I am in tears, 13-year old cat diagnosed with diabetes ~3 months ago. Not much progress...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think Grayson will be fine for the trip if you do a bit of pre-planning.

Take a cooler with some ice packs with you. You can put these under a towel or whatever in his carrier to help keep him cooler on the trip and make a stop or two to change them out for cooler ones.

The little fellow may need water enroute anyway so take some bottled water in the cooler too along with a bowl.

And if he drinks he may need a potty stop along the way so if you get some incontinent pads (doggie pee pads) to put in his carrier, this won't be a worry other than a little cat cleaning once home.

Oh yes and a plastic bag for any soiled incontinent pads!

I'm sure Grayson will be fine with the ride as long as you keep him relatively comfortable. How is he usually in the car? I'm equally sure Grayson will be happy as a clam in your apt. He will start to feel much better with treatment and be grateful for that!

My only other suggestion would be for us to set up a kitty railway for Grayson! :D
 
It can help to calm a cat if you put a blanket over the carrier while you're travelling. Chatting or singing to the cat can reassure them, too. :) Remember, too, that Grayson loves you. Your presence will help him feel a bit more secure.

Re the apartment, a covered litter box with a square of carpet in front of it can help keep things tidier.
 
First, I want to :bighug: You for being so determined to help your little furbaby in spite of all the challenges you face. You are saving his life by getting him out of his current situation as soon as possible. He may not prefer living in a small apartment or moving or even riding in a noisy car but he will be with you. YOU are the most important piece of this puzzle. He does not have the power to get insulin or go to the vet. You have that power. I encourage you to use this uniquely human power and go get Greyson. Remember that all of us will be here to help you figure out the management part of the disease. You may feel overwhelmed at the moment but you are not alone! Hugs to you both.
 
Just a note: Caninsulin/Vetsulin may not last a full 12 hours in cats, as it was developed in dogs which have a slower metabolism. You work with it if you can.
And, we have a guide for using it here. The most important thing is you feed 30 minutes before your inject, as the onset of the insulin effects can be a bit harsh.
 
I know some people have had good results with Caninsulin, but if there's any way you can manage it, I'd go with Lantus or Levemir. They are human insulins and available at any pharmacy (and in Canada, they're a lot cheaper than they are in the US)

Caninsulin can be very harsh with fast drops and then it wears off too soon. It was specifically designed for dogs (thus the "Canine" in the name) and works well for them, but not so great for most cats.

While it would be preferable for you to have a vet that understood how to use Lantus or Levemir, the people here have years of experience with it and can help guide you in dosing.

I don't know if it would help or not, but here's a paper on "Management of diabetic cats with long acting insulin" that your vet might be interested in reading

Whatever you decide, we'll all be here to help support you and your extra sweet Grayson!
 
I did a quick calculation of the costs for Lantus here in Canada. I recently bought the pen cartridges (package of 5) for $107.76 at Walmart.

It works out to about $10.00 per month at a dose of 2u twice daily or $15.00 per month at 3u twice daily.

The Caninsulin works out to about $15.00 per month for 2u twice per day or $22.00 per month for 3u twice daily.

So while the Caninsulin appears cheaper, it really isn't based on a per unit calculation. The difference really is in the initial cost to buy the insulin.
 
I think for now I will go with the Caninsulin and what the vet advises, and once I start getting the hang of things and I settle into my new job I can start looking into Lantus, as it seems to be the most popular choice here.

Are lancets sold separately from the strips/metres?
 
Ryn, If you want to hold off for the moment on the meter, we may be able to get you one free from one of our Canadian members (I'm checking to see if it's still available). It is a US Relion but it will get you started and you can get those strips in Detroit. We'll have to check where she has been getting strips as she is in the GTA so not an easy trek to the border. The lancing device and a very small supply of lancets (10-12) usually come with the meters so you'd have to buy more lancets and the strips are sold separately.
 
I don't know whether the set-up's the same in Canada, but in the UK ebay is a great place to find good prices on diabetes supplies.
 
eBay can be a great place to find some bargains but I'm not sure how good it is when ordering from a US vs Canadian merchant having never done so myself thus my comment re: finding out how strips were being obtained for the US meter being used here in Canada.
 
I just wanted to take some time to say a big :bighug: THANK YOU :bighug: again for everyone's help and understanding. This is such a difficult and emotional situation for me. This community has moved me to tears, but this time in a good way. I'm learning a lot and looking forward to seeing Grayson again in the next few days. I'm hoping he can wait for me, because I can't wait to see him and get this under control once and for all. I don't feel so alone anymore.
 
I just wanted to take some time to say a big :bighug: THANK YOU :bighug: again for everyone's help and understanding. This is such a difficult and emotional situation for me. This community has moved me to tears, but this time in a good way. I'm learning a lot and looking forward to seeing Grayson again in the next few days. I'm hoping he can wait for me, because I can't wait to see him and get this under control once and for all. I don't feel so alone anymore.
Dear Ryn, I am moved to tears myself as the Grayson drama has unfolded here to such an awesome point!! I came looking to see how things were going with Grayson and YOU and I was so delighted to see your decision!!
I am very proud of you and your dedication, navigating all these hurdles that you are facing, physically and emotionally. I really believe tackling each thing, day by day and staying in contact here, and EVERYTHING will fall into place. Grayson will feel that, and settle right in, just being with you. I just know it.
So overjoyed to hear this news, and I am keeping you both, and all efforts in my prayers.
You can do it!! :bighug: Love to Grayson!!
 
Ryn, Grayson is lucky to have such a loving Bean (human)! :D Your story moved me to tears too and I couldn't be happier to see the pieces to your "puzzle" start coming together for you both. There is a remarkable group of people on this board to help you learn the steps to the sugardance and you will never feel alone here. :bighug::bighug:
 
You can get a box of 5 lantus pens at Costco for $99 and it will last you a couple of years.

You could also get a free bayer meter from bayer if you go here, comes with 25 free strips. Http://www.bayerdiabetes.ca/BDoffer and use code BDS 01-14 (just guess at the diabetes questions)

Strips are more expensive but again you can usually find cheaper ones on eBay.

Even if you don't want to use the bayer meter I would order one anyway and sell it on kijiji lol.
 
Ryn, I also still have one vial of levemir and the relion meter. Please send me a PM if you want them so we can work out shipping issues.

Note though that levemir is very strong so you would have to start on a very small dose and testing is crucial.

In terms of strips, I drive across the border to Niagara Falls NY and pick up a pile of boxes at one time. I have also occasionally seen them for sale on eBay vendors who ship across the border but it's unusual.

Where in Ontario do you live?
 
@Wendy&Tiggy(GA) - right now I am in Windsor, I will moving to the Hamilton region in September. I am on my way to the Hamilton area tomorrow evening for a couple of days, and to pick up Grayson.

And crap, guys, I screwed up... I forgot that it was a long weekend here in Canada, so the vet office is closed until TUESDAY! :banghead: I was hoping to get an appointment for Wednesday, but now I'm a bit worried they can't fit me in. Can this be considered an emergency situation?

I want to get the strips and a metre and start testing ASAP so I can start understanding what is going on inside my furry ball of sugar. I'm getting anxious, come on Monday! (Pretty sure I'm the first person in history to say that!)
 
Last edited:
Can this be considered an emergency situation?
You could justify it. The sooner Grayson gets help, the better.

I'd recommend getting some urine test strips, too, to check Grayson's pee for ketones. If you get a positive TRACE result, post here for advice. If you don't get an answer, or if you get a reading higher than TRACE then you do need to get Grayson to the vets for help straight away (DKA can develop very, very quickly).
 
Last edited:
Try these two coupon links for free meters. I know there may be folks here who are not keen on the Freestyle meters from past experience however this one has a very good accuracy record now according to recent independent testing.

https://www.bayercare.ca/EN/coupons/ConNext_Coupon_EN.pdf

http://adc.mpdev.ca/media/library/2014/07/04/ADC_Coupons_FSL_E.pdf

The strips for both of these meters run around $76.00/100 strips. Possibly available cheaper at Costco??

I agree with Aine. You can justify this as an emergency. Once you are at the office, they'll be hard pressed not to help!:smuggrin:

And your enthusiasm is wonderful!:bighug::bighug:
 
On the emergency justification. At higher blood glucose levels, little Grayson's organs aren't going to be doing their best. Also, it increases his chances of developing diabetic neuropathy and kidney/other organ damage.

And I agree with Linda and others: it is wonderful to see your love for, and dedication to, Grayson. :bighug:
 
Try these two coupon links for free meters. I know there may be folks here who are not keen on the Freestyle meters from past experience however this one has a very good accuracy record now according to recent independent testing.

https://www.bayercare.ca/EN/coupons/ConNext_Coupon_EN.pdf

http://adc.mpdev.ca/media/library/2014/07/04/ADC_Coupons_FSL_E.pdf

The strips for both of these meters run around $76.00/100 strips. Possibly available cheaper at Costco??

I agree with Aine. You can justify this as an emergency. Once you are at the office, they'll be hard pressed not to help!:smuggrin:

And your enthusiasm is wonderful!:bighug::bighug:

Thank you!!! The coupon in the second link has expired, but the first link still seems to be good. I'll swing by a pharmacy today and see if I can pick it up with some strips. I was surfing Amazon and it seems I can get a pack of 100 strips for about $25.
 
Thank you!!! The coupon in the second link has expired, but the first link still seems to be good. I'll swing by a pharmacy today and see if I can pick it up with some strips. I was surfing Amazon and it seems I can get a pack of 100 strips for about $25.
OOOPS! Sorry 'bout that ! I assumed since it was still online it was good. Didn't think to check the date! DANG!:arghh:
 
I picked up the glucose metre today. I tested it on myself to get the hang of it and it seems pretty easy. I've completely run out of money so the ketodiastix will have to wait...

I have a question about food. I've been doing some more reading and I'm scaring myself about hypoglycemia. Right now, Grayson is eating Fancy Feast canned wet food, and there is dry kibble that is left out 24/7 for the other cats, and I'm sure Grayson grazes on it throughout the day. Is this okay to leave out for him? Or is eating it completely defeating the purpose? When I start giving insulin and I leave the house, I don't want to come home to a comatose (or dead) cat, is the kibble okay to leave out just in case? I'm freaking myself out..
 
You need to get rid of the kibble...other than 2 very expensive dry foods (which you can't get in Canada from what I've seen) they're all too high in carbs and defeat the purpose

The reason we home test is to keep kitty safe....by home testing, you'll be much more in control of where his blood glucose is going and can intervene when necessary. As you learn his patterns, you'll learn when it's important to leave higher carb canned food out for him to eat if you're not going to be there too

Don't worry yourself sick over hypo's...we're not going anywhere and there's still a lot for you to learn and as you start to absorb more and more of the advice we'll be giving you, you'll understand more about how to keep your sweet Grayson safe (other than leaving out high carb kibble!)
 
Hi Ryn,

You are already way ahead of the game here so relax. The Fancy Feast Classics (pates) are one of best options for Grayson. As far as wanting to have some higher carb food around just in case, Fancy Feast Gravy Lover or the Chunks in gravy will do the trick.

Kibble is too high in carbs so best to keep it out of the mix entirely. Unfortunately here in Canada we cannot get any kibble low enough in carbs to be ideal. And it's impossible to do anything but smuggle it across the border because the customs agents will confiscate any pet food unless you have the pet who is going to eat it with you in the car!

Some folks freeze the canned food and leave out catfoodsicles (new word) for kitty to eat for those mid day munchies or they add more water to the food to keep it from drying out. Others have automated feeders but those are going to set you back some cash too so not something you need immediately but may want to consider later!

You may find that your vet will suggest two meals a day before each insulin shot anyway.
So for now you can just stock up on Fancy Feast pates and a few cans of Gravy Lover or the Chunks in gravy and you'll be good to go! Walmart usually has Fancy Feast for something like 60 cents a can.

Don't fret over hypoglycemia. You are in a far better place than most folks because you already have him eating a good diet. The vet will start Grayson on a small dose to begin with and as you monitor Grayson's glucose you will become familiar with how the insulin works for him and there are some very experienced folks here who will help you keep Grayson safe.

One step at a time! Good to put a hypo kit together but don't let the possibility of needing it start making you crazy.
 
Dropping the kibble and high carb food may reduce the glucose from 100-300 mg/dL and reduce the insulin dose 1-2 units, depending on the cat.
Make any new food changes slowly - 20-25% different food per day - to avoid GI upsets (diarrhea, vomiting) and food refusals.
 
Hi Ryn,

Great to read about the progress you're making. :bighug:

If you can get the kibble out of Grayson's diet before giving insulin it will make things easier. However, if he's still getting some kibble when your vet decides on the starting dose you'll need to be a little more careful with the transition. As BJ says above, when the kibble is removed Grayson's insulin needs are more than likely to reduce. You should not try to remove the kibble before you're home testing Grayson's BG. Once you're able to monitor BG, you'll be able to manage the food transition and any dose adjustments smoothly and safely. Remember that we'll be here with you every step of the way. :)


Mogs
.
 
There shouldn't be a problem weaning him from the kibble, I will leave that food with my mom (although I'd prefer if she didn't give it to any of the cats at all), he seems to enjoy the wet stuff much more. This is really opening my eyes to how we feed our animals.

So there should be no problem with leaving some extra canned food out for him? He's always been a grazer. But yes, when I take him to the vet he will probably have some kibble in his system, its unavoidable right now. Would it be wise to monitor him and his intake for a few days before shooting? He's extremely underweight and fragile, I'm worried he's hardly getting any nutrition even with the Fancy Feast in his condition right now.

I'm off to work and then headed back to Hamilton. I will stop in and check with Grayson, call the vet tomorrow, and crossing my fingers that my vet can see him on Wednesday before I take him back with me.
 
Hi Ryn,

Don't wait - Grayson's little body badly needs nourishment to help him get better, and the insulin will help his body to get the benefit out of his food. Give the insulin and start getting in BG tests (post when you're ready and we can guide you about the best times to test). I'd suggest letting him stabilize with the insulin and his current diet (don't want any tummy upsets on top of everything else!). It will take Grayson's body a few days to acclimatize to the insulin. Spend time gathering data. Then a gradual food transition so that you can monitor the BG and reduce insulin dose as required. We'll be here to help.

Give Grayson some gentle scritches from me. :)


Mogs
.
 
Ryn - I know that finances are tight but if there is any way you might stretch to getting Grayson a B12 injection at the vets tomorrow, it could give him a bit of a boost.
 
@Ryn if you decide to give Grayson the can insulin I have a bunch of syringes that you can have, probably enough syringes to last at least a few months. I'm in BC but if you pm me your address I can pop them in the mail for you & you should have them within a week. I would offer the rest of the caninsulin I have left but it wouldn't really be worth it for the cost of shipping for the 1/4 of a bottle that is left.
 
@Critter Mom - I think Ryn is picking up Grayson Tuesday or Wednesday and taking him to the vet on Wednesday. It's only Tuesday 1:30am here so there likely won't be any news till Wednesday. This is like reading a book and you can't wait to get to the next chapter isn't it?! :)
 
Grayson's vet appointment is tomorrow (Wednesday) at 10:15am.

I tried to get to my mom's house last night to get his things together so we can grab everything and go, but she banned me from coming, says he "has nothing" and is still in denial about the whole situation. We aren't on speaking terms anymore, this has strained our relationship so much to this point and she refuses to help me. I had to re-buy everything that she won't allow me to take (litter box, food, dishes, etc). She's trying everything in her power to block me. I just want to help my cat, why is that wrong?

To add, my boyfriend is being supportive and loving which I appreciate so much from someone who is slightly allergic to cats. He's ok with me bringing him to our little apartment and is willing to learn as well... he is new to this cat thing :) I'm not sure how comfortable Grayson is with him yet, he tends to ignore men, but its something new we can work with. I feel awful taking him out of the only place he has ever known for 13 years, but I don't have any other choice right now. He also has feline herpes which might flare up when he's stressed, he hasn't had a flare-up since his neuter when he was a kitten. I'm hoping things go smoothly...
 
Last edited:
I just want to help my cat, why is that wrong?

It isn't wrong. Quite the contrary: you are doing 100% the right thing.

I'm really sorry that unnecessary obstacles are being thrown in your path but I have every faith in your ability to overcome them, Ryn. We're all hear in the wings with lots of moral support for when you need it. :bighug:

I am heartened to hear how positive your boyfriend is being. :) It's great that he wants to learn along with you. Fingers and paws crossed that when Grayson is spending much more time in your boyfriend's company he'll 'warm up' a bit to him. :)

I know it's going to be a bit of a change for Grayson, but I think it will be a positive one. He loves you and you love him. Home is wherever you're together. :)

WRT the feline herpes, I've seen discussions about that on Feline Health before. If needed, I'm sure you'll be able to get some help and advice about that, too, should it become an issue. (Fingers 'n' paws crossed that it won't. ;)

You are doing brilliantly!!! :)


Mogs
.
 
Oh Ryn, I'm sorry your Mom is making this so difficult for you!! Like everyone here, I'm so thrilled you are standing up for Grayson and taking him with you. It will be stressful, but Grayson needs you and he will adjust. Hope all goes well at the vet tomorrow. They may tell you he needs special prescription food but this is not true. Just tell them you can't afford it. It tends to be very expensive and it's no better for him.
We're all cheering you on!

Joan
 
@Ryn if you decide to give Grayson the can insulin I have a bunch of syringes that you can have, probably enough syringes to last at least a few months. I'm in BC but if you pm me your address I can pop them in the mail for you & you should have them within a week. I would offer the rest of the caninsulin I have left but it wouldn't really be worth it for the cost of shipping for the 1/4 of a bottle that is left.

I would be immensely grateful for anything you can donate! It would help me so much. I'll send you a PM.
 
Hi everyone, I have Grayson with me and he's currently laying down in the middle of our apartment surveying his new surroundings for the next little while. I got the Caninsulin from the vet (his BG was 27 at the vet's office). They said 2 units twice a day.

It's currently 7:30pm and I had planned to have his first dose done by now, but I am having such a hard time doing the ear prick, he's not having it at all. I did it with the help of the vet assistant in the office today, but I can't seem to get it here and I'm starting to annoy him. He ate a little bit once I opened his carrier. Please help?
 
Ryn, since you haven't started the insulin yet, you might want to just give him a little time to calm down and acclimate. He's been through a lot in a short amount of time. I know you wanted to start tonight, but maybe you both just need to relax for tonight? Just my two cents.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top