I can't do this.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex&Fayaway

Member Since 2015
Even if we eventually become regulated, there is no quality of life for anyone in this household.

The cat cries and cries and cries and cries. She bullies my non-diabetic cat for her food. And even if Fay is locked away in the basement, Frances can't eat her food because she hears Fay's cries and it is disturbing to her.

This cat would bulldoze through an automatic feeder in about 2 minutes -- so I really don't consider this a solution of any sort.

This morning she vomited all over the house.

Mostly just airing my feelings, but if anything, I would like to hear from somebody who also decided this was not something they could handle.

I'm irritable, sleep-deprived, and broke. And now looking at a $300 cremation/euthanasia, not including whatever urn the make me buy. On top of about another $2k over the last month. I'm aggravated and I just can't do it.
 
Whoa! Wait! Slow Down! I know it seems really hard but it gets better. As Faye gets regulated Im sure her eating habits will change for the best. Could it be she cries because she's learnt it gives her attention. My little sneaky Oyster has learnt this because I feel sorry for him and every time he call I come running. Now I want to bop him on the head and tell him shush (I never would but somedays tape sounds good). I created a big baby. $2k over the last month....wow...you must have had some hard time. You've gone thru the worst now its just time to settle and maintain. Do your own home curves to save money. Tell your vet your tapped out. Most will work with you. Your at the peak of the mountain and the path is leveling off. Take a deep breath and drink some wine with chocolate....Valentine candy is out right now! Stock Up! lol.

In the end Alex if you really don't think you can do it perhaps find someone who can. Talk to your animal shelter or friends, put up posters. You'd be surprised who will take in a diabetic cat (my kid's babysitter did this twice!) . Fay is only 6... and she could go into remission. This may not be her or you life. Don't give up on her or yourself but do breathe!
 
It's not easy for sure, I feel your pain. What helped me was quickly getting my kitty into remission by only feeding wet low carb food, using a good insulin (lantus) and home testing. Even after remission it took a while for things to settle down. A year later we all settled into a routine, luckily my non-diabetic cooperated, eats the same food and came along for the ride. I only feed wet food so in the morning before I shower I feed both my cats their Fancy Feast, about half a can each. As I head out the door for work I leave them each one can mixed with a little water so it stays moist. When I get home about 9 hours later, I feed them each half a can, then as I get ready for bed I feed them another half a can each and finally I leave them about a can each for overnight snacking. I used to get woken up in the middle of the night by my non-diabetic because he was hungry and was so used to grazing. Then my diabetic would wake me up a few hours later because he was hungry, it was nuts! No sleep what so ever, then the occasional vomiting of one or the other or both then add the testing and injections. It was a long road but eventually we fell into a routine and everyone's happy. I really think you can do it, just remember you're the mommy/daddy, you make the rules. There's only so much you can do but don't give up, set a routine around your needs as much as your kitties needs.
 
I would need links to posts where you describe more of the background story. Personally I free feed, and would have to know exactly what you are feeding them, etc. because just from your post I do not understand why you don't just free feed your diabetic cat something that's no carb. That and I have no idea if you are feeding your cat the wrong thing or if it has other issues causing the vomiting. Unless I am doing something wrong when I click on your profile I do not see a link to your other posts.

$300 is way to expensive for euthanasia/cremation. I just bury the dead body in the yard. No urn or cremation required.
 
((((Alex)))),

I'm sorry that you're going through such a tough time.

but if anything, I would like to hear from somebody who also decided this was not something they could handle.
I would think quite a few folks here may have thought they couldn't handle this 'feline diabetes' malarkey at one time or another. But for most folks it is a passing phase.

I'm sure there are people though who seriously cannot handle it and who make the decision to have their diabetic kitty PTS. For obvious reasons, I think it unlikely that you will find someone on the forum here who actually made that choice. Since they would have no reason to remain here.
There have been people here who tried to rehome their kitties because they felt unable to look after them.

When my cat was first diagnosed the vet who diagnosed him actually suggested that I have him PTS. (And as I was leaving her clinic I did wonder how many folks had chosen euthanasia for their cats at her suggestion.)
Looking after a diabetic cat involves time, work and money. It is a commitment. And not everyone can do that. But those who stick with the situation almost always find that it soon gets a lot easier. And some of us (maybe even most of us) do come to enjoy looking after our 'sugar babies'!

My cat was diagnosed with diabetes 8 years ago. It was difficult for us initially. He was hungry all the time (as many newly diagnosed diabetics are), and he peed everywhere at first. I had no idea what the future would hold for us. But now, here we are, all this time later, and this week I am celebrating his 8th anniversary as a diabetic cat.
My cat has had a happy and healthy 8 years. And I'm really glad I didn't take up the vet's suggestion of euthanasia.

But Fayaway is your cat. And you decide what happens. All I would suggest is that you put off making any major decisions until you are feeling better yourself. It's hard to make sound decisions when we are 'irritable and sleep-deprived'.

Many problems that arise with newly diagnosed cats can be resolved. And quite a few folks here are managing feline diabetes on a tight budget. Don't lose hope. We are here for you, and for Fayaway.

Take good care of yourself. Be kind to yourself. And remember to breathe...

Eliz
 
I would need links to posts where you describe more of the background story. Personally I free feed, and would have to know exactly what you are feeding them, etc. because just from your post I do not understand why you don't just free feed your diabetic cat something that's no carb. That and I have no idea if you are feeding your cat the wrong thing or if it has other issues causing the vomiting. Unless I am doing something wrong when I click on your profile I do not see a link to your other posts.

$300 is way to expensive for euthanasia/cremation. I just bury the dead body in the yard. No urn or cremation required.

Everyone here told me it was crazy to feed the cat anything but low carb wet, which I now do. Before the diagnosis it was all free feeding on dry food, and there were no issues. But free feed now? What a joke. The cat scarfs her can of food in about 3 minutes.
 
I would need links to posts where you describe more of the background story. Personally I free feed, and would have to know exactly what you are feeding them, etc. because just from your post I do not understand why you don't just free feed your diabetic cat something that's no carb. That and I have no idea if you are feeding your cat the wrong thing or if it has other issues causing the vomiting. Unless I am doing something wrong when I click on your profile I do not see a link to your other posts.

$300 is way to expensive for euthanasia/cremation. I just bury the dead body in the yard. No urn or cremation required.

I'm in Denver right now, and the ground is hard is a rock. I just don't see burial as a solid option. Maybe if a few warm days come I can dig. But it would be challenging.
 
It's not easy for sure, I feel your pain. What helped me was quickly getting my kitty into remission by only feeding wet low carb food, using a good insulin (lantus) and home testing. Even after remission it took a while for things to settle down. A year later we all settled into a routine, luckily my non-diabetic cooperated, eats the same food and came along for the ride. I only feed wet food so in the morning before I shower I feed both my cats their Fancy Feast, about half a can each. As I head out the door for work I leave them each one can mixed with a little water so it stays moist. When I get home about 9 hours later, I feed them each half a can, then as I get ready for bed I feed them another half a can each and finally I leave them about a can each for overnight snacking. I used to get woken up in the middle of the night by my non-diabetic because he was hungry and was so used to grazing. Then my diabetic would wake me up a few hours later because he was hungry, it was nuts! No sleep what so ever, then the occasional vomiting of one or the other or both then add the testing and injections. It was a long road but eventually we fell into a routine and everyone's happy. I really think you can do it, just remember you're the mommy/daddy, you make the rules. There's only so much you can do but don't give up, set a routine around your needs as much as your kitties needs.

I give you all the credit in the world. But I don't know what more I can do. I work full time, home test when I can, feed low-carb wet food twice a day (maybe I need to break it up into a few meals, as you are doing). The cat scarfs all the food in 3 minutes, to the point where she is pushing the plate around the kitchen. If the cat went into remission, yahtzee. But how much longer do I go through hell and follow the dangling carrot of hope? I'm suffering, my work is suffering, my other cat is suffering. I'm doing this 100% by myself. And say the cat gets regulated, but I need to be out of town for a day or two? How can I expect family and friends to test and watch for the nuanced BS changes and dose her/feed her accordingly? That's a LOT of responsibility to dump on someone...even just for a weekend away! :(
 
((((Alex)))),

I'm sorry that you're going through such a tough time.


I would think quite a few folks here may have thought they couldn't handle this 'feline diabetes' malarkey at one time or another. But for most folks it is a passing phase.

I'm sure there are people though who seriously cannot handle it and who make the decision to have their diabetic kitty PTS. For obvious reasons, I think it unlikely that you will find someone on the forum here who actually made that choice. Since they would have no reason to remain here.
There have been people here who tried to rehome their kitties because they felt unable to look after them.

When my cat was first diagnosed the vet who diagnosed him actually suggested that I have him PTS. (And as I was leaving her clinic I did wonder how many folks had chosen euthanasia for their cats at her suggestion.)
Looking after a diabetic cat involves time, work and money. It is a commitment. And not everyone can do that. But those who stick with the situation almost always find that it soon gets a lot easier. And some of us (maybe even most of us) do come to enjoy looking after our 'sugar babies'!

My cat was diagnosed with diabetes 8 years ago. It was difficult for us initially. He was hungry all the time (as many newly diagnosed diabetics are), and he peed everywhere at first. I had no idea what the future would hold for us. But now, here we are, all this time later, and this week I am celebrating his 8th anniversary as a diabetic cat.
My cat has had a happy and healthy 8 years. And I'm really glad I didn't take up the vet's suggestion of euthanasia.

But Fayaway is your cat. And you decide what happens. All I would suggest is that you put off making any major decisions until you are feeling better yourself. It's hard to make sound decisions when we are 'irritable and sleep-deprived'.

Many problems that arise with newly diagnosed cats can be resolved. And quite a few folks here are managing feline diabetes on a tight budget. Don't lose hope. We are here for you, and for Fayaway.

Take good care of yourself. Be kind to yourself. And remember to breathe...

Eliz
Thank you, Eliz. Just don't know at one point I may be able to break the "irritable and sleep-deprived" cycle in order to make a sound decision.

Many here are fighters, cats and owners alike. But I do wonder at what point we decide to "let what is, just be." I guess it may be a little early for me to consider this, as she isn't regulated and we are just 5+ weeks in. BUT I feel strongly I cannot invest month after month of this at the expense of MYSELF. Not to mention the financial piece. Everyone can say it can be done for a reasonable cost, but I still believe there is some financial burden. And "reasonable" is quite relative. Sorry to be so bitter. I feel like a train hit me today.
 
Alex, I'm so sorry you & your cats are going through this *HUGS* If it's affecting you badly & you think your cat is miserable & beginning to suffer, you must do what you think is best.
 
My Dweezil is 6 years old too and was diagnosed a day before your's. Sometimes i feel it's harder when they're younger...you wonder if this will go on forever as opposed to an older cat being diagnosed at say, 13 years old.

I think that the first 4-8 weeks is the absolute hardest time. Everything is so unsettled and routines and regulations are still trying to be established. I feel, after 5 weeks, that this is early days and if we can get through this, we will be ok.

If you don't feel you can do the sugar thing long term, i would rehome.

Good luck.
 
Even if we eventually become regulated, there is no quality of life for anyone in this household.

The cat cries and cries and cries and cries. She bullies my non-diabetic cat for her food. And even if Fay is locked away in the basement, Frances can't eat her food because she hears Fay's cries and it is disturbing to her.

This cat would bulldoze through an automatic feeder in about 2 minutes -- so I really don't consider this a solution of any sort.

This morning she vomited all over the house.

Mostly just airing my feelings, but if anything, I would like to hear from somebody who also decided this was not something they could handle.

I'm irritable, sleep-deprived, and broke. And now looking at a $300 cremation/euthanasia, not including whatever urn the make me buy. On top of about another $2k over the last month. I'm aggravated and I just can't do it.

It was 9 months before I had my cat regulated because his body produce autoimmune antibodies to the insulin, which is rare but as he became regulated he ate much less, now he has been regulated under a 100 on a human meter since September and he is not constantly eating, I do however keep Friskies or Fancy Feast canned food out for all 4 cats all the time, when I worked 14 hours a day from the office I left canned food out and they never got sick from it, luckily I am able to work my 14 hours a day from home now but I still only put the canned food out twice a day but I do put enough down that they can free feed, it really does get easier but with my work schedule it was really hard at first. You just get into a routine after a while and learn what works best for you, also have they tested your cat for hyperthyroidism, they can have both and that does make them starve and cry all the time.
 
Yes, two 5.5 oz cans a day. What makes you think that might not be enough? Goal weight is 11 lbs, she's down by 1/2 pound right now. She was never obese or overweight, 11 lbs was where she was at before her diagnosis. @xenli
 
It was 9 months before I had my cat regulated because his body produce autoimmune antibodies to the insulin, which is rare but as he became regulated he ate much less, now he has been regulated under a 100 on a human meter since September and he is not constantly eating, I do however keep Friskies or Fancy Feast canned food out for all 4 cats all the time, when I worked 14 hours a day from the office I left canned food out and they never got sick from it, luckily I am able to work my 14 hours a day from home now but I still only put the canned food out twice a day but I do put enough down that they can free feed, it really does get easier but with my work schedule it was really hard at first. You just get into a routine after a while and learn what works best for you, also have they tested your cat for hyperthyroidism, they can have both and that does make them starve and cry all the time.
wow, 9 months. i'll never make it that long i don't think but it's good to know that it's possible. i wonder how long it has taken others to regulate...
 
It was 9 months before I had my cat regulated because his body produce autoimmune antibodies to the insulin, which is rare but as he became regulated he ate much less, now he has been regulated under a 100 on a human meter since September and he is not constantly eating, I do however keep Friskies or Fancy Feast canned food out for all 4 cats all the time, when I worked 14 hours a day from the office I left canned food out and they never got sick from it, luckily I am able to work my 14 hours a day from home now but I still only put the canned food out twice a day but I do put enough down that they can free feed, it really does get easier but with my work schedule it was really hard at first. You just get into a routine after a while and learn what works best for you, also have they tested your cat for hyperthyroidism, they can have both and that does make them starve and cry all the time.

Is he just regulated now or in remission?
 
Please believe me it will get easier. I felt like you when it first started and after a few weeks it got so much easier. Both kitties are now in remission. I feed 1/3 can of FF every 4-5 hours and have one cat that cries and cries for no reason. I'm now going to start changing the feeding times as 4/5 hours seems to be to demanding.
Please give it a little longer before doing anything .....I promise it gets better.
 
Everyone here told me it was crazy to feed the cat anything but low carb wet, which I now do. Before the diagnosis it was all free feeding on dry food, and there were no issues. But free feed now? What a joke. The cat scarfs her can of food in about 3 minutes.
Hi Alex. I know most people on the board like to feed canned low carb food but if free feeding dry food worked for everyone then you could feed a diabetic dry food. All your cats could eat this food. I know it may not be ideal but if this works for your family then it might be an option. Hills have a dry food for cats with diabetes called m/d. If dry food solves a lot of issues then you should feed it though I know others might disagree but if it saves the life of your cat and your sanity maybe you should feed a diabetic dry food. Or you could feed a combination of low carb canned and dry food. Our vet advised that whatever food you feed it should be consistent. For example if you feed half low carb canned and half dry one day don't give all low carb canned the next day because that might cause lower glucose levels and if you give the same dose of insulin your cat could have a hypoglycemic episode. Although not ideal if you choose to feed all dry food stick to that all the time though your cat may not get into remission with all dry food if you are okay with less chance of remission but really are desperate for harmony in your home then all dry food might be an option. All the very best to Fayaway and you too. If you really can't cope then you could try and find someone to adopt your kitty as there are people who do adopt cats with diabetes. Please don't make any irreversible decisions in a tired and anxious state of mind. As I said there are people who will adopt cats with diabetes.
 
Last edited:
Thanks @Voula . I was told by folks here that Hills m/d was "crap" because the carbs are too high. I initially had her on that, but stopped. She scarfed those up, too.

It's possible I could find someone to adopt her, but I do worry that perhaps someone else may not care for the cat as I would. There is also the feeling, at least for me, that it's merely shifting a financial burden to someone else. And most importantly, I believe re-homing the cat would cause her a LOT of stress. As it is, it's taken her nearly all of her 6 years to come around as the friendly, cuddly girl I know her to be today. For many, many years, she was skittish, would hide, I hardly ever saw her!

I really can't figure out the food piece, as everyone really came down on me hard about the dry food, even the diabetic stuff. :-/
 
Please believe me it will get easier. I felt like you when it first started and after a few weeks it got so much easier. Both kitties are now in remission. I feed 1/3 can of FF every 4-5 hours and have one cat that cries and cries for no reason. I'm now going to start changing the feeding times as 4/5 hours seems to be to demanding.
Please give it a little longer before doing anything .....I promise it gets better.

How long did it take to achieve remission? We will be going into our 6th week soon with nadirs still in the 200-300s.
 
Please believe me it will get easier. I felt like you when it first started and after a few weeks it got so much easier. Both kitties are now in remission. I feed 1/3 can of FF every 4-5 hours and have one cat that cries and cries for no reason. I'm now going to start changing the feeding times as 4/5 hours seems to be to demanding.
Please give it a little longer before doing anything .....I promise it gets better.
It does get easier and I remember lying on the floor and sobbing wondering how I would ever be able to do blood glucose testing but now we are doing fine.
 
Thanks @Voula . I was told by folks here that Hills m/d was "crap" because the carbs are too high. I initially had her on that, but stopped. She scarfed those up, too.

It's possible I could find someone to adopt her, but I do worry that perhaps someone else may not care for the cat as I would. There is also the feeling, at least for me, that it's merely shifting a financial burden to someone else. And most importantly, I believe re-homing the cat would cause her a LOT of stress. As it is, it's taken her nearly all of her 6 years to come around as the friendly, cuddly girl I know her to be today. For many, many years, she was skittish, would hide, I hardly ever saw her!

I really can't figure out the food piece, as everyone really came down on me hard about the dry food, even the diabetic stuff. :-/
Hi Alex. I chose not to feed my Lucy the dry m/d. I know most people on the board are against it and I don't even feed the canned m/d. But if someone is seriously considering letting their kitty go I say feed the m/d dry and keep your cat with you even if it means less chance of remission. If my cat were very unhappy with low carb canned or wouldn't eat it I would feed the dry m/d food. You seem like a responsible person not wanting to financially burden others and it sounds like you are very stressed and so try and do something for yourself and be kind to yourself too. Hang in there it really does get easier and as the saying goes every cat is different well every person is different too with what they can cope with so personally if there is no other way I would feed the dry m/d food. I would also monitor glucose levels at home if you aren't doing that now.
 
Yes, two 5.5 oz cans a day. What makes you think that might not be enough? Goal weight is 11 lbs, she's down by 1/2 pound right now. She was never obese or overweight, 11 lbs was where she was at before her diagnosis. @xenli
I agree that Fayaway may need more food. If she is losing weight and hungry all the time she needs more food. So maybe you don't have to go back to dry food just feed her more low carb canned food first and see how she does and then you can reassess the situation.
 
@Voula She loves the wet, that's not the problem. She would scarf wet or dry food...for that reason I don't see myself as being able to free feed her, she's eat the whole bowl. Before the diabetes we would free feed. I get that her hunger is, in part, due to the disease process, but it's the process of having to be home on the dot, every 12 hours, to feed and give insulin shot.

The hard part is that it is NOT getting better for us. We are barely seeing movement over 5 weeks in, on 5units of Lantus, twice a day. That's a LOT for a cat her size :-/

@Robin-S looks like your cats went into remission so quickly, and were only on small insulin doses to begin with.

If I were seeing movement with Fay, it would see prudent to keep on. But I don't see a lot of change and I simply can't live like this for month after month, year after year. :-/
 
I agree that Fayaway may need more food. If she is losing weight and hungry all the time she needs more food. So maybe you don't have to go back to dry food just feed her more low carb canned food first and see how she does and then you can reassess the situation.

Hmm..Well, she's hungry because of her diabetes. Same with the losing weight. It seems getting her regulated would be the bigger priority, but I see what you're saying. Thanks so much for all your messages.
 
Interesting about the Hills M/D dry food. I really struggle to keep Squiggles on high protein low carb wet food , so I might get a small bag of the Hills dried food , as she's always been used to having a few biscuits & I'm finding it really difficult to keep her happy with just wet food ( sorry folks on here, I know you'll disapprove ! )

Alex, at least if she gobbles down some biscuits on a hurry, & then brings them up ,it won't make such a mess of your floors !! I know how hard it must be for you , especially as you've got a high pressure job & are working long hours xx
 
PS - She isn't still losing weight, just lost a little when I noticed she was drinking and urinating a lot...
 
How long did it take to achieve remission? We will be going into our 6th week soon with nadirs still in the 200-300s.
I think six weeks is still early days for many cats. We are at four months after diagnosis and still having high glucose levels but after the first two months Lucy improved a lot in her symptoms and now apart from higher than normal glucose levels she has no symptoms of diabetes.
 
Interesting about the Hills M/D dry food. I really struggle to keep Squiggles on high protein low carb wet food , so I might get a small bag of the Hills dried food , as she's always been used to having a few biscuits & I'm finding it really difficult to keep her happy with just wet food ( sorry folks on here, I know you'll disapprove ! )

Thanks for that. And as I've seen over the last week after changing her food, Fay is clearly NOT the type of cat who will drop 100-200 points just by changing her food. So I have to wonder, what else is up? There were no signs of infection, vet told me today her calcium was slightly high which could have a connection to a malignancy. But I don't want to do a workup of that. Kitty chemo is just out of the question :eek: . It's hard when you work with dying people all day who have put themselves through treatment after treatment, only to still feel crappy in the end! Maybe my perspective is just a little different... :rolleyes:
 
I think six weeks is still early days for many cats. We are at four months after diagnosis and still having high glucose levels but after the first two months Lucy improved a lot in her symptoms and now apart from higher than normal glucose levels she has no symptoms of diabetes.

I did look at Lucy's chart. I'm glad she has no symptoms, but with her current numbers isn't she still considered to be unregulated?
 
Interesting about the Hills M/D dry food. I really struggle to keep Squiggles on high protein low carb wet food , so I might get a small bag of the Hills dried food , as she's always been used to having a few biscuits & I'm finding it really difficult to keep her happy with just wet food ( sorry folks on here, I know you'll disapprove ! )
If you feed any dry food you must keep the ratios of wet and dry food consistent according to our vet and not vary the amounts as you could risk your cat having a hypoglycemic episode if your dose of insulin is taking into account a certain amount of dry food and then you suddenly stop dry food it could be dangerous for your cat. Having said that our vet also said that she recommends canned food for cats with diabetes. But if it is a matter of a person letting their kitty go and being emotionally unable to cope we have to do what we can to stop those things happening in my opinion. So I am not saying I think dry food should be fed to cats with diabetes but everyone must make their own decisions as to what is best for their kitty and themselves too.
 
I did look at Lucy's chart. I'm glad she has no symptoms, but with her current numbers isn't she still considered to be unregulated?
I think Lucy is not yet regulated so it is interesting she now has no signs of diabetes. She was drinking and peeing a lot before and that seems normal now. I think she may have diabetic neuropathy in her back legs though the vet thinks she may have arthritis instead. I have read of others' cats who still have high glucose levels but have no symptoms so maybe your kitties symptoms will start to improve soon. I hope she does improve soon.
 
Thanks for that. And as I've seen over the last week after changing her food, Fay is clearly NOT the type of cat who will drop 100-200 points just by changing her food. So I have to wonder, what else is up? There were no signs of infection, vet told me today her calcium was slightly high which could have a connection to a malignancy. But I don't want to do a workup of that. Kitty chemo is just out of the question :eek: . It's hard when you work with dying people all day who have put themselves through treatment after treatment, only to still feel crappy in the end! Maybe my perspective is just a little different... :rolleyes:
It sounds like you have a very stressful though important job so you are probably overwhelmed with everything right now. Hugs to you.
 
Yikes...I would never consider myself emotionally unable to cope. Quite the opposite. I'm trying to be pragmatic/realistic, and consider quality of life for all involved. Right now it's poor, I've been told to hang on. I've hung on. I've also been told by many that I should probably have seen better response to insulin now if this cat has chance for remission. I've also been told by some that they "never would have started treatment" if they knew the time, money, effort involved (although all stated they were grateful for the extra time with their animals). I love Fay, she's been with me to three different states and along with her sister Frances...is one of my best friends. BUT how long can we do this with just minimal reduction in her numbers? Obviously she's 1) really taking a long time to get used to the insulin, and eventually would respond or 2) some process is preventing her from ever getting better numbers until the process if found and stopped. So I ask again -- how long do I wait if we are looking at scenario #1? and if it's #2...well since we've excluded the obvious things, we would have to do a LOT of diagnostics to begin to delve into this issue--something I'm pretty clear I'm not up for.
 
If you feed any dry food you must keep the ratios of wet and dry food consistent according to our vet and not vary the amounts as you could risk your cat having a hypoglycemic episode if your dose of insulin is taking into account a certain amount of dry food and then you suddenly stop dry food it could be dangerous for your cat. Having said that our vet also said that she recommends canned food for cats with diabetes. But if it is a matter of a person letting their kitty go and being emotionally unable to cope we have to do what we can to stop those things happening in my opinion. So I am not saying I think dry food should be fed to cats with diabetes but everyone must make their own decisions as to what is best for their kitty and themselves too.

Thank you Voula, that's a very wise & helpful post ! I do keep the bics to a bare minimum & am consistent with quantities . I agree it's no good sticking 100 per cent to the rules if the cat is miserable / unwell on a particular diet, and her owner's getting distraught over the situation.:(
 
Yikes...I would never consider myself emotionally unable to cope. Quite the opposite. I'm trying to be pragmatic/realistic, and consider quality of life for all involved. Right now it's poor, I've been told to hang on. I've hung on. I've also been told by many that I should probably have seen better response to insulin now if this cat has chance for remission. I've also been told by some that they "never would have started treatment" if they knew the time, money, effort involved (although all stated they were grateful for the extra time with their animals). I love Fay, she's been with me to three different states and along with her sister Frances...is one of my best friends. BUT how long can we do this with just minimal reduction in her numbers? Obviously she's 1) really taking a long time to get used to the insulin, and eventually would respond or 2) some process is preventing her from ever getting better numbers until the process if found and stopped. So I ask again -- how long do I wait if we are looking at scenario #1? and if it's #2...well since we've excluded the obvious things, we would have to do a LOT of diagnostics to begin to delve into this issue--something I'm pretty clear I'm not up for.
My apologies Alex. I may have been thinking of how I felt at first when we got the diagnosis. I was quite overwhelmed as I had just lost my Rosie to lymphoma and my Lucy was diagnosed with diabetes. Thank you for clarifying that too. Our vet said it could take some months to see lower glucose levels and easing of symptoms too.
 
@Voula I work as a hospice nurse. It is a bit extra challenging to try to help a sick cat nearly every hour I'm actually home. But I know even those not working full time (and those that do) are putting in 100%. I'm amazed at what everyone here, in all their different life circumstances, are doing for their pets. You are all angels :rb_icon:
 
My apologies Alex. I may have been thinking of how I felt at first when we got the diagnosis. I was quite overwhelmed as I had just lost my Rosie to lymphoma and my Lucy was diagnosed with diabetes. Thank you for clarifying that too. Our vet said it could take some months to see lower glucose levels and easing of symptoms too.

No need for apology. I'm grateful you are online and willing to respond. Thanks to you as well, @LynRich
 
If you need to go with dry food, I suggest looking at 'Young Again Zero Carb' (not really zero but like 5% as fed) or Wysong Epigen starch free. Both can be purchased directly from mfger online, Young Again is carried in some stores in larger areas. The hills is like 28%-34% carbs...can't remember which but it's high.

People DO adopt kitties with diabetes....see that beautiful baby to the left that's my Avatar? His name is Dakota, he's 14, I adopted him knowing he was diabetic when he was 12 years old. Ella adopted Rusty as already diabetic. Robin adopted Alska already diabetic, I know there's others right here on this board.

HUGS and HUGS! I second people above...don't make this decision when tired...
 
If you need to go with dry food, I suggest looking at 'Young Again Zero Carb' (not really zero but like 5% as fed) or Wysong Epigen starch free. Both can be purchased directly from mfger online, Young Again is carried in some stores in larger areas. The hills is like 28%-34% carbs...can't remember which but it's high.

People DO adopt kitties with diabetes....see that beautiful baby to the left that's my Avatar? His name is Dakota, he's 14, I adopted him knowing he was diabetic when he was 12 years old. Ella adopted Rusty as already diabetic. Robin adopted Alska already diabetic, I know there's others right here on this board.

HUGS and HUGS! I second people above...don't make this decision when tired...
Great idea and I didn't think of that food as I am in Australia and we have a more limited choice of suitable foods. There is also ziwipeak too.
 
Everyone here told me it was crazy to feed the cat anything but low carb wet, which I now do. Before the diagnosis it was all free feeding on dry food, and there were no issues. But free feed now? What a joke. The cat scarfs her can of food in about 3 minutes.
When there isn't enough insulin, the cat cannot use the food eaten, hence the ravenous hunger.

Some low carb dry foods (< 10% calories from carbohydrate) are:
Evo Cat and Kitten dry
Wysong Epigen 90
Young Again 0 Carb (internet only)
 
I wish I had some way to encourage you, Alex. It isn't easy, but it does get easier. It may be that you're not needing to be as rigid as you're being. Yes it's ideal to shoot at 12 hour intervals - but if you can't, then you can't. there is some flexibility there, especially in a cat with high blood sugar.

As far as getting her regulated, it is very true that her high blood sugar is causing her to be hungry. She didn't become diabetic overnight and she won't get regulated overnight. I pulled up the information on regulation, but i'm not sure if it's really what you want. What you want is hope, i think. But for what it's worth, here is the information:

Q6.1. What is regulation?

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
  • Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
  • Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
  • Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
  • Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
  • Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
  • Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure.

Diabetes is a treatable disease - cats can have a good quality of life with it. It's just a matter of persistence and yes, hanging in there. It does get easier. Really. :bighug:
 
I agree everyone on this board is amazing. Our oncologist who treated my Rosie said when I told her that my Lucy now has diabetes that in some ways caring for a cat who has diabetes is more difficult than caring for a cat who has cancer but I will take diabetes over lymphoma any time.
 
Last edited:
When there isn't enough insulin, the cat cannot use the food eaten, hence the ravenous hunger.

Some low carb dry foods (< 10% calories from carbohydrate) are:
Evo Cat and Kitten dry
Wysong Epigen 90
Young Again 0 Carb (internet only)

Right, so what exactly is the point of overfeeding the cat?
 
Alex,
My cat was diagnosed this past summer, and having 2 cats I can sympathize with the food situation. My other cat really got pushed aside when Max was hungry and crying, and hogging all the food. I tried all wet food, but still, he eats a faster than her and so we compromise with half wet, half dry. Not ideal, but it works for us.

Max had blood sugars around 400-500 for almost the first 6 months. We were up to 7 units BID and still no results or changes.
Also being a nurse, like you, I was VERY concerned for his long-term quality of life since it seemed like he wasn't responding to the insulin.

When we first took him in when he was diagnosed, I suspected that Max had some bad teeth. However, when the vet looked she said they didn't look too bad. About a month ago, his breath got real bad and one of his teeth was bleeding. Apparently he had an abscess that we couldn't see and probably had it for months. As soon as the tooth was pulled, EVERYTHING got better. His sugars are in the normal ranges, we are down to 4 units BID and still going down. Not eating/peeing/crying/puking all the time.

As stressful and costly as the initial period was, I'm very glad I stuck with it as I'm now seeing the light at the end of the tunnel that I didn't think was there. I can see that Max will be just fine, and things are getting more routine, and Max is back to his happy, playful self.

Hang in there if you can.
 
Respectfully,
I wish I had some way to encourage you, Alex. It isn't easy, but it does get easier. It may be that you're not needing to be as rigid as you're being. Yes it's ideal to shoot at 12 hour intervals - but if you can't, then you can't. there is some flexibility there, especially in a cat with high blood sugar.

As far as getting her regulated, it is very true that her high blood sugar is causing her to be hungry. She didn't become diabetic overnight and she won't get regulated overnight. I pulled up the information on regulation, but i'm not sure if it's really what you want. What you want is hope, i think. But for what it's worth, here is the information:

Q6.1. What is regulation?

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
  • Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
  • Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
  • Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
  • Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
  • Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
  • Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure.

Diabetes is a treatable disease - cats can have a good quality of life with it. It's just a matter of persistence and yes, hanging in there. It does get easier. Really. :bighug:

So we are solidly in the treated but not regulated place. So when exactly does it "get easier"??? I look at Punkin's SS and still see reds and purples, etc. When people say, "it gets easier" do they mean that they 1) get used to giving insulin and worry less about having a cat with a chronic condition? 2) they mean that their cat eventually achieved remission and all is well? or 3) cat isn't regulated but clinical signs are down so it feels like less of a hassle? I'd like to know what gets easier... :-/
 
Right, so what exactly is the point of overfeeding the cat?

I didn't say overfeed, I explained why the cat is ravenous. The insulin dose likely needs to be increased.
It can be helpful to feed as much as 50% more food until you get some regulation going.


There are some tricks that can help, either separately or in combination.
Feeding mini-meals.
Freezing part of a meal to be eaten as it thaws.
Adding 1-2 tablespoons of water to bulk it up a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top