MySimonBoy
Member Since 2015
Hi! My 12 year old cat Simon was diagnosed May 27 of 2015. The vet started him out at 2 units of ProZinc, twice a day. She also had me start him on Purina DM, both wet and dry, eating both equally. After 3 weeks, he spent a day at the vet for a glucose curve, and the vet thought his numbers were still a bit high, so she upped him to 3 units of insulin, twice a day. My husband and I went on vacation in July, and I took Simon to a kennel where they had experience giving insulin shots. Simon stopped eating, so they stopped giving him his shots, and took him to the vet. Simon was seen by a different doctor, but still at our same vet clinic. This vet thought Simon was getting too much insulin and reduced him to 2 units again. At the beginning of Aug, Simon went back in to the vet for another glucose curve. They decided to keep him at 2 units.
Fast-forward to last weekend. Simon was not eating well, so I was doing some research on line (finally!), and found this website and forum. I spent a whole day reading about feeding a diabetic cat (and cats in general), and decided to slowly change the diets of all three of my cats. My cats are on a eating schedule, and only eat twice a day at 7:30 am and 7:30 pm. I slowly started introducing Wellness canned cat food to all three of my cats, and weaned them off of dry cat food. Well, for the last few days, Simon has decided he only wants the wet food, so in the am and pm yesterday, and this am, I only gave him one unit of insulin, not knowing how being off the carbs would affect his BG and not wanting to give him too much insulin...
Today, I bought a home meter, and at 2:00 pm, I tested his BG. It was 61. Anywhere between 50 and 120 is "normal", right? I don't know what to do! I want to do a curve tomorrow..... but what do I do now? Simon's schedule is to eat again at 7:30 pm, and get his insulin after that. Do I test again before he eats? And if it's below 200, I don't give him insulin, right???? And tomorrow, if I want to do a curve, do I test him again before he eats at 7:30 am and depending on that number, do or do not give a shot??? Advice, please!!! Thank you!
Fast-forward to last weekend. Simon was not eating well, so I was doing some research on line (finally!), and found this website and forum. I spent a whole day reading about feeding a diabetic cat (and cats in general), and decided to slowly change the diets of all three of my cats. My cats are on a eating schedule, and only eat twice a day at 7:30 am and 7:30 pm. I slowly started introducing Wellness canned cat food to all three of my cats, and weaned them off of dry cat food. Well, for the last few days, Simon has decided he only wants the wet food, so in the am and pm yesterday, and this am, I only gave him one unit of insulin, not knowing how being off the carbs would affect his BG and not wanting to give him too much insulin...
Today, I bought a home meter, and at 2:00 pm, I tested his BG. It was 61. Anywhere between 50 and 120 is "normal", right? I don't know what to do! I want to do a curve tomorrow..... but what do I do now? Simon's schedule is to eat again at 7:30 pm, and get his insulin after that. Do I test again before he eats? And if it's below 200, I don't give him insulin, right???? And tomorrow, if I want to do a curve, do I test him again before he eats at 7:30 am and depending on that number, do or do not give a shot??? Advice, please!!! Thank you!

