? HELP w/AMPS 11/18/16 Squallie+7/66,+9/75,PMPS 79,+1/72,+2/128,+4/272,+5/72,+6/45,6.30/42, +7/81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi missed all the action!!!:eek:

Nice to see he has come up with that HC.
Remember the carb can wear off a couple more tests should confirm if he's going stay up, usually I would go to another in 30 min and if he is still up then one other in 45.
 
Wow on your night. It's easy to panic when you first start shooting low numbers. The first time I saw a number in the 60s for Furball, I got karo syrup and poured out a lot instead of one drop. I hope Squallie kept surfing safely the rest of the night.

Technically since Squallie is a long-term diabetic he did not earn a reduction because he didn't go below 40. However since Squallie was so close to 40, I think you can take the reduction if you had a hard time getting his numbers to stay up. Or you can wait for one more drop below 50 before you reduce. He got to 50 on the PM cycle of 11/16. I think you can count that as one of three drops below 50. Good luck with your decision. Sending prayers. :bighug:
 
Sorry about the PJ party but you both did great! Which ever you decide whether to hold the dose or reduce is fine. For this mornings cycle on what to shoot will also depend on how exhausted you are and the ability to monitor. He has a large depot so even if you decide to shoot a one time reduced dose or the full dose, he'll need to be monitored. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hope Squallie is still staying up this morning and that you found a few hours of sleep in there... at least he enjoyed your late night party it sounds like :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's really weird and counter intuitive how shooting low works on Lantus, it seems like the lower you shoot the less radical the drop is...I tell myself that when you shoot from a higher number and the insulin brings the numbers down it's like the big drop on a roller coaster, the liver goes WHOA! !!:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: But then when the coaster is on those runs circling the track, you know the ones that really serve to slow it down? Gentle dips? Body goes oh! Oh ok....no liver freak out because it's just a gentle drop, no need to scream!
Just the way I had to picture it to get it...
This really helped me. Thanks.

Didn't mean to high jack the thread. I read for information and knowledge s when I have time I try and read through the daily threads and learn from what is happening with other kitties and beans.

@Squalliesmom what was Squallie on before Lantus? I see it in your signature but don't know what the initials stand for.
 
This really helped me. Thanks.

Didn't mean to high jack the thread. I read for information and knowledge s when I have time I try and read through the daily threads and learn from what is happening with other kitties and beans.

@Squalliesmom what was Squallie on before Lantus? I see it in your signature but don't know what the initials stand for.
Happy to hear! I did and do that too! It's smart and helps learn!:bighug:
 
This really helped me. Thanks.

Didn't mean to high jack the thread. I read for information and knowledge s when I have time I try and read through the daily threads and learn from what is happening with other kitties and beans.

@Squalliesmom what was Squallie on before Lantus? I see it in your signature but don't know what the initials stand for.
Hi Lizzie. Squallie was on Vetsulin before he was on Lantus. The initials TR after Lantus stand for Tight Regulation, which is the protocol we're following. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top