I am in tears, 13-year old cat diagnosed with diabetes ~3 months ago. Not much progress...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is your boyfriend available to help you?

I think you could also just let him relax tonight and work on getting him used to having his ears fooled with. He's made it this long without insulin...another 12 hours or so really shouldn't make a difference.

Here's some tips I tell others:

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing. Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you. Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat. Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm. A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too! Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!
 
Okay, I'll let him chill out for a bit. He is a bit overwhelmed at the moment, I thought I could sneak a blood sample while he was eating but I definitely fudged that up.
 
Because of the stress and less eating, if you were going to give any insulin, I'd be cautious and give only 1 unit to start so I could monitor and see how he did.
Waiting for tomorrow, so you'd be awake to monitor might be a good idea for both of you - you'd have a chance to relax a bit.
 
Hi Ryn,

Ok first step is a good deep breath. I am thinking along the same lines as some others. He's been through a lot today and so have you. You both must be exhausted. Maybe holding off until tomorrow is the best course of action.

In prep for tomorrow, here is a link to all sorts of info and tips for testing. Let us know if you have more questions but for now I think both of you need a rest. Reviewing the testing material will help you be prepared for tomorrow. :bighug:
 
Ryn, you've both been through a lot. perhaps what is needed right now is snuggles and a relaxed you. :):cat: Enjoy him now that you are together. You can start fresh in the morning.
If you are like me, I know you want to get started so maybe get his spreadsheet going?? As a vetsulin user myself, I think BJMs idea to start with one unit is a good one. Start low and go slow makes a lot of sense to me.
 
Ryn, you've both been through a lot. perhaps what is needed right now is snuggles and a relaxed you. :):cat:

No kidding... Everything bad happened so fast within the last few days. To add, my car ended up being written off last night and I had to learn how to drive a standard vehicle really quickly today. At least it was a bit of a smoother ride with AC for the kitty. We all made it back safely and I'm definitely ready to relax. When it rains, it pours.
 
OMG! You really have had a hard few days. The fact that you could learned to drive a standard while stressed out from all of this tells me you are a force to be reckoned with. Heck I couldn't learn to drive a standard at all! :woot: You're obviously more co-ordinated than I am so I have no doubt you'll have no problem with testing or the shots once you both get a good night's rest.
 
I would totally agree with everyone else here, Ryn. Give poor Grayson and yourself and him a little break tonight and forego the insulin...which I'm assuming that you've decided to do by this time of night now. Let him and you get used to one another (and supportive boyfriend...YAY for him!) Even if you wait another entire day...at this point...no biggie...

As for the ear test...you might need to try warming up a sock filled with rice in the microwave to warm his ear. Alternatively (or together), you can do a little "massage" to get the circulation going. Try testing him on Thursday when you're both calmer and he's eating better from the change, then you can try the test and the injection. His ears will bleed easier the more you do this. :) I didn't believe it either but, they do. And, if you need help...ask your boyfriend to help keep him occupied while you work on his ear. Some head rubs and loves go a LONG way. :)

I'm SO glad that you've done this. Grayson will love you for loving HIM enough to do all of this for him! He can't speak but, he can sure enough thank you with his love. :)
And, I'm SO sorry to hear about your car. You really have been through the wringer! It will get easier though. You'll all adjust and things WILL get worked out. I think I can speak for all of us having watched this unfold that we're all sending you MANY of these.......
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I have Grayson with me and he's currently laying down in the middle of our apartment surveying his new surroundings for the next little while.

b0212.gif


Well done, you! I'm delighted for you both. :joyful:

((Ryn and Grayson))





Mogs
.
 
He's getting lots of love! He comes over to see my boyfriend when he calls him too, their relationship is budding so far :D He fell asleep on his chest a few times. He seems to be settling well into his new little space, checking out all the nooks and crannies now. He did wake us up a every couple hours through the night, he's not used to being alone. It was nice to hear him meow though, he was weak to the point where he would open his mouth and no sound would come out so we're seeing improvements in his behaviour already. Purring like a motorboat, too.

We're going to cook up a bit of chicken breast for him this afternoon when I get back from work. It's only going to be given with testing/injections. I'm hoping to test him around 6pm, I think that time would work best for everybody.
 
OIC!! I was confused because I always thought that 'Muricans used the term 'stick shift' for cars with manual transmissions. I really enjoy these cultural exchanges. :)

.
@Critter Mom Oh you might be right. I've even heard people refer to it as a "stick" without the "shift" included. Hard to believe we're all speaking the same language sometimes!
 
Stick shift, manual or whatever aside...the poor woman had to drive a NON AUTOMATIC....poor thing! :smuggrin: :p (I'd still be in the driveway...unable to move!) :woot:

@Ryn....how FABULOUS to hear this news! Don't forget that Grayson has some adjusting to do BUT...it sounds as though he's really enjoying this and most of all, YOU! I'm sure he's one happy kitty now. And, how do we know that he was "happy" where he was? Yes, he may have had the dog as his friend but, I'm sure that having you and Boyfriend (can we give him a nick now? ;)) loving him and spoiling him, making him feel special...is what is going to make him the happiest he's been!

:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
He's getting lots of love! He comes over to see my boyfriend when he calls him too, their relationship is budding so far :D He fell asleep on his chest a few times. He seems to be settling well into his new little space, checking out all the nooks and crannies now. He did wake us up a every couple hours through the night, he's not used to being alone. It was nice to hear him meow though, he was weak to the point where he would open his mouth and no sound would come out so we're seeing improvements in his behaviour already. Purring like a motorboat, too.

We're going to cook up a bit of chicken breast for him this afternoon when I get back from work. It's only going to be given with testing/injections. I'm hoping to test him around 6pm, I think that time would work best for everybody.
Way to go, Ryn! This is such great news! It sounds like Grayson is going to enjoy being doted on. :cat: Hopefully, the hardest part is over now, and with lots of love (and chicken), he'll adjust quickly to the testing and shots. I recall someone (maybe @BJM?) saying that with Caninsulin, it's important to feed about 30 minutes before the injection. The spreadsheet (when you've had time to catch your breath!) will be a big help to you as well as to all of us.
best,
Joan
 
After several pricks and a bit of growling, I managed to get some blood from Grayson. He came out to 17.1 - he is just finishing up his meal now and I'm still aiming to shoot at 6pm (~10 minutes) - am I still safe for 1 unit?
 
Congrats on your first BG test. You're flyin' it, Ryn! :)

What weight is Grayson, and what food is he eating (carb value would be great if you have it handy.)
.
 
He is very, very thin... I don't have an exact weight but I can pick him up with one hand. He had quite a bit of strips of chicken breast for me to get his blood. And he is eating Fancy Feast Chicken Feast Pate.
 
Thanks for the food info and also the body condition assessment. Poor mite! (((Grayson)))

How's his appetite, Ryn. Is he eating well?
 
He just ate about half a can. This is his third can of the day - been trying to bulk him up. First one was at 8:30am, second at 1pm, and now this one around 5:45pm. Do I shoot?
 
Hi Ryn,
Poor Grayson! The insulin will help his body to be able to use the food and hopefully gain back some weight. I think 1 unit should be fine. Can you test him again 2 hours after his shot?
 
He just ate about half a can. This is his third can of the day - been trying to bulk him up. First one was at 8:30am, second at 1pm, and now this one around 5:45pm. Do I shoot?

I'd like to do a pre-flight safety check with you before you give the insulin. I just need to pop away but I won't be long. Can you wait for about 5 mins or so?
 
Scratch that - I see Joan is here.

@Mitzelplik's Mom - Joan, you cool to keep an eye on Ryn and Grayson while I duck away?

EDITED TO ADD:

And Rhonda!

I'm ducking away for a few mins. (Biological necessities ... :rolleyes::oops:)
.
 
Grayson's spreadsheet loading OK now! This is jolly exciting. :cat:

Ryn, a general note regarding food.

As you've advised above Grayson needs to regain weight, the general approach is to let the cat eat as much as it needs, and to work the insulin around it. In the case of Vetsulin, a substantial feed is needed at the beginning of the cycle to 'buffer the system' with carbohydrates ready for the onset of the Vetsulin (usually between +1 and +3 - you should see a steep drop in BG levels).

When Vetsulin kicks in, it drops blood glucose (BG) levels quite fast. The BG stays at this lower level for several hours. Then the dose starts to wear off (usually somewhere from +7) and BG levels start to rise again. Ideally you should minimize the amount you feed between +8 and the next preshot test. At minimum, you should not feed in the two hours prior to the next preshot blood test so as to ensure it is not influenced by food. This is important because the preshots are used to determine safe dosages. Needless to say, if ever Grayson's numbers are very low in a cycle food or honey/karo would be given as required until Grayson returned to safe numbers, regardless of wherever you are time-wise in the cycle.

As you start accumulating test data, you'll be able to work out a routine that suits you both, helps Grayson regain weight, and works with the action of Vetsulin. We'll be able to help you with that as you go along. :)

I am really happy that Grayson is now safely ensconced with you. All that you are doing to help your little friend is wonderful. If ever I'm in need of a professional mountain mover I know who to call. ;) :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Thank you all sooooo much. I feel so relieved that Grayson's finally getting what he needs. I tested his BG again, although I did it 15 minutes earlier because I thought he was twitching funny, but its probably me overreacting and being paranoid. It came to 14.3 mmol/L (257 mg/dl), the initial reading was 17.1 mmol/L (307 mg/dl). I want to test again in another couple hours because I'm reading that Caninsulin does a big drop at some point.

I am really happy that Grayson is now safely ensconced with you. All that you are doing to help your little friend is wonderful. If ever I'm in need of a professional mountain mover I know who to call. ;) :bighug:

:oops: That struck a chord with me. It hasn't been easy, but it feels good now that I'm doing the right thing.
 
Last edited:
:) you are absolutely doing the right thing! :):cat::)
If you can test, especially early in the cycle in my experience, that will be good. Although please do use your "spidey senses" to judge if Greyson continues to be ok with the frequent testing. When Radar had enough we always stopped testing unless he wasn't safe.
Testing Every couple of hours is probably enough at this point for you. What you are looking for, Ryn, is the low point in his cycle - the nadir. You will know you are close when the numbers start going up. Vetsulin was a fast acting insulin in my cat (at +3 hours after insulin) and then his numbers would start rising. Knowing when the insulin starts working and at what hour after this insulin your particular cat is lowest is very useful information to have. Take a peek at Radars ss and you will see what my cat did at various doses of vetsulin. This peeking may help you understand things much better. Your crash course in managing the feline diabetic continues.... Please let me know if any of this doesn't make sense or if you have other questions. You are doing great!! :bighug: To you both
 
:) you are absolutely doing the right thing! :):cat::)
I'll second that, @Ryn! Grayson is a lucky boy and you've got a very caring and supportive community here routing for you. Stay in touch, ask any questions that come up (you can start a new thread for new questions) and we'll do everything we can to help you help Grayson.
Cheers!

Joan
 
Ryn, I'm not familiar with the type of insulin you are using...heck...I can't even get my own cat straightened around yet so, I'm of little help with the dosing. However, you are in great hands here with those who know this insulin! :)

I just wanted to give you a HUGE HUG for all that you've done for Grayson because I know that he will be giving you snuggles, purrs and love as he starts to pick up and regain his weight and get healthy for you again!

I know this is all quite overwhelming for you and Supportive BF but, it will become more routine. I am SO happy for Grayson that he has you now. I'm sure if he could talk our human language, he'd be saying "thank you Mom!" I know that he will do it in his own way though...growls and all. LOL

You are absolutely doing the right thing, the right way and I applaud you and your love for him!
GROUP HUGS from ALL of us!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Ryn,

Checking in to see how things are going with yourself, Grayson and the manpanion today. Hope you'll drop us an update. Is there anything we can help you with?
:bighug:

Mogs
.
 
Not much going on now other than the fact he's peeing on our bed and pooping outside his litterbox! Grr. I feel like he's trying to claim all the new furniture in the apartment and he's doing a good job. You can call the "manpanion" Jim, but I like your nickname for him a lot better! ;)

I've been plugging away at his SS when I have spare moments. I'm working from home today. His numbers are still relatively high-ish but I'm going to stick with the 1U for the next while until his body adjusts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top