Help please-Siri's #s...trying to understand differences

StormyPalmer

Member Since 2018
Moving to the Lantus group on advice from main forum (Some Progress-looking for advice to get lower #s.). We're 6 weeks into treatment of our girl Siri. On advice from our vet, we've done a Glucose curve every 2 weeks and increased 1 unit every 2 weeks based on those curves. She's starting to show signs of an improved coat and not as much drinking/urination, but her numbers are still in the 300s for pre-shot and in the 200s for the curves. Also, she's not where we'd like with symptoms...still showing signs of glucosuria and diabetic coat.

Discussion in the Main forum suggested we might have overshot her ideal dosage. Today I did an AMPS and +6 and will do a PMPS and bedtime. The numbers are down across the board which is encouraging. I'll continue this pattern tomorrow. We have a telephone consult with the vet on Thursday 21Mar and I'll provide her the sheet/curve data. I've been reading the Lantus Stickies (very helpful) and wonder if the previous higher #s could be the result of the depot?

Given all this, I'm thinking we hold at 5 units until I can figure out if these new readings are stable. Thoughts??
 
HELP Please...just took PMPS at 7:24pm and it's 101. She's getting fed now and I typically shoot her with insulin about 30-45 min post feed. Should I shoot her? I will probably try to test again prior to shooting to determine if it's 'safe' to shoot.
 
I'm no expert but if I'm correct, Siri does not have a history of DKA, right? I hope an expert comes on but I'll try to help in the mean time.

If Siri has had no DKA, skipping a shot is an option and is the "safest" option especially since you are shooting at a higher dose. A reduced dose is also doable (by half or shooting 2/3 of a dose). If you end up shooting anything, make sure you have your hypo kit ready. So lots of test strips and HC and karo/honey on hand. It also helps to know if Siri will eat what you offer to her after you shoot.

As well, when you do get a number you're not sure about at shoot time, it's typically recommended to stall. Stalling is when you withhold food for 15 minutes, then retest to see if Siri's BSL is trending up. If she's going up without the influence of food, then we know the last shot is waning and it's probably safe to shoot. Remember, Lantus usually has an onset around +2 (but ECID) which means it will start working 2 hours later. Anything that happens before that is most likely the depot or the last shot acting up.
 
Also you can change your title to get more eyes on your thread. Go to "Thread tools" on the right hand side and click "Edit title". There is an option to add an icon. Pick the blue "?" and change the title to something like "Need Eyes! Siri PMPS = 101"
 
Thanks bunches! Have changed title. Unfortunately, have already fed (ignorance on my part). :) Will test again before shooting to see if still falling. Have hypo kit ready and hopefully don't need it.
 
Have you gotten any additional readings? I think you’re okay skipping tonight’s shot, and letting that depot drain a bit. Is that the lowest she’s ever gone?

I’d be cautious going forward; depending on her AMPS tomorrow, you may want to decide to try a lower dose.
 
Haven't really tried either...guess I'd prefer tight. Just tested again post feed at 73. Am holding off shooting for another 15min to see if she's still dropping.
 
Ah she’s dropping. I’m leaning towards skipping too and testing often. 73 is still safe and the food might kick in later about 15-30 minutes.
 
Is this what a 'bounce' looks like, the crash following consistent 5units for a couple of weeks (ie...all the depots finally wearing off) or is this possibly just hitting the right dosage over time and her system starting to kick in again?
 
A bounce is when they hit unusually high numbers after having experienced lower-than-usual numbers. This could just be a breakthrough, and her body finally responding, who knows? But it looks like you’ll need to watch her closely while you work toward dialing in the best dose for her.
 
If you gave Siri 5 units at PMPS you are going to have to test very frequently throughout the cycle. Start with a +1 and +2. I would also give her some high carb food NOW to get her BSL up some before the onset of insulin. Otherwise you will be dealing with hypo numbers.
 
If you have blood sugar readings from prior to today, it would help us if you put those in there too. Most important is the last couple of weeks of data.

And what Bron said, you will need to monitor Siri closely tonight.
 
Thanks all...Siri did fine all night. She had eaten and #s rising slightly prior to shooting. Then watched her closely...no signs of hypo. AMPS is 228. Think I'm starting to get the handle of this and will work monitor closely again today to see if this pattern continues. I'll add prior numbers but they're not daily....was running a curve every 2 weeks on vets advice & monitoring behaviors/symptoms.
 
I'm glad to hear she's okay - I was worried about her, since she's on such a high dose. With the spreadsheeet, and with daily testing, you'll start to get a picture of her ups and downs, and you'll have the data to support your decisions on when to shoot and when not to.

Things turned out okay, but shooting last night was definitely risky. I'll look forward to seeing what her normal daily curve looks like.
 
Thanks to all for the support...was certainly worried yesterday when the numbers were so low. Looking forward to better numbers going forward, hopefully consistently. Lots of stuff to discuss with the vet tomorrow. ;):D
 
Looking back...on 18Mar, I gave a temptations dry treat every time I tested her...a total of 6 that day. Normally she doesn't get any. That's the only thing I can think of that's been different in the last 3 days. Would that extra bit of carb allowed her to use up the insulin depot resulting in the lower #s on 19Mar?
 
Did you test again last night after you got the 73 and 75?
I was most concerned for Siri as shooting that low with very little data is very risky. If you shoot that low you need to be testing frequently to see she doesn’t drop down too low when the insulin kicks in. This is not a criticism, I want you to have the information to keep Siri safe.
If you didn’t test we don’t know if she dropped under 50 where she would earn a reduction if you are following TR; or if you are follow SLGS she would have earned a reduction because she dropped under 90.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top