Help with dosing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caren and Creamsickle

Member Since 2017
Good morning! Creamsicle amps was 120 so I didn't give him a shot. Fed him and Tested him about +2.5 hrs and it is 445. Guess I should give him his 2 u but now he's off schedule of 6 am/pm. What do I do?
 
Good morning! Creamsicle amps was 120 so I didn't give him a shot. Fed him and Tested him about +2.5 hrs and it is 445. Guess I should give him his 2 u but now he's off schedule of 6 am/pm. What do I do?
This AMPS and +2.5 should go on your SS ASAP so everyone can see it. Don't give 2 u after a pre shot this low! Your best bet is to wait until the normal shot time tonight and stick with the 1 u dose.
 
Now is the time for you to read about TR and SLGS in the yellow stickies. Once you decide on a method, there are clear guidelines to follow for dosing, changing the dose, etc. People who give advice here will ask which method you're using and will respond accordingly.
 
Next time you get a low preshot, stall, don't feed, and post for advice. You would then test again in a half hour to see if the BG is coming up WITHOUT food. Since you can only adjust shot time by 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours it's good you didn't shoot 2.5 hours late.
 
Ok my husband gave him 2 u this morning in between the time I posted. He got nervous and didn't know what to do. Guess that was a mistake!
What should we have done? I guess no shot? Now that he had insulin at 8:45 am instead of his usual 6 am how can we fix this? Don't give a shot tonight?
I just want to do the right thing for my Creamie!
 
Next time, do what Elise (tiffmaxe) suggests, and stall, which is waiting without feeding for 20-30 minutes, to see if they come up to a number you are comfortable shooting. Post here for help if you need it. You can make up shot time by moving the shot up 15 minutes a cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day.

For today, I would monitor closely, as he got double the insulin he should have gotten. I see from your spreadsheet that things look quiet so far, but that could change. Test again in another couple of hours. As for tonight - do you need to stay on the 6/6 schedule? If so, then I'd skip tonight and go back to one unit tomorrow morning.
 
Next time, do what Elise (tiffmaxe) suggests, and stall, which is waiting without feeding for 20-30 minutes, to see if they come up to a number you are comfortable shooting. Post here for help if you need it. You can make up shot time by moving the shot up 15 minutes a cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day.

For today, I would monitor closely, as he got double the insulin he should have gotten. I see from your spreadsheet that things look quiet so far, but that could change. Test again in another couple of hours. As for tonight - do you need to stay on the 6/6 schedule? If so, then I'd skip tonight and go back to one unit tomorrow morning.


I was thinking we may have to skip tonight's dose too. Thanks
 
Caren I think its important that you consider that with Lantus and cats is a little bit different than people you have to keep the 12 hrs schedule, and that's something you have to have in mind when you stall ( wait a while to see if you can shoot ) because next dose will have to be 12 hours later as Wendy (Wendy&Necko) pointed out, also is important that even if he goes very high in the middle of the cycle you have to wait until his shooting time and not shoot when you see the high numbers

This is the sticky for SLGS ( this is one way to go )
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

or for TR ( the other option)

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol-tr.1581/
 
Caren I think its important that you consider that with Lantus and cats is a little bit different than people you have to keep the 12 hrs schedule, and that's something you have to have in mind when you stall ( wait a while to see if you can shoot ) because next dose will have to be 12 hours later as Wendy (Wendy&Necko) pointed out, also is important that even if he goes very high in the middle of the cycle you have to wait until his shooting time and not shoot when you see the high numbers

This is the sticky for SLGS ( this is one way to go )
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

or for TR ( the other option)

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol-tr.1581/


Ok think I got it. I've read the stickies a few times and I think its finally sinking in.
Just tested and got a 340 before eating. This is the time I usually will give insulin. I think we will just wait till the morning and go back to the 6/6 schedule.

The other thing is the vet raised him to 2 u last night so we did that last night and this morning. He was only on 1 unit for 3 days but was on prozinc prior.
Is it too much to give him 2 u? Should we go back to 1 and give it a little time. I know people go up in small increments but with these 100 needles its tough.
 
Ok think I got it. I've read the stickies a few times and I think its finally sinking in.
Just tested and got a 340 before eating. This is the time I usually will give insulin. I think we will just wait till the morning and go back to the 6/6 schedule.

The other thing is the vet raised him to 2 u last night so we did that last night and this morning. He was only on 1 unit for 3 days but was on prozinc prior.
Is it too much to give him 2 u? Should we go back to 1 and give it a little time. I know people go up in small increments but with these 100 needles its tough.

I'm not an expert Wendy is, but I do think a 1u increment is too much, specially since you don't really know how he reacts to Lantus, some kitties are very sensitive to even the smallest amouts of change in the dose. Also you have to give Lantus a little time to form de depot

Im not sure how your needles are but I think you could try someting like using marks on a pice of paper to help you measure the 0.25 increments
 
Thanks for the info. I will have to get new syringes tomorrow. The ones I got from the vet are 30 units, almost impossible to even to a .5 let alone at .25 dose.
I will have my husband get calipers at Harbor freight (he's always in that place!). Thanks so much for the ideas.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top