Henry 2/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
Haven't updated in a few days; have been helping my grandma clean out some things at her house.
SS is up to date.
Henry has been in the 300's for AMPS except for prior 3 days hes been in the 400's AMPS, 200's for mid cycles and mostly 300's for PMPS and I noted he did not eat a "late night/early morning snack" at around 4 am, hes feeling ok, just comfy snuggled up under the covers and didn't want to get up. He ate his early am snack and he was back in 300's for AMPS.
Went for vet apt., he has a few allergic type bumps still above his right eye area, still applying anti-bac ointment, discussed changing insulins, she will write rx if I want, after reviewing his log/ss, she thinks if we change up his doses trying going up or down, the PZ will work. She said he gets drop from the PZ, just not as much as we like and the AMPS runs higher. She looked at flat cycles and days when +6 went up a bit higher than +4 and sometimes long duration and thinks maybe I should try reducing just a little bit the particularly the daytime dose and see what happens. So I'm still undecided what to do about the insulin. I really don't want to change if I can get the PZ to work.
His BG there was 200.

2/1
AMPS 386
 
Sounds like you have a great vet. I am impressed that she looked at the log and SS and offered suggestions for getting the PZ to work.

Good Luck!

Come on Big Hen!
 
I do think it is time to try something. Hate seeing those red ps numbers. I guess I would try down first. It's true that his best numbers were in the 2 unit range. That was a while ago though and I am never sure how far back you can draw any conclusions from history. Guess you could try one way for a few cycles and if you don't see improvement, go the other.

It must be frustrating and discouraging for you, Angela. You have tried so many different things with Henry. He is difficult, no question. You are a wonderful mom to him. :YMHUG:
 
Angela,
I understand your comment about sticking with ProZinc if there's any chance it will work! I too have thought about switching, but haven't.
Good that you have a vet willing to explore options.
 
I'm with Sue, try lowering first, that way you will know for sure safely.

Nice that your vet is willing to work with you, that has to make things easier for you.
 
I agree, might try a lower dose for a bit to see if it changes anything. Prob should test for ketones too if you are gonna do that, you prob already do but I had to say it.

It’s nice to know that if you want to switch insulins your vet will support you on that. I know my vet says he reserves Lantus for difficult cases where the PZ just doesn’t seem to get the results he wants.

And you could do like we did, threaten to switch insulins twice, and then Big Hen might decide to come around with some better numbers for you ;-)

All the best to you Angela, you are the most patient momma out there! \M/
 
Hi Angela,
Henry gave you a nice number considering you were at the vet!
I am happy that you have a nice vet who will discuss different options with you!
Whatever you decide we are all here for you!
Hang in there
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top