Holiday dose - advice needed

Carys'n'Moira

Member Since 2025
Hi there. My partner and I are going away tomorrow morning for 3 days. Moira will be going to a cattery for the first time. Unfortunately this is our only option to ensure she gets her insulin.

The cattery won't be testing her before giving shots. We have been on 1.5u for about 10 days and have been getting some nice numbers the last few days. I'm not sure what dose to ask them to give. 1.5u feels too high. 1u she is quite grumpy. 1.25 is harder to dose and a bit more vague. She is a very nervous girl and I'm worried about how she will eat with us gone. Can anyone please advise?
 
It looks like a reduction to 1 is too much but you are right that 1.25 is more difficult to draw. Did you decide on 1 unit? I see that on her spreadsheet.
 
You are getting some better numbers the last few days. I hope this will continue after you get back. Let me know how she does.
 
I would lower to 1 myself since you don’t know how Moira will react once in the cattery.
I always lowered more when I left my girls w a sitter that didn’t test.
 
@Lisa and little @Suzanne & Darcy

Thank you both for replying 🙂 we did decide to go with 1u after. Sorry for the delay in replying - went camping and my phone internet was very poor. All went okay at the cattery but she was a bit sporadic with her food intake as I suspected she would be. The cattery owner did his best looking after her and coaxing food into her, but did have to skip one dose and give a slightly reduced dose another day. It's been quite warm here over the weekend which doesn't help matters either.

Unfortunately when we got her back home last night she was acting quite off. When I tested her for PMPS her ketones were pretty high - higher than they've ever been at 1.8/1.5. It was quite a struggle to get her to eat but finally managed it an hour after shot time with some new food mixed in with cheese. Was nearly about to take her to the emergency vet but did a midcycle before bed and saw that ketones were 0.6 so decided to reassess this morning. they were slightly lower at 1.3 and thankfully she does seem more like her usual self so will continue to monitor that carefully at home.

Thankfully my partner and I have no further trips planned at present so she doesn't have to endure a cattery again. Think we will have to go back to the drawing board the next time we go away.

In terms of her dosing, do you think we should just go back to her normal 1.5u straight away? I just held 1u last night and this morning as she was being iffy with her food. She is eating with a bit more vigour now though so don't want to hold an insufficient dose, especially with the ketones
 
Last edited:
As long as you can monitor her cycle, I would go right back up to her previous dose because she’s too high and is now producing ketones. You can manage her BG with food and carbs if she should drop below 50, but I don’t anticipate that happening anyway.
 
As long as you can monitor her cycle, I would go right back up to her previous dose because she’s too high and is now producing ketones. You can manage her BG with food and carbs if she should drop below 50, but I don’t anticipate that happening anyway.
Thanks Suzanne. I'll do that this evening providing she eats her meal as she should 🙂
 
I hope she will be feeling a lot more happy and calm today and this evening! That cattery really threw her off (it sounds like they really tried though.)
 
I hope she will be feeling a lot more happy and calm today and this evening! That cattery really threw her off (it sounds like they really tried though.)
Oh absolutely. I've never used a cattery before but the owners were really really lovely people. Moira is just such a shy timid little thing. Her fear overrides everything unfortunately, even her will to eat which is certainly not ideal! Ketones were 0.4 at amps this morning and she's back to eating as normal so thankfully going to 1.5u seems to have been the right call
 
Oh absolutely. I've never used a cattery before but the owners were really really lovely people. Moira is just such a shy timid little thing. Her fear overrides everything unfortunately, even her will to eat which is certainly not ideal! Ketones were 0.4 at amps this morning and she's back to eating as normal so thankfully going to 1.5u seems to have been the right call
Yes. The insulin will help keep the ketones away — that and a good amount of food! :cat:
 
Hello Carys! I was just checking in on Moira and I am really happy to see some longer strings of blue there on the 1.5 unit dose. It looks like she is doing a bit of bouncing from the blue numbers but she isn’t staying high very long. I believe the red PMPS tonight of 405 is a reaction to those blues today. I see she already had come down some from there 4 hours later. She needs some more time to adjust to the lower numbers. I am looking forward to seeing even better numbers soon! After we give her a bit more time, we will see if she needs another .25 unit increase. She is making progress Is she back to being herself now?
 
Hello Carys! I was just checking in on Moira and I am really happy to see some longer strings of blue there on the 1.5 unit dose. It looks like she is doing a bit of bouncing from the blue numbers but she isn’t staying high very long. I believe the red PMPS tonight of 405 is a reaction to those blues today. I see she already had come down some from there 4 hours later. She needs some more time to adjust to the lower numbers. I am looking forward to seeing even better numbers soon! After we give her a bit more time, we will see if she needs another .25 unit increase. She is making progress Is she back to being herself now?
Hi suzanne - Moira is doing well thank you 🙂 getting back to being her normal self thankfully and acting very very normal. The red number yesterday did catch me off guard a bit - would have thought a bounce would have come the day before if anything. It was very hot and humid here last night though so that may have played a part in her numbers being higher. As soon as it gets over 30°C she really struggles in the heat (she's got a very fluffy coat on)!

This evening she's given me a nice yellow preshots so I'm assuming she will have a cycle into the blues tonight. Slightly cooler here today which helps a little bit.

My plan is just to continue with the 1.5u for the foreseeable unless she doesn't dip into blues at all. With the weather being so warm in the UK I'm reluctant to try any increases until it cools off a bit. Every time we have gone up to 1.75u in the past few months her numbers always go very strange and with 1.5u being on the line it makes it easier to keep the dosing the same.
 
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy

I was wondering if I could pick your brain. I had a blue preshots this morning for Moira just before leaving for work. I decided just to shoot 1u rather than her usual 1.5u.

The weather has cooled off a little bit in the UK and Moira has been going out for 5 hours in the middle of the day. She's been skipping her normal meals here and there. I do slightly wonder whether this dose may be a smidge too high for her - although I don't have any evidence for that.

Curious to know your thoughts?
 
Hello, Carys! I am sorry for the delay in replying. Earlier today, I saw your message, but I couldn’t get Moira’s spreadsheet to open for some reason.

Looking at her numbers, I actually think that her dose is not enough as opposed to being too low. She spends too much time in yellow numbers and her blues numbers for the most part are mid to higher blues. I would like to see some green numbers and lower blues numbers. Remember that normal cat blood glucose numbers are between about 50-120. I would love for Moira to have a chance to spend more time in that range. I don’t see on her spreadsheet where she’s dropping too low due to being outside and not getting her snacks. Can you give her a small meal prior to going outside?
 
Hello, Carys! I am sorry for the delay in replying. Earlier today, I saw your message, but I couldn’t get Moira’s spreadsheet to open for some reason.

Looking at her numbers, I actually think that her dose is not enough as opposed to being too low. She spends too much time in yellow numbers and her blues numbers for the most part are mid to higher blues. I would like to see some green numbers and lower blues numbers. Remember that normal cat blood glucose numbers are between about 50-120. I would love for Moira to have a chance to spend more time in that range. I don’t see on her spreadsheet where she’s dropping too low due to being outside and not getting her snacks. Can you give her a small meal prior to going outside?
Hi Suzanne. No worries at all 🙂 not urgent whatsoever. Thank you for your reply. Not sure why the spreadsheet wasn't working - might have been because my partner had it open on his laptop at home? Can't think why else it wouldn't be working.

She does get meals in the front half of her cycle. Normally at +2 +4 and +6. She sometimes goes wandering after the +2 meal and comes back at +6/+7. I guess my fear is with her skipping these mini meals whether she could be dipping lower when she goes out wandering.

I'm a bit reluctant about increasing the dose if I'm honest. Her numbers always go a bit strange when we've gone up to 1.75 and she has ended up having a mid-blue preshot. I'm never really sure whether that means she needs a reduction or it's just an anomaly. I'm not very confident in shooting these lower numbers (have never shot a full dose under 11).

Can I ask - if a reduction is earned if glucose goes below 5mmol, and greens end at 5.5 - is a green even something to aim for? I'm a little bit confused about this.
 
Can I ask - if a reduction is earned if glucose goes below 5mmol, and greens end at 5.5 - is a green even something to aim for? I'm a little bit confused about this.
Normal blood glucose numbers for a cat are between 50 and 120 (that’s 2.8 and 6.7.) The more time a cat spends in these “healing green” numbers, the better chance they have at healing their pancreatic beta cells which produce insulin. So greens are a goal for sure, although it depends on your goals for Moira — possible remission or just good regulation and keeping out of the mid-yellow numbers that can harm the kidneys. Either of those is a legitimate goals. Obviously, being in the normal numbers is better for their health overall, even if remission never happens.
 
The SLGS dosing method does allow for the cat to go into the upper green numbers (90-99.) That dosing protocol is more geared toward getting the cat into good regulation (nadirs 90-150.) The Modified ProZinc Method is geared toward keeping the cat in the normal BG range and possibly achieving remission.
 
Learning to shoot lower pre-shot numbers is definitely important for Moira‘s progress, but it does take time and a little bit of trial and error while you gradually learn how much to shoot at different pre-shot levels. Some cats are very smooth and don’t dive down much at all — that takes a while to achieve (those cats make it easy.) Others are a little more tricky, but it’s all done gradually while you gather data on your spreadsheet so that you keep your kitty safe.
 
Normal blood glucose numbers for a cat are between 50 and 120 (that’s 2.8 and 6.7.) The more time a cat spends in these “healing green” numbers, the better chance they have at healing their pancreatic beta cells which produce insulin. So greens are a goal for sure, although it depends on your goals for Moira — possible remission or just good regulation and keeping out of the mid-yellow numbers that can harm the kidneys. Either of those is a legitimate goals. Obviously, being in the normal numbers is better for their health overall, even if remission never happens.
Thank you Suzanne for your explanation. Obviously I would love for Moira to go into remission but I don't want to get my hopes up about such things. Regulation is our current goal and if remission ever happened that would just be a lovely bonus for us
 
Learning to shoot lower pre-shot numbers is definitely important for Moira‘s progress, but it does take time and a little bit of trial and error while you gradually learn how much to shoot at different pre-shot levels. Some cats are very smooth and don’t dive down much at all — that takes a while to achieve (those cats make it easy.) Others are a little more tricky, but it’s all done gradually while you gather data on your spreadsheet so that you keep your kitty safe.
Yes I'm beginning to see how important that is. Every time we have skipped insulin due to a lower than expected preshots I've always regretted it as she almost immediately jumps back up to normal after eating. I've been shooting 1u with those kinds of numbers recently but the next time it happens my intention is to shoot more than that as 1u does next to nothing for her
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

I noticed Moira's numbers were a bit meh so I followed your advice and increased to 1.75. I weighed Moira this morning and noticed her weight has increased a little again. We are trying to get her to lose a bit of weight currently. She's 4.3kg but ideally I would like her to get to 3.9kg. We are going to cut her food back from 4 pouches to 3.5 per day and see how that goes. I think the weight gain is probably having a detrimental effect on her numbers.

She normally gets 1 pouch at amps and pmps and 1/3 at +2, +4 and +6 (am+pm). Looking at her spreadsheet, do you think we should cut back the size of her main meal or the mini meals? I think she may be getting bit too much of a good bump from both of I'm honest. Would appreciate your input 🙂
 
I think she’s doing a teensy bit better on this dose. Moira always seems to do better initially after an increase and then settles in a bit. I think she’s doing will be ready for 2 units after 7 days on this dose…. But it needs to settle and we can see. It is still not a large dose! I feel like we are getting close.

Can you eliminate the +6 feed? Would that be enough? She probably doesn’t need it.

When I see her numbers on the SS, it takes a long time for her to go down (late nadir.) There’s nothing wrong with that, but if she were my cat, I might try skipping the +2 feeding altogether and feed small amounts at +4 and +6. I would play around with the feeding times. You could try +3 and +5 too.

Do you know how many carbs are in the Felix food that she eats?
 
Thank you Suzanne for your explanation. Obviously I would love for Moira to go into remission but I don't want to get my hopes up about such things. Regulation is our current goal and if remission ever happened that would just be a lovely bonus for us
And that is perfectly fine and a very good goal and way to think about the whole thing. She’s very lucky to have you. ❤️
 
I think she’s doing a teensy bit better on this dose. Moira always seems to do better initially after an increase and then settles in a bit. I think she’s doing will be ready for 2 units after 7 days on this dose…. But it needs to settle and we can see. It is still not a large dose! I feel like we are getting close.

Can you eliminate the +6 feed? Would that be enough? She probably doesn’t need it.

When I see her numbers on the SS, it takes a long time for her to go down (late nadir.) There’s nothing wrong with that, but if she were my cat, I might try skipping the +2 feeding altogether and feed small amounts at +4 and +6. I would play around with the feeding times. You could try +3 and +5 too.

Do you know how many carbs are in the Felix food that she eats?
So the Felix is 9.6% so just under the 10% mark. I have been tempted to try a new food recently to see if that lowers her numbers a smidge.

We did try a lower carb food in May but I felt her numbers were ever so slightly worse on it. I wasn't sure if it was the food, the hot weather or possibly the end of the bottle of prozinc that caused it though.

Her nadir always moves a bit later when we dose above 1.5u and especially when we shoot a yellow preshot. I'm not sure why exactly that is as she has been on this food for months. Doesn't happen so much at 1.5u, just doses above that.

She's often quite hungry at +2 and just sitting by her food bowl waiting for it to turn. The +4 sometimes she's waiting for it and sometimes not. She always eats it if she hears the timed feeder turning. The +6 she will often miss if she's outside wandering but will eat it when she comes back before her PMPS fast. Sounds like I need to do a couple of experiments this week!
 
Evening/afternoon @Suzanne & Darcy I hope you're doing well on this lovely Friday. I was wondering if I could get your thoughts on Moira's spreadsheet? We've been getting quite a lot of blue preshots in the mornings. I'm being a bit braver and shooting them. It does make me wonder how low she is going overnight though. I suppose the only way to find out is to set a very early alarm for some late night testing. Do you have any insight you could share with me from her spreadsheet? 🙂 Thank you
 
Greetings, Carys! I hope you are well! I like seeing those blue preshots. Well done getting the tests after you have shot the blues. That is so helpful. I think it looks like you could try to go ahead and shoot the full 1.75 dose if she’s 150 or above. You may see lower blues or higher green numbers. I doubt she is dropping too low at night, but I do also wonder how low she may be going at night. There’s no way to find out other than to set an alarm and get a test around when her usual nadir is. Maybe on a weekend? I am really pleased to see Moira’s progress! Does she seem to be feeling well?
 
Greetings, Carys! I hope you are well! I like seeing those blue preshots. Well done getting the tests after you have shot the blues. That is so helpful. I think it looks like you could try to go ahead and shoot the full 1.75 dose if she’s 150 or above. You may see lower blues or higher green numbers. I doubt she is dropping too low at night, but I do also wonder how low she may be going at night. There’s no way to find out other than to set an alarm and get a test around when her usual nadir is. Maybe on a weekend? I am really pleased to see Moira’s progress! Does she seem to be feeling well?
Thanks Suzanne for your reply. She seems happy enough in herself. When we've been getting those blue preshots she is ravenous though in the mornings which does make me suspicious of her numbers overnight. I've noticed that a couple of days she has not eaten her overnight meals. When she has dipped down fast in the past she has often refused her normal food to slow it down (but would happily eat another brand). Again, makes me somewhat suspicious of what's going on overnight.

Where I've been shooting the blues and she goes up to yellow before coming back down - I don't think she likes that very much and she seems eager for food during these times. We've had a couple of overnight sicks this week - I think on the nights where she skipped her meals. Possibly having an empty tummy made her feel a bit sicky.

Ive decided to cut back her food again given she hadn't lost any weight over the last week. Also decided to mix up her feeding times today so the gaps between then are a bit more regimented. Gonna try +4 and +8 snacks instead of front loading the cycle. We had a blue PMPS shot this evening after doing that and we've shot the 1.75 so will be setting alarms to see how she gets on 😬😬😬
 
Back
Top