Valentina
Member Since 2021
Hi Hi
My kitty is taking 1 unit of Lantus since 1 month and a half and she has improved a lot. Her peeing and drinking got better, her appetite is good, she seems overall in good health. With 1 unit her BG's are below 250 for most of the day. Yesterday I started testing her at night and saw her BG was lower, around 160 at +3. I am not attempting to get her tighlty regulated, just want to make sure her kidneys are safe. Should I increase the dose?
I am a bit skeptical because I saw that with 1 unit her numbers have been decreasing a lot after one month (she used to be always above 350) so I am hoping perhaps it could improve even more. Also, I am not always around to monitor due to work and when I am not around my parents give her insulin and watch after her, but they don't know how to home test and I feel safe knowing she's getting only 1 unit and the risk of hypo is low when I am not around.
What do you think about the dose? Also I have changed her diet to wet food with no carbs (Prolife Diabetic wet food)
Thank you
My kitty is taking 1 unit of Lantus since 1 month and a half and she has improved a lot. Her peeing and drinking got better, her appetite is good, she seems overall in good health. With 1 unit her BG's are below 250 for most of the day. Yesterday I started testing her at night and saw her BG was lower, around 160 at +3. I am not attempting to get her tighlty regulated, just want to make sure her kidneys are safe. Should I increase the dose?
I am a bit skeptical because I saw that with 1 unit her numbers have been decreasing a lot after one month (she used to be always above 350) so I am hoping perhaps it could improve even more. Also, I am not always around to monitor due to work and when I am not around my parents give her insulin and watch after her, but they don't know how to home test and I feel safe knowing she's getting only 1 unit and the risk of hypo is low when I am not around.
What do you think about the dose? Also I have changed her diet to wet food with no carbs (Prolife Diabetic wet food)
Thank you