GA How do you know when it's over?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweet Pea's Mom

Member Since 2016
I have a newly diagnosed 16 1/2 year old kitty who is not doing well. We found out 6 days ago and she's not been the same since. She was in kitty ICU for two days and since she's come home four days ago she's hardly been eating or drinking, she hasn't pooped, and she's only made it to the litter box once to pee. At one point I even found her half laying in a puddle of her own urine. She just has this look like she's given up. So I guess my question is how do you know when it's over? At what point does quality of life win over quantity? While I know her diagnosis is still new, she's not young and she's very frail. She's my baby and I love her so much, but if she has no hope of a decent recovery, I don't want to prolong her suffering. I have an appointment tomorrow morning with her vet to check her out.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I'm so sorry to hear that Sweet Pea is not doing well. Can you tell us what precipitated her stay in ICU, and what her vet's diagnosis was? Did he mention anything about ketones? It can take several days before you see the results of insulin therapy, depending on the type of insulin you are using. My cat was also 16 1/2 when he was diagnosed; he is 18 now and doing very well, so I wouldn't think he age would be a problem in treating her. I would definitely take her back to the vet, the not eating or drinking is a worry as it creates problems of it's own.

What type of insulin did her vet Rx, and how much?
 
She was perfectly healthy - perfectly senile, but perfectly healthy until a little over a week ago. Then all of a sudden she was peeing in front of her litter box, not sleeping, restlessly moving around the house, losing weight, and she started a very strange and persistent meow. That's when we took her to the ER vet who diagnosed her with diabetes. Her BG was 513, but she wasn't in DKA. Couldn't give her too much insulin because her potassium was too low already and insulin lowers potassium levels, so they had to fluid resuscitate her at first. I got a ReliOn BG monitor but I can't get the blasted thing to work right. I even tried to test myself and I kept getting error messages. I'm a RN, so I'm very familiar with testing BG. I've tried 3 times now with no success.

As for the insulin, she's on 1 unit Vetsulin twice a day, but I've been holding a dose here and there when she hasn't eaten. She's a big cat and should be eating at least two little cans of Fancy Feast each day, but I can't even get her to eat one.
 
It's good that you are a RN, and that you already have knowledge of diabetes! Which Relion meter did you get? The Confirm and the Micro require a very small amount of blood; the Prime needs a larger drop. It helps to make sure the ear is warm (cold ears don't bleed very well), and you can apply a very thin layer of vaseline or Neosporin with Pain Relief to the ear first - it helps the blood to form a drop instead of dispersing through the hair. If you continue to have problems with the meter I would take it back to Walmart and ask for a replacement.

If she is refusing to eat she may be nauseated. Her vet can give her meds for nausea, usually cerenia and/or ondansetron as well as appetite stimulants, like cyproheptadine or mirtazapine. My cat is on Cyproheptadine, it doesn't have the risk of serotonin syndrome associated with the Mirtazapine.

You may have to consider syringe feeding her until she gets back on her feet. Here is a link with some helpful information on syringe assisted feeding.

Here is a link to a "liver shake" that is highly recommended for sick cats. It is very palatable and most cats will eat/drink it, even if they are not eating their food.
 
I bought the all-in-one compact because it was cheaper than piecing all the supplies together and claimed a small sample size, but I call BS on that. Just now we were laying down on the bed together for the night and she lost her bladder and just laid there in her mess, making no effort to move.
 
I bought the all-in-one compact because it was cheaper than piecing all the supplies together and claimed a small sample size, but I call BS on that. Just now we were laying down on the bed together for the night and she lost her bladder and just laid there in her mess, making no effort to move.
That is definitely worrisome. I wish I had some words of reassurance for you. At least you know she has taken in some fluids, though. Poor girl, I hope her vet can help her in the morning. I will keep her (and you) in my prayers. If she can get through whatever is bringing her down now, feline diabetes, itself, is very treatable. Please post tomorrow with the results from the vet visit! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Lucy

FWIW, my 18 year old kitty sometimes has bladder accidents, especially when he is sleeping deeply. Fortunately they do not happen often, but they do happen.
 
Sweet Pea crossed the rainbow bridge at 10:30 this morning.
I am so very sorry. I had hoped your news would be happier. It's obvious you loved her with all your heart, and my heart is breaking for you. Hold close and cherish all your wonderful memories of her, and she will live on in your heart until the day you are reunited at the Rainbow Bridge.

Fly free, beloved Sweet Pea, and land gently cat_wings>o

GA.jpe
 
Fly free Sweet Pea, your parents loved you and you were a good kitty. Wait for them at the Rainbow Bridge.:rb_icon:
 
Sweet Pea, I've been there. four times in a six month period, two more in the next six months, two more last year and then our dog. You are NOT alone. She was loved and from what I hear, she's in a good place now. My first were two brothers, one at 17 and one at 23. You're allowed to cry and wonder what you could have done differently. Just know that all cats go to Heaven where the grass is soft, the sky is blue and no more trips to the vet. We all wish you peace and love. From Noah, Andy, Daniele, Lewis, Marco and Sam.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top