huge difference in readings from am to pm

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all. Jasmine and I are still new to lantus. Jasmine has been on lantus for exactly 14 days. Here are her readings for the last 5 days ....

Saturday ... 5 am - 388.8 and 1 unit lantus 5 pm - 255.6 and 1 unit lantus
Sunday ... 5 am - 298.8 and 1 unit lantus 5 pm - 167.4 and 1 unit lantus
Monday ... 5 am - 331.2 and 1 unit lantus 5 pm - 81 I DIDN'T GIVE HER INSULIN THIS TIME
Tuesday ... 5 am - 279 and 1 unit lantus 5 pm - 109.8 I DIDN'T GIVE HER INSULIN THIS TIME
Today (Wednesday) ... 5 am - 295.2 and 1 unit lantus 5 pm - 99 I DIDN'T GIVE HER INSULIN THIS TIME

Should she still be getting insulin when her pre insulin shot is 81 - 109.8????? Her pre insulin shots in the am are very high. After 14 days shouldn't she soon start to regulate. Is it time to change her dose from 1 unit twice daily? Any advice?
 
Regulation.......in 14 days? There is no set time frame for regulation, it took Punk forever to become what I'd consider mostly regulated, I'd say about a year. Don't panic, I'm not saying it will take Jasmine anywhere near a year, You're getting some good green numbers and you'll work your way through, but 14 days is asking a lot. :mrgreen: You're still brand-spanking new and Jasmine's pancreas will need a little more time, as will her liver.
Do you have a spreadsheet? Are you able to get any spot checks during the day or mid-cycle?
 
Jodi:

I wouldn't feel comfortable making any suggestions at this point about dose Jasmine's progress. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point of the cycle -- which is usually somewhere in the middle of the cycle. The information you provided is pre-shot data. This is important information -- it lets you know whether it's safe to shoot -- but it doesn't give a full picture. What I would encourage you to think about is whether you would consider essentially starting over with dose at a smaller amount so you can consistently shoot twice a day and begin to accumulate mid-cycle test data.
 
Jodi---Man Plans and Cats Laugh!! There are some miracles here- But it takes hard work-I thought my cat would be in remission in a few months--Moonie had other plans.Moonie is close to regulation right now, after all this time..(2 years)
Every Cat Is Different(ECID)--These are pretty good numbers here & quite normal for a newbie..
Just read & re-read the stickys, be consistant & patient, and this could go very well..
But plans, they are made only to be broken--Do your best & Jasmine will do hers--
After all, you have all of us to help you...
Welcome TO Lantus Land...
 
I would reduce the next AM dose to say 0.75 units. It appears that the one unit AM may be too much and results in the PM reading being too low. I would also take some reading between shots to see what is happening.

Sometimes it takes a long time to get a cat regulated. I have been working on Bailey for over six years and still do not like the BGs I am getting. This morning he was 409 and this evening 97. This is better PMPS than Monday when he was 45.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top