I did a (gasp!) rebound test

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think it failed.

I did it because his PSs tend to be 250-ish, but he can suddenly have a PS of 100 (+/- 5), a latish nadir of 65 and then just as suddenly be in the 300s. At half the regular dose (.25u or .3u) his PS climbed, so I went back to .6u after 48 hours. Second PS after the return to higher dose he was at 103.

I really can't figure this out. Is .5 or .6 too much, but .25 or .3 not enough? Should I try a skinny .5u?
 
Now that you are home can you get more spot checks?

From the information you have there on your SS it looks to me like he is not getting enough insulin but you knew I would say that! :) Maybe stay with one dose like the .6 for a while and shoot it no matter what the preshot is unless it is really low for your comfort level.
 
OK, 103 this am and 318 tonight.

Yes, I am home, and I can test more often, but he doesn't like it. cat(2)_steam His tolerance for testing falls off rapidly after about 3 a day and we get into a struggle that ends up with wasted strips and drops of blood on my glasses - it's total mayhem!

The funny thing is that I get everything set up and I have 4 cats sitting around waiting patiently for me to test him, but he is not anywhere near and ignores my calls. They all LOVE test time because they get treats too. Little opportunists!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top