? HELP w/AMPS 11/18/16 Squallie+7/66,+9/75,PMPS 79,+1/72,+2/128,+4/272,+5/72,+6/45,6.30/42, +7/81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...79-7-69-9-119-pmps-147-3-68-4-77-5-76.168310/

He had a good night last night, hoping he surfs well and safely today!

He really needs to lose a little weight, but I don't know how to go about this. He only eats one 3 oz can for breakfast and one 3 oz can for dinner. He used to get another 1/2 can for lunch, but now he gets super lo-cal shredded chicken, instead. All my other cats eat the same things, except they still get their 1/2 can lunch, and none of them are gaining weight, just Squallie. He's over 15 pounds, now! I have a very bad arm and breathing problems, and I can barely lift him anymore!
 
Nice numbers last night. I hope Squallie gives you more green today. It's so hard to get a diabetic cat to lose weight because they have to eat when they get low. Furball used to weight 15 lbs. She didn't lose any weight until right before she went OTJ. I know that's not very helpful, but I do understand. Can you try to get him moving more? Sending prayers.
 
I know China has been following the play-to-lose plan! Seems to be working from Chris's posts!
Do you think you could get Squallie to play?
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I try to get him to play, but it's hard to get his chubby butt motivated, lol. He likes to play, just on his own schedule, like at 3:00AM.
 
Hi Lucy!
Dre is too heavy too and he does not eat very much (considering his size that is) He is active and I have 3 flights of stairs that he uses several times a day.
Rico eats more and is not big--I think genes play a large factor-(of course I am biased:rolleyes:)
 
I was busy and distracted at PMPS , and tested and shot without thinking about it, just as a matter of routine. An hour later I suddenly realized that I hadn't looked at the test number! When I went back through the meter I discovered he'd only been at 79 when I shot 4.75U of insulin!

I have already given him some gravy food with Karo to try and head off a crash but I am scared for him!
 
I just tested him, he's at 72. I'm having a hard time squeezing any significant amount of gravy out of the food and I'm afraid to let him eat too much because I will probably need him to eat again in a bit!
 
Deep breath. :bighug::bighug: He's been surfing all late afternoon and even gone up a tiny bit. He should be fine. Get a +1 to see what he's doing.
 
Look back at 9/26 - you shot a 72 that day. Whatever you did that day to steer him worked. This is where food notes showing any extra food would be helpful in the Remarks section. Regardless, he could still have a flat cycle.

Could you update the subject line with the latest numbers? Not sure it's a 911, but the latest numbers will let people know why you want eyes here.
 
I can't believe I did this to him. I am always so careful. I even sent my son back to add insulin to the syringe because when he drew it up for me he only drew up 4 U.
 
:bighug::bighug:Wendy is right... BREATH... you have this... you have lot supporters here to stay up with you... get an alarm clock set if you need to stay awake for him... but most of all breath and try to stay focused... you are not alone :bighug::bighug:
 
Okay. I'm trying to stay calm but I'm in tears over this. I panicked when I realized what I had done, and the panic isn't really going away yet!
 
Look back at 9/26 - you shot a 72 that day. Whatever you did that day to steer him worked. This is where food notes showing any extra food would be helpful in the Remarks section. Regardless, he could still have a flat cycle.

Thank you for pointing that out, that makes me feel a tiny bit less panicked. If there is no mention of steering him with food then he did not require it, I always note it on his SS.
 
Thank you for pointing that out, that makes me feel a tiny bit less panicked. If there is no mention of steering him with food then he did not require it, I always note it on his SS.
That's good then. You've given him HC but I would hold off on any more unless he shows you he needs it. Otherwise you'll be staying up a couple extra hours to see what his non carb influenced numbers are. Feeding LC is fine at this point. I would get a +2.
 
you can also use a little spoonful of ice cream, or whipping cream..... if he needs boosting later on.....

looks like he's liking the green floor and learning to hang out there.....
encouraging the surf with normal LC is a good idea unless he decides to start diving....

try to remember that being on the green floor doesn't have the huge floor dives like going from 500 to 200....


as for exercise,
i highly recommend tying a string to your belt loop or your ankle and walk around your house.....
cats can't resist ( most can't anyway)
 
you can also use a little spoonful of ice cream, or whipping cream..... if he needs boosting later on.....

looks like he's liking the green floor and learning to hang out there.....
encouraging the surf with normal LC is a good idea unless he decides to start diving....

try to remember that being on the green floor doesn't have the huge floor dives like going from 500 to 200....


as for exercise,
i highly recommend tying a string to your belt loop or your ankle and walk around your house.....
cats can't resist ( most can't anyway)
I wouldn't have thought about the ice cream, what a great idea! If I need it, I have some lovely caramel ice cream in the freezer.

The string is a great idea, too, he loves strings and ribbons!
 
Sounds like you caught your breath a bit :) and even if it is food influenced its given you a piece of mind which is a good thing :bighug::bighug: positive vines coming your way
 
My civvie Candy is terribly jealous of Squallie and she has spent this whole time, while I have been panic-stricken and trying to focus on Squall, knocking thing over on my desk, including a glass of water, trying to get in my face, tearing up mail, walking on the keyboard when I'm trying to type, and just generally wreaking havoc and being a little pill! She hates it when he is the center of my attention!
 
Well look at you Squallie! I step away for just a few minutes to grab supper and you work that juice!! When you can breathe and work thru this you will be so happy he hit these numbers! Like they have been telling you, remember to breathe, makes the coping and thinking so much easier!!;):bighug:
You know your cat, you know what brings him up, and how to keep him safe, it's really a lather rinse repeat process as Chris taught me. You have the tools, you have the skills you just have to remember you do!
But hey, I filled, and I mean FILLED poor Gussie with gravy, Karo AND honey all in one sitting....I felt like throwing up just thinking about what I filled his poor stomach with..poor guy. The next time was easier....:bighug: for both him and myself.:)
 
Well look at you Squallie! I step away for just a few minutes to grab supper and you work that juice!! When you can breathe and work thru this you will be so happy he hit these numbers! Like they have been telling you, remember to breathe, makes the coping and thinking so much easier!!;):bighug:
You know your cat, you know what brings him up, and how to keep him safe, it's really a lather rinse repeat process as Chris taught me. You have the tools, you have the skills you just have to remember you do!
But hey, I filled, and I mean FILLED poor Gussie with gravy, Karo AND honey all in one sitting....I felt like throwing up just thinking about what I filled his poor stomach with..poor guy. The next time was easier....:bighug: for both him and myself.:)
 
Well look at you Squallie! I step away for just a few minutes to grab supper and you work that juice!! When you can breathe and work thru this you will be so happy he hit these numbers! Like they have been telling you, remember to breathe, makes the coping and thinking so much easier!!;):bighug:
You know your cat, you know what brings him up, and how to keep him safe, it's really a lather rinse repeat process as Chris taught me. You have the tools, you have the skills you just have to remember you do!
But hey, I filled, and I mean FILLED poor Gussie with gravy, Karo AND honey all in one sitting....I felt like throwing up just thinking about what I filled his poor stomach with..poor guy. The next time was easier....:bighug: for both him and myself.:)
I've shot some low numbers since he's been on Lantus, but never that low! He's been so low the past few nights, when I realized what I had done I just went into a complete panic. It's been a long time since his last hypo, not since he was on Vetsulin, and I wanted to avoid another one.:bighug:
 
Totally get the freak out! :bighug::bighug: Well now you have a new shot low number!!
It's really weird and counter intuitive how shooting low works on Lantus, it seems like the lower you shoot the less radical the drop is...I tell myself that when you shoot from a higher number and the insulin brings the numbers down it's like the big drop on a roller coaster, the liver goes WHOA! !!:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: But then when the coaster is on those runs circling the track, you know the ones that really serve to slow it down? Gentle dips? Body goes oh! Oh ok....no liver freak out because it's just a gentle drop, no need to scream!
Just the way I had to picture it to get it...
( avid coaster fan here obviously!)
 
Totally get the freak out! :bighug::bighug: Well now you have a new shot low number!!
It's really weird and counter intuitive how shooting low works on Lantus, it seems like the lower you shoot the less radical the drop is...I tell myself that when you shoot from a higher number and the insulin brings the numbers down it's like the big drop on a roller coaster, the liver goes WHOA! !!:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: But then when the coaster is on those runs circling the track, you know the ones that really serve to slow it down? Gentle dips? Body goes oh! Oh ok....no liver freak out because it's just a gentle drop, no need to scream!
Just the way I had to picture it to get it...
( avid coaster fan here obviously!)
That's a great analogy, Les, and it paints a picture that is very clear and easy to see! My head knows this about Lantus, but the old Vetsulin habits are hard to shake, I guess: the idea of that much insulin with a pre-shot of only 79 just terrified me. I'm not sure I'll ever really be comfortable with that aspect of Lantus, lol. My brain knows it but my heart says, "Panic!"

I'm a coaster fan, too, lol! :bighug::bighug:
 
Help needed here. What do I do if he's still low at AMPS? Say, between 50- 100? Do I give him a reduced dose? Full dose? Or skip it altogether?
 
Checking in before i laydown for a few hours... i think you both have this.... though it looks like a long night ahead... come on Squallie come back up into the safe zone for your bean and stay there tonight... sorry not sure about AMPS just wanted to leave some encouraging words :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top