StormyPalmer
Member Since 2018
Moving to the Lantus group on advice from main forum (Some Progress-looking for advice to get lower #s.). We're 6 weeks into treatment of our girl Siri. On advice from our vet, we've done a Glucose curve every 2 weeks and increased 1 unit every 2 weeks based on those curves. She's starting to show signs of an improved coat and not as much drinking/urination, but her numbers are still in the 300s for pre-shot and in the 200s for the curves. Also, she's not where we'd like with symptoms...still showing signs of glucosuria and diabetic coat.
Discussion in the Main forum suggested we might have overshot her ideal dosage. Today I did an AMPS and +6 and will do a PMPS and bedtime. The numbers are down across the board which is encouraging. I'll continue this pattern tomorrow. We have a telephone consult with the vet on Thursday 21Mar and I'll provide her the sheet/curve data. I've been reading the Lantus Stickies (very helpful) and wonder if the previous higher #s could be the result of the depot?
Given all this, I'm thinking we hold at 5 units until I can figure out if these new readings are stable. Thoughts??
Discussion in the Main forum suggested we might have overshot her ideal dosage. Today I did an AMPS and +6 and will do a PMPS and bedtime. The numbers are down across the board which is encouraging. I'll continue this pattern tomorrow. We have a telephone consult with the vet on Thursday 21Mar and I'll provide her the sheet/curve data. I've been reading the Lantus Stickies (very helpful) and wonder if the previous higher #s could be the result of the depot?
Given all this, I'm thinking we hold at 5 units until I can figure out if these new readings are stable. Thoughts??