josette
Member Since 2022
Hi Oscar went for his check up at the internal medicine doctor today. Originally he was 2 units of prozinc twice a day with old vet. Then went to internal medicine vet who changed him to lantus at 1 unit. She had me do a curve on 9/2 and based on that changed him to 2 units on 9/7..
Yesterday I did a curve as she requested and is sooo happy I test and do a curve, but she wants me to increase his dose to 3 units twice a day. I told her I was not comfortable with a whole unit of increase and my group recommends .25 or .50 at a time. Her comment was that if his nadir was in the 200’s she would say .50 but since it was in the 300’s he could take it. And it was also based on weight which it is not….right?
Well, I do not feel at all comfortable with 3 units so I am going to go with 2.5 and do a curve after 10 days and see what I get. She doesn’t want to see him for 6 months anyway.
anyway just wanted your take on this. And she found fleas which he never had and gave him a Capstar pill and didn’t tell me (I saw it on my bill while in the car and ran back in to question it.).
Yesterday I did a curve as she requested and is sooo happy I test and do a curve, but she wants me to increase his dose to 3 units twice a day. I told her I was not comfortable with a whole unit of increase and my group recommends .25 or .50 at a time. Her comment was that if his nadir was in the 200’s she would say .50 but since it was in the 300’s he could take it. And it was also based on weight which it is not….right?
Well, I do not feel at all comfortable with 3 units so I am going to go with 2.5 and do a curve after 10 days and see what I get. She doesn’t want to see him for 6 months anyway.
anyway just wanted your take on this. And she found fleas which he never had and gave him a Capstar pill and didn’t tell me (I saw it on my bill while in the car and ran back in to question it.).
