Caren and Creamsickle
Member Since 2017
Good morning! Creamsicle amps was 120 so I didn't give him a shot. Fed him and Tested him about +2.5 hrs and it is 445. Guess I should give him his 2 u but now he's off schedule of 6 am/pm. What do I do?
This AMPS and +2.5 should go on your SS ASAP so everyone can see it. Don't give 2 u after a pre shot this low! Your best bet is to wait until the normal shot time tonight and stick with the 1 u dose.Good morning! Creamsicle amps was 120 so I didn't give him a shot. Fed him and Tested him about +2.5 hrs and it is 445. Guess I should give him his 2 u but now he's off schedule of 6 am/pm. What do I do?
Yes, it is at first - all the more reason to have system in place and ask a lot of questions here.Thanks. This is just so confusing!!!!
Next time, do what Elise (tiffmaxe) suggests, and stall, which is waiting without feeding for 20-30 minutes, to see if they come up to a number you are comfortable shooting. Post here for help if you need it. You can make up shot time by moving the shot up 15 minutes a cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day.
For today, I would monitor closely, as he got double the insulin he should have gotten. I see from your spreadsheet that things look quiet so far, but that could change. Test again in another couple of hours. As for tonight - do you need to stay on the 6/6 schedule? If so, then I'd skip tonight and go back to one unit tomorrow morning.
Caren I think its important that you consider that with Lantus and cats is a little bit different than people you have to keep the 12 hrs schedule, and that's something you have to have in mind when you stall ( wait a while to see if you can shoot ) because next dose will have to be 12 hours later as Wendy (Wendy&Necko) pointed out, also is important that even if he goes very high in the middle of the cycle you have to wait until his shooting time and not shoot when you see the high numbers
This is the sticky for SLGS ( this is one way to go )
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/
or for TR ( the other option)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol-tr.1581/
Ok think I got it. I've read the stickies a few times and I think its finally sinking in.
Just tested and got a 340 before eating. This is the time I usually will give insulin. I think we will just wait till the morning and go back to the 6/6 schedule.
The other thing is the vet raised him to 2 u last night so we did that last night and this morning. He was only on 1 unit for 3 days but was on prozinc prior.
Is it too much to give him 2 u? Should we go back to 1 and give it a little time. I know people go up in small increments but with these 100 needles its tough.