I shouldn't give him his shot, right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MomtoValla

Member Since 2011
Hi,
I'm pretty new to this board. I'm running my Valla's 3rd glucose curve. I tested him this morning and it was 93! I tested again and it was 98. I thought it may be the new strips and I tested with 1 I had left out of an old pack and it was 89. It couldn't be user error 3 times could it? So now I'm worried about giving him his shot this morning.

Thanks!!
 
Hi Valla's Mom and Valla,

It's awesome that you are hometesting! No, do not give him his shot for now. The conventional wisdom is to wait 30 minutes and test again to see if the number is rising.

I'm still a newbie myself and not the best qualified to give further advice, others will be along shortly who can walk you through this. When they do, it'd help them out if you could tell us what insulin you are using, what his usual dose is, and what food you are feeding.

Welcome to FDMB!
 
He's on 2u of Lantus. He's eating Merrick - usually Cowboy Cookout, Grammy's Pot Pie or Thanksgiving dinner. (Today he ate Cowboy Cookout)

If his levels are rising (testing in about 15 min) then do I give him his shot?
 
I do not use your insulin, we use ProZinc, and it is dosed differently. I've cross-posted to Lantus asking someone to come over and advise you. Have you checked out the Lantus Support Group? They have a ton of stickies which they will ask you to read if you have not done so already.

Do you have a spreadsheet with Vallas numbers? They will ask for that.

Sorry, I can't help but if Valla were my kitty I'd wait, test again, and wait for someone who uses Lantus to advise you before shooting.
 
bumpee

do u have your retest number yet?
what's your schedule like today? have supplies on hand?

have you shot in these low numbers before?
 
do you have any numbers we can see?

Our general recommendation for kitties on Lantus without data is to wait until he is at least 150 or 180 to shoot. You can either stall (without feeding) until his natural rise gets him to that level (that will mess up your schedule, because his next shot will be due 12 hours after this one, and that might be a while), or skip and shoot tonight.

If you do have more numbers or a spreadsheet, we might be able to give advice that is more specific to your situation.
 
His numbers from his 1st curve were:
Amps: 274
1U Lantus
+2: 207
+4: 163
+6: 151
+7: 158
+8 174
+10: 190
PMPS: 238

2nd Curve:
AMPS: 342
1.5 U Lantus
+2: 289
+4: 173
+6: 123
+8: 135
+10: 178
PMPS: 238

Last Monday we upped his dose to 2U.

I was home on Monday so at +6 he was 93.

I fed him already 1 can of Cowboy Cookout. He ate it all.
 
you have nice data for the daytime.
I don't see any evening cycle numbers, try to get some when you can, before bedtime is usually recommended.

what did you decide to do?
 
I still don't know what to do. I haven't given him a shot yet because I'm worried about Hypoglycemia and my vet and I didn't talk about this since I don't think we expected his numbers to go so low so quickly. I was doing a curve today to readjust his dose.
 
Retest number was 123.

Ok, I have the best vet ever, he already checked his e-mail and called me. We're going to run our curve without shooting and them i'm calling him tonight at the time I would usually shoot and adjust then.

THANK YOU SO MUCH ALL!!! Without having read this board I wouldn't have known to not shoot.
 
Hello! I am glad your kitty is doing so well! We have not had to give Julius insulin in 3 days (keeping fingers crossed) I did not shoot him if he was under 200. The last nite he would have gotten his shot he was 181. But I did get up in the middle of the nite and check him a couple nites and he was in the low 100's. I decided to skip his dose and see, if you look at his chart he kept going down! I shot Julius once with a .5u when he was 153 and I shouldn't have, he went down to 40 and I had to give him sugar, I think as you are new (as am I) err on the side of caution. If under 200 and you can't be with you kitty don't shoot, better safe than sorry. You are probably on your way to some very good numbers very soon!!
 
MomtoValla said:
Retest number was 123.

Ok, I have the best vet ever, he already checked his e-mail and called me. We're going to run our curve without shooting and them i'm calling him tonight at the time I would usually shoot and adjust then.

THANK YOU SO MUCH ALL!!! Without having read this board I wouldn't have known to not shoot.

Great number. Skip the shot this morning. For newbies, we recommend using 200 or higher as your number to use to give insulin. Valla's numbers may be very high this evening, but don't worry about it, that is a normal response.
 
Thanks all. I checked him at what would have been +4 and it's definitely rising (kind of quick! 268). I'm talking to the vet at 7:00 and we're evaluating then.
 
Thought I would give another update. He's stayed under 300 all day. Had a long talk with the Vet tonight and we're going to wait until tomorrow am to give him his shot and then stick with 1 shot (2u of Lantus) / day. I'll be spot checking him all week (I work full time) and am running another curve next Sunday. I feel very blessed that my Vet sent me to you guys!
 
fwiw, i wouldn't do 2 units once a day. that's clearly too much if kitty wasn't high enough for a shot 12 afters after the last shot. what would work better would be 1 unit twice a day, that way you get better coverage for the entire day and a smoother ride for kitty instead of up down up down up down. make sense?
 
oh gosh!

I'm sure that your vet is WONDERFUL but the advice to stick with 2 units once a day isn't...you need to give a lower dose and see where that goes, and be open to twice a day dosing if the numbers warrant

Jen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top