Help: Not Sure What To Do About Our PM Dose!

Carina and Shelly

Member Since 2026
Hello, I posted in the Welcome forum, but it was also recommended to me that I post in this forum since we are newly diagnosed (steroid-induced) and on Lantus.
Shelly was diagnosed on 8/5. We are on week 2.5 of Lantus.

We did our first curve last week with a Libre 3. On day 4 we were finally able to get more of a curve shape and spent 4 hours in the blue (121 nadir), with highs up/around 350. Then the device fell off.

We used Tim's method for applying the second Libre last night. We got some hopeful data in the first 12 hours. Shelly had a nice PM dip into the blue zone last night. In her prior curve she did not spend any time in the blue zone in the PM.

We have heard early Libre data can be unreliable, but we are hopeful it was not a fluke.

We are working on getting set up with a handheld as well. Our first attempt went poorly and based on advice on here we are switching to a ReliOn.

We now have her SS up and running as well.

I don't have any specific questions now, but would welcome any thoughts or suggestions.
 
Last edited:
Hi All,

Shelly's Libre3 is reading 175 (fluctuating between 182 and 166) at shot time and we are not sure what we should do.
She has been in the blue (between 100 and 200 on the SS) for most of the day (going on 10 hours now).
We usually give her 1 unit of Lantus insulin at this time. Her AMPS was at 305 this morning after being in the blue for much of the night.

We are new. We have read through all of the information from here: Here
Shelly has only been on insulin for about 2 and a half weeks and her curve on this 2nd Libre3 is so much flatter than her initial one...

Our inlcination is to not give her her PM shot because we don't want to risk a hypoglycemic episode overnight.
The sryinges we were given from the vet don't have incremental dose lines, our dose is the lowest we can measure.

How long can we wait before we need to skip the shot if we want to delay it?
Any advice will be appreciated.
We understand our three options from the link above, but we are too new to this to have enough data to make an informed decision.

Thanks
🙏
 
Bed time bump to the top of the board. Glad you were able to get that Libre on. @Staci & Ivy is super knowledgeable about them if you have specific questions. Post as much (or as little) as you want here. When I started I figured I’d start posting daily and I think that helped with getting to know people.

Oh one other thing! It helps to link to your previous post when creating a new one. Just so it’s easier to go back and see what’s been going on :bighug:
? - New to Glucose Testing - Questions
 
It’s a little late in the US. Maybe @Bandit's Mom is around?

SLGS no shot under 150 mg/dL is designed for newer caregivers and I think is an alright decision for tonight. Could you shoot? Yes, plenty of people shoot these kinds of numbers. But I don’t know if I feel great about recommending it with her being so new to insulin. No ketones in her history, right? That would change my feeling.
 
That's right. We're on the West Coast.

No history of ketones. Thank you for your thoughts. I think we'll go ahead and skip the dose tonight.
 
Hi Carina, Good luck with the skip. To denote a skipped dose, we put "ns" in our dose unit cell on the spreadsheet. She may bounce from the skip, but you'll get her back on track.

I'm noticing that you are feeding "MC wet." Does that mean medium carb? Is there a reason why you are not feeding low carb?
 
Hi Carina, Good luck with the skip. To denote a skipped dose, we put "ns" in our dose unit cell on the spreadsheet. She may bounce from the skip, but you'll get her back on track.

I'm noticing that you are feeding "MC wet." Does that mean medium carb? Is there a reason why you are not feeding low carb?
Thank you for the well wishes and the spreadsheet tip. We have adjusted the spreadsheet accordingly.

Shelly has IBD and is prone to developing crystals in her urine, so she is on a prescription diet. When we have tried non Rx foods (low phosphorous etc) she still develops crystals. So she is on a novel protein (RC Rabbit and Pea) with a crystal blocker.
 
Hello, I posted in the Welcome forum, but it was also recommended to me that I post in this forum since we are newly diagnosed (steroid-induced) and on Lantus.
Shelly was diagnosed on 8/5. We are on week 2.5 of Lantus.

We did our first curve last week with a Libre 3. On day 4 we were finally able to get more of a curve shape and spent 4 hours in the blue (121 nadir), with highs up/around 350. Then the device fell off.

We used Tim's method for applying the second Libre last night. We got some hopeful data in the first 12 hours. Shelly had a nice PM dip into the blue zone last night. In her prior curve she did not spend any time in the blue zone in the PM.

We have heard early Libre data can be unreliable, but we are hopeful it was not a fluke.

We are working on getting set up with a handheld as well. Our first attempt went poorly and based on advice on here we are switching to a ReliOn.

We now have her SS up and running as well.

I don't have any specific questions now, but would welcome any thoughts or suggestions.
Hi Carina and Shelly, welcome!
I’m glad you were able to get a new Libre applied with the instructions Tim posted!

I don’t find the Libre data to be unreliable in the beginning, so just take that information with a grain of salt.
I’m not saying to ignore it, but if something seems off, then you could always do an ear poke with a manual meter, if you’re able to do that.
Once you get some practice with that, it will become much easier as it has for everyone.
It’s like anything else, the more you do it the easier it gets.

So far Shelly looks like she’s responding nicely to insulin. Her data looks good so far.

If you can cover the Libre with either a T-shirt, wrap, or a tube top, that will certainly keep her from pulling off the Libre. Is that what happened? Did she pull it off?
It’s certainly not unusual for a cat to do that especially in the beginning as it is a foreign object on their body that they’re not used to.

If you have any questions about using a Libre, feel free to let me know🥰
 
Thank you for the welcome and information.
We are so grateful for the Libre. We likely wouldn't have caught the low glucose moment we just experienced. We are working on getting our backup ReliOn meter set up.

Yes, we believe she deactivated her last Libre by licking. We now have an Ace bandage wrap over her torso and that seems to be working well and she seems okay with it, too.
 
Thank you for the welcome and information.
We are so grateful for the Libre. We likely wouldn't have caught the low glucose moment we just experienced. We are working on getting our backup ReliOn meter set up.

Yes, we believe she deactivated her last Libre by licking. We now have an Ace bandage wrap over her torso and that seems to be working well and she seems okay with it, too.
I’m so glad you have a good system in place!
 
Hi Carina and Shelly, welcome!
I’m glad you were able to get a new Libre applied with the instructions Tim posted!

I don’t find the Libre data to be unreliable in the beginning, so just take that information with a grain of salt.
I’m not saying to ignore it, but if something seems off, then you could always do an ear poke with a manual meter, if you’re able to do that.
Once you get some practice with that, it will become much easier as it has for everyone.
It’s like anything else, the more you do it the easier it gets.

So far Shelly looks like she’s responding nicely to insulin. Her data looks good so far.

If you can cover the Libre with either a T-shirt, wrap, or a tube top, that will certainly keep her from pulling off the Libre. Is that what happened? Did she pull it off?
It’s certainly not unusual for a cat to do that especially in the beginning as it is a foreign object on their body that they’re not used to.

If you have any questions about using a Libre, feel free to let me know🥰
Hi! We just got our ReliOn meter up and running. I was able to get a sample and the reading was 304. But her Libre reading at the same time was 244. Have you had the experience where the handheld was higher than the Libre? What do you make of those numbers? We are keeping close watch now because we had to skip her pm dose last night due to numbers below 200 and she dropped down to 56 today at her nadir a few hours after her am dose.
 
Hi! We just got our ReliOn meter up and running. I was able to get a sample and the reading was 304. But her Libre reading at the same time was 244. Have you had the experience where the handheld was higher than the Libre? What do you make of those numbers? We are keeping close watch now because we had to skip her pm dose last night due to numbers below 200 and she dropped down to 56 today at her nadir a few hours after her am dose.
I’m glad you are able to test with a Relion.
Yes you can see discrepancies between the 2 meters.
I am usually most concerned about the low numbers and those are the ones I focus on with testing with ear pokes.

I don’t see a 56 on your spreadsheet as a nadir. Please put that number on your spreadsheet in the correct cell. (I see a 76 but not 56).
Did you verify that number with your Relion meter?

When following SLGS, any time she drops under 90, you will reduce by .25 units, therefore at your next injection, your new dose will be 0.75 units.
Do you have syringes that have 1/2 unit measurements?
 
I’m glad you are able to test with a Relion.
Yes you can see discrepancies between the 2 meters.
I am usually most concerned about the low numbers and those are the ones I focus on with testing with ear pokes.

I don’t see a 56 on your spreadsheet as a nadir. Please put that number on your spreadsheet in the correct cell. (I see a 76 but not 56).
Did you verify that number with your Relion meter?

When following SLGS, any time she drops under 90, you will reduce by .25 units, therefore at your next injection, your new dose will be 0.75 units.
Do you have syringes that have 1/2 unit measurement?
The 56 was in the notes section, but we were struggling with how to format the spreadsheet when the reading isn't on the hour, if that makes sense. We just looked at your spreadsheet and figured out how to do it 👍 We did not verify that number because our handheld wasn't up and running yet.

We do not, unfortunately, have syringes with 1/2 unit measurements. We are hoping to get some from our vet tomorrow or order some. When our vet gave us the syringes we had no idea what we didn't know (in terms of making sure we had 1/2 measurements).

Thanks for a reminder about the protocol. .75 sounds like a plan but we will need to eyeball the dose. I definitely do not feel comfortable giving her a full unit.
 
The 56 was in the notes section, but we were struggling with how to format the spreadsheet when the reading isn't on the hour, if that makes sense. We just looked at your spreadsheet and figured out how to do it 👍 We did not verify that number because our handheld wasn't up and running yet.

We do not, unfortunately, have syringes with 1/2 unit measurements. We are hoping to get some from our vet tomorrow or order some. When our vet gave us the syringes we had no idea what we didn't know (in terms of making sure we had 1/2 measurements).

Thanks for a reminder about the protocol. .75 sounds like a plan but we will need to eyeball the dose. I definitely do not feel comfortable giving her a full unit.
Yes always put it in the cells. Someone may miss it in your notes.
They do make 1/2 unit syringes. Best to use those. It’s not your fault you didn’t know.
We all had to learn the same things 🥰

You may want to consider a digital calipers. They’re so helpful at accurate dosing. The syringes are often mismarked anyway.
We have a tutorial here on using calipers that is so helpful.
 
Yes always put it in the cells. Someone may miss it in your notes.
They do make 1/2 unit syringes. Best to use those. It’s not your fault you didn’t know.
We all had to learn the same things 🥰

You may want to consider a digital calipers. They’re so helpful at accurate dosing. The syringes are often mismarked anyway.
We have a tutorial here on using calipers that is so helpful.
Thank you such much for your help and information. I will check out the digital calipers. That sounds like a cool option.
 
Back
Top