Help with tonights dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Help please with BGs

mdmelvin1128 said:
I don't have Lantus, all I have is the Humulin, and Vetsulin. I just need to get him through the weekend, and I will talk with my normal vet on Monday, or find a new vet on Monday to give me something better for him.

Let's see how he does throughout the rest of the day. If he stays up or even starts to drift down a tiny bit later in the day, we can consider him ok for a shot tonight. Please post your number first though :) I recommend very low, just enough to maintain throughout the weekend. I'd like to see what others think but I'm thinking 1/2u Vetsulin. Don't forget to return the R to the vet and get your money back, that stuff isn't cheap.

I'd also like to recommend not using that veterinarian again, unless you want to just get them to write you a script for Lantus or Levemir. You want the pens, not the vials, and you will use u100 syringes with half-unit markings, not the needle tips that are sold for the pens.

You've done a super job, I'm very proud of everything you've had to learn and accomplish, he's a lucky kitty :)
 
Re: Help please with BGs

I have U40 syringes...the R is U100. I mentioned to the vet tech that they didn't match and she said it was fine. I'm starting to think these people are nuts lol. So tonight after he eats, I will use the Vetsulin correct? I hope someone is on to help me with dosage and such. Yesterday they had mentioned trying a different insulin on him, not sure which one though. She said it was a cat insulin. Also is the food that I have been feeding him ok? http://www.bynaturepetfoods.com/productpages/ I'm feeding completely wet. They keep stressing the Purina DM, but he doesn't like it, and I personally don't see what is so special about it.
 
Re: Help please with BGs

i've asked someone to figure out exactly how much R you gave this morning since the insulin type and syringe type don't match. i'm kinda curious as to whether you gave more or less than we realize. :)

but as far as tonight, i'm west coast so you should be 2 hours ahead of me. if you are planning on testing & possibly shooting tonight, i will make a point to be here around 9pm your time, as i'm sure others will too.
 
Re: Help please with BGs

Hi there

I'm not familiar with this brand of food, are u feeding the 95% variety?
I notice a few companies jumping on the 95% bandwagon (a la EVO) ...maybe someone else may of heard of it to offer feedback.

But hey - if it's wet food - you're on your way - just need to find out if it's a good low carb brand...the labels and website won't give ya that info,
a lot of us contact these companies directly - Janet & Binky's Food Chart has info on how to approach the companies for the right info.
Here is the link to Janet's site:

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
 
Re: Help please with BGs

mdmelvin1128 said:
I have U40 syringes...the R is U100. I mentioned to the vet tech that they didn't match and she said it was fine. I'm starting to think these people are nuts lol. So tonight after he eats, I will use the Vetsulin correct? I hope someone is on to help me with dosage and such. Yesterday they had mentioned trying a different insulin on him, not sure which one though. She said it was a cat insulin. Also is the food that I have been feeding him ok? http://www.bynaturepetfoods.com/productpages/ I'm feeding completely wet. They keep stressing the Purina DM, but he doesn't like it, and I personally don't see what is so special about it.


Initially I was laughing but then I realized you actually used MORE insulin not LESS insulin. Gosh I have a lump in my throat. These people do not need to be either practicing - vet or tech. You gave your cat 2.5u R if my math is correct.

And the food you have chosen is excellent. :)
 
Re: Help please with BGs

okay mandy, just need to get through rest of weekend, with the goal of just keeping kitty safe with what insulins you have on hand. can be done, just going to shoot very little doses (under 1 unit). vetsulin is safer than R to get through rest of weekend.
then on monday either your vet writes you a script for lantus and you get a new vet or your vet won't write the script and you get a new vet, cause either way you do need a new vet to be your partner with this, your current vet is so far off base that i can't see a useful relationship there for the management of your cat's diabetes. as you can see by the number of people that jumped on this thread, a vet having a their feline client use R as a basal insulin is just not right and quite dangerous, and as you yourself saw last night one can get into serious trouble quickly with it.

if you have a few minutes filling out your profile with some history, like how old is your cat, when was diagnosed with DM, what he eats (i know you said By Nature Organics canned, but is there any dry food in house?), is there a history of DKA, any other health issues, and anything else you can think of that will help us get to know your cat. k?

ETA: slow typist that i am, see new posts have been made about syringes. yes use the U-40 syringes with the vetsulin tonight. post your pre-shot BG number before shooting and we'll help ya decide if something like 0.5 units of vetsulin is cool to give.
 
Re: Help please with BGs

wait you gave 2 units of R last night with your - 40 syringes right? that means you gave 5 units of R. grrrr...!!
you were very lucky that your cat only went to 24.
please let that tech know that i guess she slept through dose conversions in tech school?
here is a chart of what the - 40 to U-100 conversions are, you have to read it 'backwards' since you were told to use a U-100 insulin with a U-40 syringe. but maybe print it out and leave it at that vet clinic when you (hopefully) pick up the lantus script, since no one there seems to know the concept (vet sure should have made sure you had correct syringes too).
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
 
Re: Help please with BGs

Ok, profile updated. I'm so glad I found this site. I asked specifically about the difference in the insulin and syringes and was told it was fine. I'm really mad that these people are running this place the way they are. They originally didn't want me to test him either. They have charged me a fortune, and treat me like I'm stupid when I question something that they tell me. So, Lantus is the best to get? Can anyone give me a ballpark price for that?
 
Re: Help please with BGs

Well expensive lesson learned - I'm so sorry, Mandy. I am, however, even MORE glad you found this place now that I see how much they actually had you shoot :shock:

Oh yes, Vetsulin for the weekend is a godsend here.

Price of Lantus is, I believe, a little lower than the Levemir that I use. I pay about $185 - $190 for the pack of five pens. I am not sure how long the Lantus cartridges will last but I think it's generally at least a month per cartridge.

You'll want to check around on the prices at different pharmacies because sometimes some like Walmart and Costco are considerably less expensive than others.
 
Re: Help please with BGs

lantus or levemir they both are great, but lantus is far more common so have a better chance your vet will write you a script for that, all you want from this place is the script so we can get your cat on a real insulin asap, then you have some breathing room to look around for a new vet. just insane that you asked about the conversion and vet and tech did not give you right answer at that place.

prices vary but it is not inexpensive, however if you get the lantus pens (there is five 3ml pens in a box) you can get many months of use. also please remember vet has to write you a script for a box of 3/10cc insulin syringes, you want the ones with 1/2 unit markings. you do NOT use the needles that normally come with cartridges or pens like humans do, you are going to use each pen like a mini vial. go to lantus ISG and there are pictures of this and handling instructions for lantus.
 
Re: Help please with BGs

that's what i thought about the amount of R given too what with the wrong syringes being used but couldn't say with certainty that i was right on that one, that's why i wanted someone to look at this and confirm it for me. thanks ladies.

ay yai yai!
 
Re: Help please with BGs

jojo and bunny said:
lantus or levemir they both are great, but lantus is far more common so have a better chance your vet will write you a script for that, all you want from this place is the script so we can get your cat on a real insulin asap, then you have some breathing room to look around for a new vet. just insane that you asked about the conversion and vet and tech did not give you right answer at that place.

prices vary but it is not inexpensive, however if you get the lantus pens (there is five 3ml pens in a box) you can get many months of use. also please remember vet has to write you a script for a box of 3/10cc insulin syringes, you want the ones with 1/2 unit markings. you do NOT use the needles that normally come with cartridges or pens like humans do, you are going to use each pen like a mini vial. go to lantus ISG and there are pictures of this and handling instructions for lantus.

Mandy, in Texas we do not need an Rx for syringes. Any pharmacy will hand them over. I order mine from Hocks.com (see the link above).
 
Re: Help please with BGs

Yeah, I might not be able to swing the Lantus right now. $800 out to the vet, and I'm wondering how I'm going to pay the mortgage and electric bill. Do you think there is any way that we could get him regulated on the Vetsulin at least for right now? Or if not the Vetsulin, at least something less expensive. Do I need to test him before or after he eats tonight?
 
Re: Help please with BGs

Vetsulin is similar in action to N or Humulin NPH.

If you go to the Insulin Support Group for N, there is an excellent informational "sticky post" called The N Primer.
 
Re: Help please with BGs

After eating tonight, his BG is 575, so he definitely needs something, now how much?
 
Re: Help please with BGs

when did u want to shoot Mandy?

and u want to use vetsulin right?

Could u EDIT ur first post SUBJECT line to say HELP WITH TONIGHT'S DOSE something like that - I'm trying to get u some assistance.
 
if you'll have the ability to do a blood test in 4 hours, then you could try a full unit. If not, I'd start with a half-unit and then move up to a full unit only when you do have that ability. Start low, raise slow, monitor carefully at first.

Also try as soon as you reasonably can (a day or two) to figure out how soon the Vetsulin 'peaks' and when it's mostly worn off (duration), so you can plan a schedule. Lots more good advice from people more experienced with this insulin is coming up...
 
I'm planning to do a curve tomorrow, if someone can give me a good testing schedule to go by.
 
super high PS number there, but being that this is such a new diabetic cat and hasn't been on a reasonable dose yet, and so much of that number is probably rebound which we don't know when will break how about just making tonight easy and giving 0.5 units (1/2 unit) of vetsulin tonight and just getting one spot check before bed? make it an easy night, last night was a rough one and an easy night would be good.

tomorrow is kinda early to do a whole curve. usually ya want to give a dose some time to settle in before you get a good accurate curve. just some spot checks tomorrow is fine.
 
hi there, told ya i'd be here :smile:

looks like you've gotten good advice and i agree with what has been said. 1/2 unit tonight and then as far as tomorrow morning, barring him being too low for a shot, most likely 1/2 unit then too.

you're liable to see some of these high numbers for the first couple days just because his body has to figure stuff out. the most important thing to remember during this dance is to not overreact to each number. that can set you up for a horrible ride.
 
Hi Mandy, and boy did you just have one heck of a day! you handled it great and you had lots of wonderful people helping you out here.

I wanted to drop in and say hello and welcome you to the board. I see that you will be using the vetsulin, at least for a while. If cost is going to be a factor for lantus, maybe someone who lives a little closer to you would be able to sell you one cart of lantus initially. Just a thought. Oh, I also wanted to tell you that am feeding Spot the By Nature brand food also. I started this a few weeks ago and he really really likes it. Not sure how many carbs are in it, but I figured that since his numbers are still doing pretty good, it can't be all that bad.

Good luck tonight..hope it's an easy one for you.
 
fwiw, i just saw that leslie and maverick has some lantus for sale in the Supply Closet part of the board (that's where we post supplies we have to sale or donate or coupon codes, free offers, etc.....)
 
I'm selling the Lantus

It was my dad's, before he passed away.

I have 10 pens and I'm selling each one for $20 - shipping is included. The expiration date is 5/11.

If you want any or all of them, I can get them in the mail Monday or Tuesday afternoon. They would be overnighted because they have to stay cool.

Don't feel like you're obligated to buy from me, it's just a suggestion.

Lots of luck with your little furball.
 
Re: I'm selling the Lantus

Leslie said:
It was my dad's, before he passed away.

I have 10 pens and I'm selling each one for $20 - shipping is included. The expiration date is 5/11.

If you want any or all of them, I can get them in the mail Monday or Tuesday afternoon. They would be overnighted because they have to stay cool.

Don't feel like you're obligated to buy from me, it's just a suggestion.

Lots of luck with your little furball.

I was just hoping someone would say something like this. You'll do very well to take this deal, and Lantus kept in the fridge and shot at a unit 2x a day can easily last 5 months... After that you can ask your vet for a script if it's working well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top