How many hours delaying until you skip dose?

LionHeartTX

Member Since 2024
Just a quick question. I was reading the Sticky “Dosing Methods: Start low, go slow (SLGS) & Tight regulation (TR). In the section about preshot number being far below usual preshot number it says if you have flexibility in your schedule then you can stall until either your cat reaches a number you are comfortable shooting or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary. My question is what is considered “enough time”?
 
Are you currently stalling? What are the BGs?

the reason for the flexibility is because say you stalled and finally got a number you are comfortable with 2 hours later, the next shot needs to still be 12 hours after the delayed shot. So this is largely dependent on your schedule. The next few days you’d have to slowly walk back the times to normal time, either 15 mins early per shot or 30mins total in a day… if your cat is sensitive to insulin, we suggest 15mins early per shot.

That all said, if by 2 hours after normal shot time, you still see lower numbers that aren’t on the rise, you might be do skip or a reduced dose if number are rising. I suggest still testing with a skip though as that data will give you more info for future low Preshot and tells us how that skip effects them.

note that when you’re stalling you should not feed as food will influence the number. If you feed, you need to wait 2 hours before shooting to get a non food influenced number.

If your cat has any ketones history, you want to avoid a skipped shot. This might mean waiting for a shootable number or giving a reduced dose.
 
Thank you for replying. Yes, I am currently stalling. His last shot was at 9:29pm last night. His AMPS (technically PM +12) was 108. I stalled an hour (PM +13) it was 101. I stalled another hour (PM +14) it was 81! I just tested again another hour later (PM +15) and it was 79! I let him eat whenever he wants to eat. He ate before the PM +12 and at least once between each reading afterwards and it still dropped.
 
For future, you want to withhold food for 2 hours before shot, this is so that you get a non food influenced number at shot time… we want to do this so we are shooting a true number not one that’s higher due to food as that food will wear off and might mean your kitty will drop lower.

With those numbers, I’d say skip this shot and resume at normal shot time if they’re are shootable.

have you recently made any diet changes?
If you have a spreadsheet please share the link… we’ll need to get you a signature set up as well
 
Thank you for replying. Actually nothing has changed except his lower blood glucose numbers. His diet is the same and so is his activity level. I will keep testing every hour for as long as he is willing to let me.
 
May I ask why you don’t have a spreadsheet or signature? Even if you are not following either of our dosing methods it will help us to give you correct information.
It would be better to post on main/health where they will help you get set up.
 
I created my own spreadsheet in Apple Numbers before I found this site. I have months worth of data to transfer to the spreadsheet used by this forum. I normally test him at +3, +4, +6 & +8 after each shot sometimes more often. In between shots and tests I take him outside for exercise (even in the early mornings) and he likes to stay outside with me for at least an hour if not longer. Sometimes he stays outside until it is time to test his blood again. I cannot do anything while I am outside with him because I have to watch him to make sure he does not eat any wildlife. Every time I decide to set aside time to update my profile something like this happens and it throws everything off for me. I have 3 other cats (his mother, brother & sister) and they keep me busy too.

Because of all that I try to keep my questions simple so that they can be answered without any background information. For example, I was just expecting a number of hours that you all considered too much until you skipped the dose for this question.
 
Last edited:
You dint need to add all your information to our spreadsheet. Just a couple of weeks and the date of dx plus a signature would be enough. You were just given information for a cat that’s new to fd when it sounds like your cat has been diabetic fir a long time and possibly even a long term over a year diabetic or one that has come out of remission. It’s up to you though.
 
That sounds doable. I can probably transfer the last month’s worth of data. I will try to get it done.

Actually, that is exactly what I was looking for. I just need general information not anything specific. For this question I just wanted clarification for what would constitute stalling too long before deciding to just skip the dose. I mainly wanted to know how experienced people handled that situation.

Thank you for your reply and thank you for your time.
 
Back
Top