GA Help --- Should I give her the shot???

Miriam Van Scott

Member Since 2020
Harriett is on Lantus, 1.5 units twice a day

Yesterday, her morning BG was 204 (that's typical lately) and she started to eat so I gave her the shot. However she only ate a few bites of food (usually gobbles it up!) then wouldn't eat any more. She threw up (hairball and saliva) and just wanted to sleep.

She refused to eat ANY of her lunch or dinner. Threw up again (same as before) that afternoon. I did NOT giver her the evening insulin shot since she hadn't eaten.

This morning her BG was 468 --- highest it's EVER been! She still won't eat so my question is: do I give her the shot to bring her number down or skip the SECOND shot in a row, even though her number is so high?

PS - Please don't say 'take her to the Vet,' we're already scheduled for an appointment today. I'm wondering about what to do NOW!

Thanks!
 
Has she not eaten at all except for the few bites of food with the AM shot yesterday? Does she have a history of ketones?
What does her vomit look like?
 
She had a tiny amount of food yesterday 6am, nothing since. Her vomit is mostly watery with a very small amount of undigested food
 
Do you have and ondansetron? Is there any food you can tempt her with? Doesn't matter if it's high carb. She needs to eat.

What time is the appointment with the vet?
 
We gave her a regular (high carb) cat treat but she vomited it back up.

Our appointment is at 10am (about 2 hours from now)
 
If you have any Ketostix I would try and test a urine sample if you can, just to check ketones are not in the picture.
If you are unsuccessful I would make sure the vet tests for ketones.
It sounds as if she will need an injection of cerenia to help with the vomiting. also….ask for some oral cerenia and ondansetron medications to bring home.
I would give her a 1/2 dose of the insulin. And keep monitoring the BG after the dose.
It would be very helpful if you could set up a spreadsheet after things settle down.
 
Back from the vet, with sad news. Harriett has DKA and is in kidney failure. She's badly dehydrated so they've given her IV fluids and vitamins, and now we're praying she somehow rallies and gets through this.
 
I am so sorry Harriett has DKA. Please let us know how she gets on.
Hopefully, the kidney values will improve with rehydration and as the DKA improves.
We don’t many vines.
 
Thank you so much to everyone who replied or sent advice. It's wonderful to have your support and see photos of your adorable cats.

Unfortunately, Harriett had underlying congenital kidney and pancreas problems and did not respond to DKA treatment. She crossed the Rainbow Bridge today at 8 years & almost 2 months old.

I thank you all again, and hope for better outcomes and long lives for all these beautiful animals.
 
Back
Top