Miriam Van Scott
Member Since 2020
Harriett is on Lantus, 1.5 units twice a day
Yesterday, her morning BG was 204 (that's typical lately) and she started to eat so I gave her the shot. However she only ate a few bites of food (usually gobbles it up!) then wouldn't eat any more. She threw up (hairball and saliva) and just wanted to sleep.
She refused to eat ANY of her lunch or dinner. Threw up again (same as before) that afternoon. I did NOT giver her the evening insulin shot since she hadn't eaten.
This morning her BG was 468 --- highest it's EVER been! She still won't eat so my question is: do I give her the shot to bring her number down or skip the SECOND shot in a row, even though her number is so high?
PS - Please don't say 'take her to the Vet,' we're already scheduled for an appointment today. I'm wondering about what to do NOW!
Thanks!
Yesterday, her morning BG was 204 (that's typical lately) and she started to eat so I gave her the shot. However she only ate a few bites of food (usually gobbles it up!) then wouldn't eat any more. She threw up (hairball and saliva) and just wanted to sleep.
She refused to eat ANY of her lunch or dinner. Threw up again (same as before) that afternoon. I did NOT giver her the evening insulin shot since she hadn't eaten.
This morning her BG was 468 --- highest it's EVER been! She still won't eat so my question is: do I give her the shot to bring her number down or skip the SECOND shot in a row, even though her number is so high?
PS - Please don't say 'take her to the Vet,' we're already scheduled for an appointment today. I'm wondering about what to do NOW!
Thanks!


