Help with stabilising blood sugars - frequent hypos and hyperglycaemia

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by IduraH, Feb 29, 2024.

  1. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Dear Everyone,

    I've been asked to make another thread as the last one was getting quite long.
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...quent-hypos-with-prozinc.286951/#post-3156669

    Tiger's sugars continues to fluctuate up and down, it seems that particularly with her PM dose, she is not responding very much to the dose at all with nadirs between 400-499. However, she also tends to get hypoglycaemia in the day with the same doses.

    She started last week being on 1.5 unit AM and 1 unit PM, we switched this to 0.75 units BD after the kind advice by @Suzanne & Darcy ; however, she still had a hypo on the 0.75 unit dose. This was then adjusted to 0.5, but she then had persistent hyperglycaemia. I've been quite worried about another DKA, so she's currently back on 0.75 units BD and hasn't had another hypo since Monday. But her PM nadirs are quite high still.

    Can you please advice what I should do?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Suzanne & Darcy
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I really don't see a hypo on the 0.75 units Are you talking about the 2 green BG numbers on 2-26-24?
     
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hello! So good to hear from you. I have to admit that I was really getting quiet worried about Tiger. I am very relieved to hear from you! Let me look at what data you have from the last few days.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    If you have decided to stay with the .75 unit dose then you need to hold that dose longer. Please do not increase the dose. See how she bounces anytime she gets into better numbers? You won’t be able to stop this by increasing the insulin. In fact, it could just make things worse and will also put her in danger of a real hypo of numbers significantly below 50 (on the Libre.) We really can’t rush the process too much. Tiger has been diabetic for a while now and it’s going to take patience and persistence and careful following of the dosing protocol to get her into better numbers— but it can be done. I know this doesn’t seem believable. I am sure you think that I don’t know what I am talking about and don’t understand your Tiger. The dosing protocols are based on good research.

    Did you get a ketone meter? If Tiger isn’t producing ketones we don’t have to be afraid of DKA.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Believe me Suzanne knows what she's talking about :cat:
    @IduraH
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2024
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    There was a time when the Libre caught a hypo when the sitter was there taking care of Tiger. Those numbers should really be put into the spreadsheet for information.

    Also we still need to differentiate between Libre numbers and Alpha Track numbers, Idura. On an Alpha Track a number below 68 is the take action number and on the Libre a number below 50 is the take action number. So of we are looking at the numbers and talking about potential hypoglycemia, it’s important to know. Those two greens in the 50s are perfectly okay numbers, although they definitely require further attention and testing since we don’t know if Tiger can surf in green on his own yet or just with a little low carb food.
     
    IduraH and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  8. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Hi @Suzanne & Darcy , thank you for your advice. I do believe you and I do trust you. I'm sorry if it doesn't come across that way. I've gotten into fights with my partner about reducing the dose, but have persisted with reducing it (even if sometimes he does win, and I have to put it back up again). I'll persist on this dose for now.

    There's a lot of worry about another DKA; I've bought the ketone meter but struggling to use it. I've just spent the last 30 minutes trying it, but to no success. I'll give tiger a break and try again with it in the morning.

    Just for my own knowledge, why do you think tigers sugars are higher in the PM, but she seems to respond better to the insulin during the day? is the PM high BMs a reaction to the close to normal daytime sugars?
     
  9. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and IduraH like this.
  10. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    ooh, thank you for the explanation. I understand now, Her sugars are usually quite good in the AM/daytime, so she's bouncing in the PM. That makes sense
     
  11. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    And sometimes longer.
     
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Fortunately, Tiger seems to clear the bounces fairly quickly and get back to business and yes it’s usually in the daytime. Maybe that’s good though- for now- as you can sleep.
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    She has proven to us (on Monday’s Libre graph) that she can hypo on .75 units. So please watch her closely.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Are you having trouble getting enough blood for the ketone meter? It may require a little more than you are used to. If you get some blood you can kind of use your fingers to “milk” the ear a little bit by pressing the ear slightly to push a little more blood out. Hard to explain.
     
  15. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    I am having a lot of trouble with this; I thought I managed to get enough blood at one point - but it turned out I just poked myself.

    I'm going to buy her some low-carb food and start trying it out from next Wednesday; I've managed to arrange for a cat sitter to stay with her whilst I go to work. I'll update the excel sheet for today after her PM shot, but no hypos so far which is good.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. The low carb food should help her as long as you make the transition slowly and have someone to be with her to make sure she doesn’t drop too low. Can’t wait to see her numbers for today. I check in on her a lot :)
     
    IduraH likes this.
  17. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Thank you Suzanne for your help. It's been quite stressful with tiger having diabetes and living in the city alone, I've been struggling with quite bad anxiety over this, and constantly worry about coming home to her unconscious etc. I feel a lot more reassured and a lot less anxious now. We appreciate your support more than you know.

    I've updated some of her numbers today :bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh Hooray! I am so excited! Look at those blues!!!! Seriously! Blues! I almost feel like crying. She really is making progress. :joyful::joyful::joyful:
    Ignore the forthcoming bounce. It will pass — and she will have more good numbers and more chance to get used to the lower healthier numbers (and hopefully that will mean less bouncing.). She is doing better and will continue to improve. I needed this today! Thank you for updating her spreadsheet.
     
    IduraH and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  19. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Good Morning,

    @Suzanne & Darcy , you were spot on with the bounce. She bounced quite hard last night, and even vomited once. She is still eating and drinking, and playing okay and is otherwise herself.

    Her levels this moring 3 hours post 0.75 is 27.5 on alphatrak and the ketone on the meter was 0.6.

    What do you advice we do ?
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hello. Love that photograph of Tiger! :) She's still in that bounce. Keep holding the .75 units. Hopefully, she will clear that bounce soon and we will start to see some better numbers (and judge by her nadir when she's not bouncing whether she needs an increase of .25 units or not.) Congratulations on getting a reading on the ketone meter. Ketones can fluctuate throughout the day. If, as you say, she's eating, drinking and playing and is acting like herself then I would not worry about DKA. My cat produced a lot of ketones (way higher than .6) for a long time and then they started to go down. If he ever went off of his food, I would have him back to the vet to have his white count checked (usually it was elevated and we put him on antibiotics.) Fluids/hydration are very beneficial so I would add some water to her food if she will tolerate it.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  21. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    I've given her the PM dose with her first low carb meal (MjAMjAM from the list on the UK thread). It might have possibly been a fur shot though, feeling a tad bit anxious about that. But I shall see what happens tonight. No further vomitting or incontinent episodes. The vet today has also suggested a referral to an internal medicine specialist for tiger - so progress on that front.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  22. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Does she have other diseases that would warrant an IM veterinarian’s consultation?
     
  23. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Not that I know of, she has arthritis but is on solensia for that. I think the vet is just really struggling with Tiger's diabetes control.

    Re the switch to the low carb food, my plan is as follow:
    1. Saturday - Tuesday - PM meal to be replaced with low carb food (she will be home alone for most of the day time for Monday and Tuesday)
    2. From Wednesday - both AM and PM meals to be replaced with low carb food, she continues to get dry Hill's metabolic for lunch (The cat sitter has agreed to stay her during these days whilst I go to work)
     
  24. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And you are going back to work on Wednesday?
     
  25. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    I'm back at work on Monday, so I'm hesitant to do the full food switch any sooner than that. The cat sitter is away until Wednesday so can't help any sooner than that.

    The vet also suggested today that she needs an increase in her insulin dose after looking at the graph, we have a further phone call on Monday to discuss this. I'm not comfortable with any further increase at the moment in view of the fact she's home alone for most of the day, and tends to hypo during the day time.
     
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I definitely would not recommend an increase yet. She’s bouncing a lot and the vet is probably looking at those numbers. But the only way to keep her safe from hypo is to know the nadirs for each dose. We need a few more days or cycles to determine nadirs.
     
    IduraH and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  27. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Morning @Suzanne & Darcy

    Tiger had a low glucose episode this morning, and it went as low as 3.1 on the freestyle libre.

    I don't think she ate very much of the new food, which might be why this happened
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2024
  28. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    It's going now, and is 7.1 about 20 minutes post food. Can I check quickly, if it goes above 12 in the next hour, can I still give her the insulin?
     
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It could actually be the new, low carb food, which has a tremendous impact on reducing blood glucose - and yes, if she doesn’t eat at all that’s pretty low carb, right?
     
  30. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Sorry, this was at 3:44 a.m. my local time. I was asleep. I want to take a look at her spreadsheet carefully.
     
  31. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    ooh, no worries. I've decided to omit the morning dose, because it's still below 14 as of now.

    I'm just a bit worried about tomorrow because she'll be at least home on Monday and Tuesday from 8am-6.30pm at least.

    Might just give her 0.5 tomorrow morning (if her AM PS is okay)
     
  32. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And your vet wanted you to increase the insulin dose! I am so glad that you have the Libre to alert you.

    We can’t give shots based on BG readings after food and honey are given, because her numbers are artificially raised by the food and honey. This is why, by the way, we have the “no food for two hours prior to each insulin shot” rule.

    She has earned another reduction with the low BG. Even on your Alpha Trak she had a 67 (slightly below the take action number.). Her new dose going forward will be .5 units. It’s definitely possible that, with the low carb food, she will need even less insulin (i.e., earn another reduction.) This is why we stress to make the switch to low carb food very gradually.

    You may want to mix a little in with her old food? I don’t know if she will like it though. You could try giving her small amounts of it first and see if she will eat a little, then give her some of her other food. You will work something out, I am sure.

    Having said all that, she’s going to bounce hard from that low, but ignore those high numbers and stick with the plan of reducing her dose to .5. She will definitely come back down after clearing the bounce (you see that now as we are are learning her patterns.)
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and IduraH like this.
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So you are saying she will be home alone for all of those hours on Monday and Tuesday? I would at least leave her regular food out for her to eat. Even with the reduced dose, if you combine it with the low carb food, she could drop too low.
    And yes, as explained above, her new dose going forward is now .5 unit. So that is exactly correct. I still am worried about her being alone. Do you have an automated feeder to dispense food?
     
    IduraH likes this.
  34. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Hi there,

    Yes, I do have an automatic feeder. It gives her 10g of kibbles (Hill's metabolic dry food) at about 2pm which is when she tends to hypo.

    I'll continue with 0.5 from tonight.

    She's had two episodes of low sugars on 0.75 unit BD - the first being last Monday, and the second being today. I'm worried that today's one was an anomaly secondary to her not eating much of her wet food. But we shall see how she gets on with the dose and can always increase if needed. I'll keep monitoring her for signs of DKA in the interim.
     
  35. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I know it’s hard to ignore the high BG numbers, but she will come back down (I mean the numbers she is going to have in the upcoming bounce.). So to some extent, you will also have to ignore the effects of the dry food as well, which will also raise her numbers. This should be a slow and careful process as the food transition is made.
    And you definitely have the right attitude. We keep her safe first and foremost and you can always increase the dose back up if the numbers warrant. Some cats take a little while to settle into a new dose, and Tiger also has a lot going on right now — a skipped shot, a food transition, and a forthcoming bounce. It is really easy for me to say “be patient” and a lot harder for you to be patient when you see the high numbers and also how unwell she feels when she is in the blacks. Thank goodness you didn’t increase as the vet advised. That vet is probably going to give you a hard time when you speak again on Monday as I believe you said you were going to do. But you are on the right track now with Tiger.

    can you check her ketones now when she’s in blue numbers?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2024
    Diane Tyler's Mom and IduraH like this.
  36. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Her ketones are 0.5
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  37. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Hi there! I've been quietly following and see that Suzanne has been giving you rock solid guidance (as always!)

    I'm chiming in as second to everything Suzanne has said - please feel confident with your decisions when talking to the vet and know that you're doing all the right things to keep Tiger safe.

    Cats tend to bounce harder when the drop from preshot to nadir is more than 50%. I calculated one of your drops at 87% - it's no wonder you're seeing massive bouncing.

    Tiger's body is in charge. If she's gonna bounce, she's gonna bounce. Truly, it'll take time for her body to become accustomed to lower, safe numbers.

    And, you're absolutely right - It's the lows that you've been seeing that are more concerning. More insulin won't stop the high numbers bouncing that your vet seems to only see. More insulin could actually make it worse.
     
  38. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Thank you everyone for the helpful advice, I will try my best with the vet tomorrow and report back what the decided outcome is

    Tiger is having the expected bounce right now, knowing why it's happening definitely makes me feel more at ease - I only wish that I have some antiemetic I can give her to help cause it breaks my heart when she's nauseous.

    She is otherwise eating and drinking, and playing with her toys still.
     
  39. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Poor baby. That must be hard to see. Does she vomit always when she is in the black? Is it liquid or food? I do not know if Cerenia (Maropitant) would help in this situation. It’s quite effective at controlling vomiting in cats. Here you must have a prescription for it.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  40. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Now since you have to go back to work tomorrow, I would like to talk about feeding schedules again. Going back to what Shelly was mentioning about the rate of drop causing more severe bounces: I know you said you have a feeder to dispense some of the dry food at 2 p.m. which is when she typically has low numbers — and that is fine, but what we really want to do is to to support her with food earlier in the cycle. We do what we call feeding the curve. I like to see our diabetic cats get a snack at about +2 when the ProZinc kicks in (onsets) and another snack at +4. Feeding multiple small snacks (a spoonful or two) of even low carb wet food can really stabilize BG and helps to prevent steep drops in BG that then just set the cat up for a bounce. I hesitate to mention this now as I have already thrown a lot at you already and I know that some of these suggestions can be really disruptive to your existing routine. I don’t know if your auto feeder can dispense more than one snack, but since I am worried about you not being at home for the next two days… I brought it up. On Wednesday you will have a sitter and that person could give a snack at +2 and +4 for you. I’m not saying it will eliminate bouncing overnight, but it can help stabilize the whole cycle and can prevent bounces in many instances.
     
    IduraH and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  41. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    How did she do overnight. It’s 5:30 a.m. here and I am just checking on Tiger :)
     
    IduraH likes this.
  42. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Good evening Suzanne,

    Thank you for being so diligent in checking on Tiger. Apologies for the late reply, I've been at work all day and didn't get a notification you've replied. She was okay overnight but was >20 the whole time, no vomiting that I know of though.

    She does tend to get nauseous on higher sugars, but just liquid and no food.

    Re Snacks, I can probably do that, what do you recommend for snacks? Her usual dry food is quite high in carbs, and the feeder can only give it in 10g portions.

    She's having hiccups now and looks a bit nauseous. Ketones is 0.6 and BM is unrecordably high on Libre but 25.1 on alpha trak.

    The vet postponed our conversation to 9am tomorrow, so I'll ask re oral anti-emetics then.
     
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m wondering what her BG was before +7 today. I wonder if it was lower or at least some lower yellows. The sitter who begins coming on Wednesday will be able to scan the Libre? And give the spoons of food at +2 and +4? What we call snacks or mini meals usually consist of a spoonful or two of low carb wet food.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  44. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Hi Suzanne,

    I just got home and managed to scan her again, and will update the sheet ASAP.

    It's looking like her nadir for the past three cycles have been consistently 15mmol/l - it hasn't really gone below that.

    Spoke to the vet today, and she will be referred.

    He wants to do a fructosamine for her, but it sounds like he's quite keen on increasing the levels. He's of the opinion that the hypos are anomaly episodes and should be use to guide treatment. He'll use the fructosamine to guide his decision re increase/decrease. I did explain however that I work and she's home alone quite a bit, even if they are anomalies, they can be deadly if they happen as I cannot intervene

    He also mentioned that he wonders if we might be overmonitoring slightly with the free style libre and as such too quick to change her doses etc.

    I'll take her in for a blood test this weekend hopefully.
     
  45. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Today, she could have been lower than the yellow that you caught before you got home. We can’t know. Will she have a cat sitter with her tomorrow while you’re away?

    I think you already understand that hypos can be fatal quickly and that hyperglycemia is dangerous but much more slowly than a hypoglycemic event. You have said so to the vet. I feel like you are a very intelligent advocate for Tiger. I doubt if your vet has managed the daily care of a diabetic cat - every day, day in day out - over time. That’s not an insult really, it’s just not what vets have been educated in and not what they deal with every day. In veterinary school, they receive very few hours of instruction in diabetes care and that is mostly for dogs — which doesn’t translate to cats.
     
  46. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Good Morning Suzanne,

    Apologies for not updating the spreadsheet yet, had a long day at work yesterday and fell asleep. I'll make this a priority today

    Re your query re whether there could have been a lower value before I got home, the freestyle libre stores data for 8 hours-ish. As such, when I come home, I still get the data for the preceding 8 hours.

    This does mean there is an hour or two lost, but she's usually unrecordably high when I leave, and it is unlikely that there is any lower values in the 2 hour of missing data.

    The cat sitter is with her today, and we're making some further changes:
    1. Insulin given 30 minutes before meal (vet advice to do this)
    2. She will now also have low carb meal for AM and PM meal (before today, it was just PM)
    3. the cat sitter will give her a snack at +2 hours and +4 hours.

    I shall update you later in the day how she gets on with the changes today, hopefully less bounces. Thank you for your help as always
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  47. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thanks. I will check in on her spreadsheet later or when you get a chance to update it. I will not be around for most of today as I will be driving a long way to take one of my cats to a specialist. I will still have a little down time to check in on her at some point. I hope you are having a good work day. I’m pleased there is a sitter with her today :) can she scan the Libre also?
     
  48. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    ooh, drive safely today and I hope your cat is okay.

    I've updated it now, also, I've just realised that you can use the freestyle to generate a more thorough report with clear numbers. Please click here for the link . I don’t usually update with the app when I give her insulin and when I give her food, so the data on that is not as comprehensive...

    Yes, the cat sitter can scan the freestyle, and is giving me regular updates
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  49. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That report is really interesting. I don’t see how you would need to bother with the Fructosamine test (unless you’re just trying to placate the vet) because your Libre gives you such detailed information. The Fructosamine will give average BG for the last 2-3 weeks.

    As to delaying feeding her for 30 minutes after the shot, I don’t see the logic behind that. ProZinc onset is about 2 hours in most cats. Her BG will rise in between the preshot test and the insulin shot 30 minutes later. If you tested her again 30 minutes after the first test and meal you would most likely see that her BG is higher. But the ProZinc doesn’t really get to work the minute it’s injected— as I said, it’s about two hours for the average cat (some a little less/some a little more.)

    Anyway, I look forward to seeing her numbers for today.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  50. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    @Suzanne & Darcy , I've made a mistake again.

    Her sugars have been high and the vet and everyone was telling that she needs an increase and that the hypo was probably an anomaly.
    So I gave her 0.75 and she's below 4 again now :( But thankfully 5.4 on alpha trak.

    I wish there's a needle that'll let me give her 0.6 or something.

    Also, just got confirmation that she has an appointment with the London Royal Veterinary College next Thursday.
     
  51. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    She's had some lickalix now and some hills metabolic wet food, it went up slightly and 20 minutes post that, it has ?gone down instead to 3.3 on alpha trak and 4.6 on alpha trak.
     
  52. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    I've just given her one more sachet of lickalix
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  53. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well, we all learn from our mistakes. Even I was looking over her spreadsheet last night and getting impatient and thinking…. Well maybe we need to move back up to .75 …. but I knew it was too soon and we needed to hold on and wait longer at .5 and let her clear the bounce.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  54. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Now she's going to have another bounce and start feeling awful and nauseous again :( She's so insulin sensitive, do you know if there's any needles with that's more precise than the one with half units?
     
  55. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hopefully you got her up to stay? The BG dropping back down after some carbs does happen a lot as the carbs wear off. That’s why we have the hypo management strategy to test every 20-30 minutes until the BG begins to rise on its own and then you can extend the time between tests. Also there’s the “don’t stop testing for two hours after high carb food is given” rule because in some cases (depending upon where you are in the cycle) the BG can drop again. In Tiger’s case, I am sure that this low BG episode (and depending on how steep the drop was) has set off another frustrating bounce.
     
  56. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    it's at 9 now. I'm bracing myself for the bounce :( :( My poor bb
     
  57. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Ar
    I know. we were both writing about the bounce at the same time.
     
  58. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    @Suzanne & Darcy , though frustrating, a part of me is also glad this happened whilst I'm home and now I have objective evidence to say to the vet that 0.75 is definitely too high for her and is not an anomalous event. It's happened consistently now for at least 3-4 times.
     
  59. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  60. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I agree. Surely the vet will understand that. And what if it happened when you were not at home (or no sitter?)
     
    IduraH likes this.
  61. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    How many carbs are in the Lick E Lix? Those seem very popular with cats, but I don’t know if they are low, medium or high carb.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  62. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    At least for now she’s surfing in green numbers. It looks so good on her spreadsheet. It’s another chance for her body to adjust to normal numbers.

    I wonder if the RVC vets will suggest switching her to another insulin- one of the depot insulins like Lantus (glargine?)
     
    IduraH likes this.
  63. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Ooh re Lickalix, I read it on the UK thread that it's good for a hypo box as it's a high carb treat: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ther-need-to-know-stuff.137376/?_params=Array


    Ooh, thank you for the U-100 syringes conversion options, I actually bought some when I thought we were going to be on Lantus. So I've put her on 0.6 units now (1.5 units on u-100 syringes); also, even though she is bouncing, she is not unrecordably high. woot woot.
     
  64. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    When/if you switch to U100 syringes, put the U40 syringes far away ... in another room ... in another house. Yes, we have had people use the wrong syringe.

    U100 syringe caps are usually orange. U40s are usually red.
     
  65. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hi Idura. I am thinking about you and Tiger. Is all well? How is the .6 dose going? Can you update her spreadsheet so I can see? I worry if I can’t see.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  66. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Hi Suzanne, thank you for the reminder, I've updated it now. She's doing okay, it was quite high overnight, but the cat sitter was the one who gave her the PM insulin shot (so it could have been a ?fur shot) as I was on call and only back at 11.30pm. But she has better numbers today.

    ooh, also, I got a litter robot as I was unable to keep up with how much she's peeing every day. It's looking she pees between 8-11 days everyday :nailbiting: But she hasn't lost anymore weight though in the last two weeks, which I'm relieved by (as she lost 1 kg/16% of her body weight in a month) and it seems to plateau now. She does need to lose weight (she's 5kg), but I was worried at the rate of it all.
     
  67. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    She did have better nadirs today. Last night I suppose could have still been part of the bounce or maybe a fur shot. How is she taking to the litter robot? I hope she likes it.
     
  68. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And you are right about not wanting her to lose the weight too quickly! I totally agree.
     
  69. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    She does. I was worried she wouldn't take to it, but she was so eager to try it that she used it while I was still setting it up. Her episodes of incontinence (which used to happen only on my bed) have also gone down now. Tiger is quite a clean cat, and I think she was probably quite distressed at how bad I was at catching up with cleaning her litter box—so we're both happier now with the litter robot around.

    We have a two hour journey to the RVC hospital next Thursday, I've booked a cab as I can't drive, I'm quite worried about her having an accident on the way there and back because of how long it all is. I've bought some incontinence pads to use in her carrier, but do let me know if you have any other tips and tricks.
     
  70. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh that is a long trip. That can be stressful. I had to make a two hour trip with my cat, Ginger, this week. Of course we have a playpen set up in the car where she has room for a litter box and bed. I usually do put “puppy pads” in my cat’s carriers though — when they are just going to the regular vet 30 minutes away.
     
  71. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Hi @Suzanne & Darcy

    Tiger's graph is doing something weird today (link here), she's also a bit more off her food today :( and has been peeing a lot more than usual. It appears she's used the litter robot 10 times today, and it's only 9pm.

    Her ketones were 0.8, and alpha trak is 24.9 at 8.30pm today.

    She's drinking and eating (even though less), and is still playing with her toys. I am a bit worried.
     
  72. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Can that be right? That crazy up, plateau, and down pattern? Have you ever seen this pattern before? How old is the Libre? Have you gotten any manual readings from an ear prick today?
     
    IduraH likes this.
  73. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Sorry. I see you did check with the AT. I was thinking of any other readings.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  74. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    I haven't done any other reading today. But she had this same pattern the night before when I thought it was a ?fur shot, but not to this extent. I'm more concern about her being slightly off her food, but tbf, she is eating the kibble more.
     
  75. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    the libre is only about a week or so, so it still has quite some time left
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  76. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It is natural for her to drink a lot and pee a lot when she’s in these high numbers. I really hope the RVC vets will recommend Lantus for her and write you an Rx. I think we could smooth out the cycles a bit at least, because of the depot — but she may continue to be bouncy but hopefully not with such high bounces.

    I don’t like the ketones being a little higher than normal. But she’s not over 1 so I feel good about that. She probably just feels really bad in these high numbers (nauseated?). Has she vomited? The fluids are good for her and I think as long as she keeps eating periodically that’s a sign.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and IduraH like this.
  77. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Sometimes when they are in a bounce the numbers will bobble around a bit. I think she is due to break this bounce either tonight or tomorrow morning.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  78. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    She hasn't vomitted yet today, which is great, but she gives off nausous vibes when eating wet food (surprisingly, not kibbles).
     
  79. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    oooh, do you think this bounce is caused by the hypo a few days ago, or because she got in the blues yesterday?
     
  80. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Ketones can also fluctuate. So if you test again in a couple of hours they will probably be different.
     
  81. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Bouncing from the blues. When you saw the blues, that meant she had broken the bounce from the greens before. And then she started another bounce. She seems to bounce for around 4-ish cycles depending on how you count it (from the cycle when she starts to rise after low numbers or the next full cycle.)
     
  82. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And I wish she weren’t eating kibble because it’s got no moisture— but as you say she is drinking— and the most important thing is that she does eat — so if she doesn’t want the wet food it’s important that she takes in nutrients.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and IduraH like this.
  83. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Keep me posted if you can because now I’m going to worry about Tiger, too. But I do think she’s about due to come down from these high numbers.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and IduraH like this.
  84. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Will do, I'll test her with the alpha trak before bed.

    She also bled quite excessively when I used the alpha trak earlier, I'm probably just catastrophising, but she had mildly deranged liver function (ALP) on her last blood test, and this sudden excessive bleeding is really worrying me. The cat sitter will be with her tomorrow till Wednesday though, and I'm off Thursday and friday, so at least she won't be alone for much at all this week. I really hope she gets better soon because I'm running out of annual leave
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  85. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  86. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Maybe you nicked the marginal ear vein instead of just going to the outside of it?
     
    IduraH likes this.
  87. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    She's been a bit more bleedy today on both ears, tried the other ear too, usually I have to milk it but it's enough for two ketone check and also one BM check, and some was dripping onto the floor. All very odd - but maybe her ears have just learned to bleed by itself? (I heard that happen sometimes)

    Also, her current BM 4 hours post insulin is 20.2 on alpha trak and 24 on freestyle. Ketones are now 0.7 (down from 0.8) - looking at her food plate, it looks like she's had a bit more of the wet food too (she had a few spoonful with her insulin, but now it looks like she's had another 30-40% of it)

    I need to remember on Thursday to ask the RVC vet for some oral antiemetics if they have any.

    I'm off to bed now, but thank you for your help today!
     
  88. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m going with the Alpha Trak 20.2! I’m happy she ate more.
     
  89. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And it is possible that she has developed the capillary bed more with the ear pricking.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  90. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    How is Tiger this morning?
     
    IduraH likes this.
  91. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Her numbers are better today! She was even in the blue for about an hour or so today.
    Still not eating as much and looking a bit nauseous (gulping sounds, licking lips more than usual), but she only went to the toilet 6 times so far today - she used it 9 times already around this time yesterday.
     
  92. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I knew she was due to break the bounce, but I just hate that she is already in another one! Such a brief time in the lower numbers.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  93. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    ooh, do you think she's bouncing again?

    How can I stop this, it seems to be an endless cycle of getting to better values and then her numbers going up again. I'm really hoping she's not in another bounce...
     
  94. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well if she goes high and stays high for about 4 cycles or so where she doesn’t come down much (she can bobble around a little bit, but by and large she will stay high) it’s her bounce. Sometimes cats will start to clear bounces faster and that’s a good sign too.
    I’m so sorry for everything that is happening now. I feel your anxiety and almost despair. I can relate.
     
  95. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    Hi @Suzanne & Darcy , I think tiger is having a DKA

    she vomited twice, she's off her food, and she's peed so much her whole litter box turned to clay in one day.

    Her ketones are 1
     
  96. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    OH my. I would take her to the vet for evaluation. I'm so sorry. I hope that it is NOT a DKA. I pray not.
     
    IduraH likes this.
  97. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024
    I just came back from the vet; they think she has DKA, and they're admitting her for IV fluids and a few other tests. I'll update you when the vet calls me tomorrow for further updates.
     
  98. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And I assume they will check for and correct her electrolyte imbalances? I'm so upset this is happening to Tiger. And you, Idura, I'm sending you lots of hugs. This has been so stressful on you and now it's worse. I'm so sorry. Wasn't she supposed to go to the RVC tomorrow (Wednesday?) No wait... it was Thursday, right? She may still be in hospital.

    https://www.vin.com/apputil/content/defaultadv1.aspx?pId=11372&meta=Generic&id=5709925
     
    IduraH likes this.
  99. IduraH

    IduraH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2024

    It'll be okay, hopefully once we get through this bump she'll get better. They're doing a blood test, an ultrasound for ?pancreatitis, and also testing her urine. Her appointment is on Thursday but the vet said we can make sure she gets there even if she's still admitted, it might mean I pick her up, take her there, and then if she needs further admission, she's just transferred there altogether.

    This vet looks quite knowledgable. The last time she was admitted at a different practice there was no repeat blood test etc so I feel quite reassured with this vet.
     
  100. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh good. I’m relieved to hear that this vet is competent to check/treat DKA.
     

Share This Page