i overdosed Java----Java PMPS 366 +1 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
I drew up his insulin and i always draw up extra to get the bubbles out. i was getting his food ready and i forgot to push out the extra. i could have been 4u. he is eating hc riht now but i am supposed to be going to work and they will have to call someone in if i dont make it. sorry this is so jumbled, i am shaking right now. we just went up to 1u this morning and AMPS was 264 PMPS was 240.

update--9:50pm I called and they had checked him at 9:00 and he was 121 so they gave 5% instead of 2.5. I asked them to check him again at 9:30 and he was 152! yayy! I know we aren't out of the woods yet but I am feeling a little better.
Sienne, you are absolutely right about putting the syringe down, that's exactly what happened, hands were full and I got distracted. Thanks so much you guys for letting me off the hook.

update--8:30am he is home and uber-pissed. they left him on the glucose drip all night and his BG was 448 at 6am, which is not great but i fed him as soon as we walked in the door and he sat by the water dish which he never does. He was a little wobbly, should I be concerned? we will be checking every one-two hours today and re-evaluate tonight. What do you guys think as far as giving his shot tonight? gauge from his numbers today?
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Hang in there Steph! Hopefully, someone will come along with advice for you soon. If it were my kitty, I would try and have someone cover my shift to ensure I could keep her safe but let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Ann & Tess said:
Giving you a bump up. How soon until you are supposed to leave?


I am going to take him into emergency so he can be monitored overnight. i cant leave him with my mom she would freak out and i cant miss work
 
Re: i overdosed Java

and how long are you supposed to be gone?

To be sure I'm understanding, you increased his dose from 0.5u this morning, and tonight accidentally gave up to 4u?
 
Re: i overdosed Java

good, I'm glad you have a plan. I wouldn't be comfortable leaving him alone.

When you get home, keep in mind that Lantus overdoses can last a long time. Many times this turns into a non-event, but if you have any doubts at all when you get home please post for advice.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

:YMHUG: if you get him to the ER for overnight, they'll likely monitor and perhaps put him on a glucose drip. that's an excellent choice.

any of us could've done it. fortunately, you're on top of things. let us know how he is when you get back.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Good to hear you've sorted out a plan Steph :smile: Java will be in good hands while you're earning the money to continue taking care of him. :YMHUG:
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Sending my good thoughts as well. So difficult when you're caught between your cat's welfare and your job, but sounds like you made the right decision.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Good decision! We all get distracted. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: It's always better to be safe! Let us know how he is when you get home.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

(((((Steph)))))

You must have been terrified and felt terrible. I'm so sorry. I'm glad you were thinking clearly enough to have a plan. You did the right thing.

(FWIW, we had a new member who, on her first night, instead of shooting 0.5u shot 5.0u. It was a very long night.)

Please let us know how Java is doing when you have a chance.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Poor Steph! How scary! I hope all is well when you get back. They will know the best way to take care of Java at the ER. Good thinking. I'll be looking for your update as well.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Thanks you guys for all the support. I am sitting here in tears because I just cant believe I did that. My babies have always come first and if something happens to him i will never forgive myself. He is at the hospital now. They checked a BG when we got there and it was 204. I just got off the phone with them and they are starting him on fluids and 2.5% dextrose. I think even if there would have been someone that would have been able to work for me, I still would have taken him in. Thanks again for all the support. I really appreciate it and so does java. will keep you updated.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Hope all is well with Java!
Dont blame yourself Steph. These things sometimes do happen. Luckily you've found out & got Java to the care of the ER.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Steph --

Unfortunately, sh*t happens. What's important is that you knew immediately that you goofed and you did the best possible thing you could have to make the best out of a difficult situation. It's a good lesson for all of us -- don't put the syringe down until you've adjusted the dose. There are just too many possible distractions. I bet I can guarantee this will never happen again. Java will be fine. The ER is doing their job.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Good for catching it! I don't think I would have. I think you did the best thing bringing him to the ER just in case. Don't feel bad about doing it, feel good about how you are handling it. He's going to be so happy to be home. Sending you big hugs.
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Thank good ness you realized and took him to the vet
Sending good vibes to you both!
 
Re: i overdosed Java

Thank good ness you realized and took him to the vet
Sending good vibes to you both!
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

I agree, it's good that you realized what happened. I can also assure you that you are not the only person here who has done that. After a while we tend to be on auto-pilot when we test/feed/shoot, and it's easy to not pay attention. And who knows, maybe your auto-pilot really WAS on and you did squeeze out the excess insulin and just don't remember doing it. Still, I'm glad you played it safe and took Java to the vet. They will be sure he is ok.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

I know what you're going through. I had been on Prozinc but was using U100 needles, so I was using a conversion chart. I mistakenly grabbed a U40 needle and filled it with the "regular dose" - only it was 2.5 times the amt of the regular dose! I realized it as soon as the last of the syringe emptied.

So after moving the U40s to a cabinet where I wouldn't mistakenly grab them, I stayed up 4 hours later than I would have (testing regularly), then set the alarm for every 2 hours after that, and ultimately, he was fine. Fortuntely for me 1) Prozinc only lasts 10-12 hours and then it's gone, and 2) Grayson is insulin resistant, so it takes a lot just to get a little movement. I was VERY lucky!

You were very smart to do the ER vet thing. People there knew what to do, were up all night, and had all they needed to treat whatever should happen. Good thinking!!! I think sometimes we forget those resources are there for just exactly what you needed.

Hoping everything worked out just fine.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

I saw this post when I logged in, and I'm glad to read things seem to be turning out well for your kitty. I would have been worried too in your situation, esp. since you had to go to work. I hope it all works out well in the end, fingers crossed!
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

I just called again and his last BG was 169 so two tests on the way up makes me feel better. Wow, and I would never put my job before my cat but I am an intern hoping to get hired FT and we are staffed 24/7. My co worker was off for the night or I would have called in in a second. Maybe it happened for a reason because I would have tried to treat it myself and we could have had a disastrous outcome.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

Hi Steph - sounds like all is working out with Java - good news! I think your plan was a good one -as I know I too would have tried to deal wit this at home too.It is better this way - Java will get what he-needs and be safe. We all make all kinds of mistakes, we are after all only human. What we do about those mistakes makes all the difference in the world. Your judgment was sound. You took care of Java. There is good there. Try and rest tonight - Java is in good hands.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

Steph, Everyone makes mistakes, please forgive yourself...You did what you had to do & took care of Java..
We are all so busy with so many things these days, sometimes we get a little lost..
Glad Java is OK & that you are too.. Hugs from us!
 
Re: i overdosed Java----UPDATE

So happy to hear the update on Java. You did well during a very stressful, nerve wracking moment. We'll keep you guys in our thoughts!
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Steph --

I'm glad this turned out well and that Java is home!!

When you update, add a new post rather than editing your first note. I had to search to figure out where the new info was. I usually just skip to the last unread post and would have missed your question if I wasn't searching. Also, when you add a new note, it bumps your condo to the top of the Board. If you edit, the condo stays where it is.

I would go back to your usual dose today. Please get spot checks so you can see where Java's numbers are heading. Also, if you can get a ketone test, that would be great. I'm just being overly cautious with the dextrose drip having pushed Java's numbers up.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

he really seems out of sorts. he is just laying in the dining room, not eating at all but he is drinking water. i am still worried and his 830 bg was 463 so higher yet.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

I'm sure he had a tough day, yesterday. Give him some time. Being so high probably makes him feel lousy, too.

Your ss says you no shot this morning, is that right? I just read Sienne's post saying to go back to your regular dose today, did she mean tonight? Maybe, I missed something?
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Dyana said:
I'm sure he had a tough day, yesterday. Give him some time. Being so high probably makes him feel lousy, too.

Your ss says you no shot this morning, is that right? I just read Sienne's post saying to go back to your regular dose today, did she mean tonight? Maybe, I missed something?

well i wasnt planning on shooting at all until tonight even though he is so high. the way i asked the question wasnt very clear maybe, but i didnt even consider giving him his morning dose as it was already an hour past by the time we go thome. I took it to mean tonight but i could be totally wrong, Dyana. thanks for bringing it up. i am kind of exhausted and punchy.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

I'm guessing it's about +14 by now. He did get all that extra insulin put into his shed, so maybe it's better just to skip until tonight. Has he eaten anything yet?
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

not much although he ate a can of hc right when it happened and they gave him another can that they said he was munching on overnight
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Okay, I'm glad he's eaten somewhat recently. Maybe, just let him be, for another hour and then offer some food again at that time. I'm sure he is feeling pretty off, right now.
Come on down, nice and easy, Java.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

I think he just in a bounce, from yesterday. But, if it would give you peace of mind, then you can take him in. I know I've done that many many times, myself.

You can shoot earlier tonight, if you shot schedule is flexable.. whenever you shoot tonight, the next shot is due 12 hours after that.

If it was me, I would take the food away, and try again in another hour from the last time.

Have you tried warming his food a little to make it smellier? or adding any toppings to it?

I wonder if you took him back in, if you would have to pay the ER office fee, again.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

The thought of going back in scares me. I dont really want to good back. He is kind of a grazer so I am not too worried about the food. Yes I can be flexible shooting, im off for the next 3 days.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

If you shoot early tonight, you can move the shot time up by 30 minutes each day to get back on schedule.

07/08 PMPS 7:00

07/09 AMPS 7:15
07/09 PMPS 7:30

07/10 AMPS 7:45
07/10 PMPS 8:00

07/11 AMPS 8:15
07/11 PMPS 8:30

07/12 AMPS 8:45
07/12 PMPS 9:00

I was just typing to give you an example of what you can do. In four days, you could move the schedule by 2 hours, so if you wanted to and it worked for you, you could shoot 2 hours early, if he's still super high. Let's see if anyone else has any opinion on this. Maybe with all he just went through, just an hour early, would be better for his system.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Hi Steph!

I'm so glad Java is ok. I don't think you need to be concerned about the high number today. Like Dyana, I think he's just bouncing from those blues he had yesterday.

Dyana & Steph, I do think Sienne meant to give the regular dose this morning. She knew he would bounce in all likelihood. Since you are flexible as far as time, would it make sense to give the am shot late, rather than the pm shot early? Or is it too late already? Just a thought. It would help bring him down sooner.

Also, I'm sure you are, but just wanted to check, are you giving LC food today? I would try to stick with 2% or so while he's bouncing. I find when Racci won't eat, warming it in the microwave and adding water to it helps. I also start her off by feeding the first mouthful by spoon. I sit her next to me with her dish and make it a special time. I stir it in front of her telling her how yummy it is. :smile:

Hope some of that helps.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Thanks melanie. Yup he is back to classic and he is eating some. He is a grazer so I add water so it lasts all day. We are +5 right now so I think I will shoot early tonight. I really appreciate everyones input I was really scared and you all put my mind to rest.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Do you know what Java's lowest point was last night? If he hit blues, I wouldn't worry. The difficulty is knowing how low Java would have gone if he hadn't been on a dextrose drip.

Just as an FYI: When we've dealt with situations like this in the past and the bean does not opt to go to the ER, usually we are working with Karo and HC food to keep numbers above 50. I have some idea of how low things might go with at home management. When the vets are doing the intervention, unless the cat is already in low green numbers we have no idea what the nadir might have been. If a cat has been monitored at home, we often see numbers in low ranges for over 12 hours and they can run low for 16 hours, give or take. As a result, it often makes sense to skip the next shot.

For tonight, I would suggest shooting your usual dose. However, please monitor carefully. Some cats who have been given an excess of insulin can be very sensitive to what was previously a fine dose.

Like I mentioned earlier, check ketones just for preventative purposes. It's more likely that Java got very little sleep last night. The ER is loud, there are all sorts of unfamiliar sounds and smells, and most cats are scared. As long as he's eating and using the litterbox, give it 24 hours. If he still seems "off," you can see your vet on Monday.
 
Sienne

Sienne, maybe she shouldn't shoot early, then, if an early dose acts like a dose increase.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

It's great that he's eating again Steph. Have you checked his bg lately? If you start posting your updates on bg in your subject line, it will make it easier for Sienne or Dyana or Marje to help you if you have a question.

That's what everyone is here for, to help each other. Sienne & Marje and so many others have helped me and my Racci so many times with advice and support. I don't know what we would have done without the people on this board! :smile:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Steph, have you done any tests, lately. If not, I'd get a +10, and post the number.
 
Re: i overdosed Java----Java is home!!!!

Definitely a nerve-wracking thing to go through, you handled it very well. Please don't beat yourself up, we have all made mistakes. Prayers and healing vines :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top