Help Please! What should Kobe's AM insulin dose be?

Not taking him off insulin tomorrow. Was following SLGS but reductions were coming very fast. Decided to reduce dose if Kobe's BG goes below 70 instead of 90.

I think he should stay at 0.1, but I work all day and won't be able to check his BG like I did tonight to make sure he's safe. So I'm wondering if I should give the drop dose. I don't want to rush off insulin, but I want to make sure he's safe.

We were pushing hard for the transition to wet food in December, but Kobe wasn't eating enough and ended up in the hospital again because of elevated ketones. He has been doing great lately, so we put the transition to wet food on the back burner so that we weren't changing his insulin and his diet at the same time. We figured we could revisit the wet food when his dose stopped changing, but it keeps going down. And down.
 
We were trying to hold the 0.25 dose for 14 cycles, but Kobe's pancreas has other plans.
Yeah, when a cat decides to get with the program, they don't really care about dosing methods! :-)
Paws crossed!

The PowerCat is low carb, but I think that it still affects BG differently than low carb wet, so we try to be careful.
For some cats even LC kibble affects his BG. A recent case is that of @Tim & Pookey where Pookey''s numbers improved as soon as Tim took away the Dr. Elsey's dry food in Dec 2024.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...5Ir4a4dDYq4Cye1KNnNxdp63vycvpu51gezlL/pubhtml
 
I too think you should not reduce below 0.10U for now. Is the Powercat Kibble low carb? I haven't heard of it...

.01 U was the right call, thank you. I was just panicking and second guessing because of the lower numbers after his shot last night. It has been our experience that the low numbers immediately following the dose decrease are largely due to the previous dose BEFORE the reduction, but it is still unnerving to see. Thanks for your input. Kobe's pre-shot was a beautiful 100 this morning. :bighug:

Hopefully we can get 14 cycles at 0.1 U. The plan is to decrease the dose if he goes below 70.

Lesley
 
.01 U was the right call, thank you. I was just panicking and second guessing because of the lower numbers after his shot last night. It has been our experience that the low numbers immediately following the dose decrease are largely due to the previous dose BEFORE the reduction, but it is still unnerving to see.
Yes. Lantus being a depot insulin, the depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust after a reduction. So the numbers you see for the first 3 cycles at 0.10U could be the effect of the previous 0.25U depot.

Kobe's pre-shot was a beautiful 100 this morning.
Nice!!!! :-)
 
Back
Top