a 116 rise in only 3 hours. for tom this is zoom.
i'm sure i'll be seeing the 400's in the morning since i could only give him a fat u for this #.
what would cause his pancrease to really stop kicking in the juice at this stage of his treatment? anyone have any ideas?
i am of course worried that it could be something seriouse....like cancer or something.
he is of course doing all his 5 p's and is in excellent spirits. never stops purring whenever i even sit next to him much less stroke him. i think he's gaga for me :lol:
so.............what now?
i certainly can NOT let him do this rise on and on...promise on thanksgiving morning to update that chart. afraid of what it will show in the gradual change in colors.
at this rate we'll be hitting the blacks in another couple of weeks or months.

he does do a nice curve tho'...always hits the greens so we can rule out insulin and such.
his curves are just getting...ummmm...curvier.
 
i don't necessarily think tom's pancreas has stopped doing anything all of a sudden. he's been back on insulin for quite a while now right? so his pancreas stopped way back when actually

as far as fearing what it could be, i wouldn't worry so much about cancer as cancer eats glucose so more often than not what happens when cancer is the issue is that a long time insulin dependent diabetic suddenly throws really good numbers, that's when you would suspect cancer. like if Mousie suddenly decided she didn't need insulin, i'd have her checked out for cancer asap.

by chance have you looked inside his mouth for any redness, swelling, etc....
 
cindy you know how i am with tom..since we can't afford vet visits i'm quite good at in home exams (like you) feeling around for sensitive spots, tumors, not only do i look into his mouth i squeeze aroung the entire jaw line to check for sensitive and watch carefully when he eats his very cold raw rabbit to see if he chews on both sides or seems to have any cold sensitivity. outside of blood work and urine samples and xrays i do just like the vet.
he's got all his p's
but he gave me 424 this morning :sad:
these numbers are on the rise rapidly.
and when he first came back on the juice his pancreas was sputtering ALOT as he frequently only needed one micro shot a day and frequently brouught himself down after a meal.
i'm really worried about these numbers.
and i can't raise the dose much more becuase he always curves down to green.
what can i do????????????????????
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top