Help needed- Watson won’t eat NEW MEMBER

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Hi, I'm Rosie. Cat mom to 4, one of which is Watson my sugar cat. He is 7 and was diagnosed in March of 2023. He has been as low as 1 unit and as high as 4 units of insulin glargine, trying to find the perfect number so his glucose reading don't look like a roller coaster. (was on 2.5 until yesterday when we dropped to 2)
After finding this site I replaced his food with low carb options (most of which he doesn't like) and replaced his kibble with low/no carb and only given in small amount occasionally.
I just put together his spreadsheet yesterday. The starting date is when he had his latest Libre2 sensor put on.
I have a couple questions. What range should I be looking for in cats. I wasn't really given a range by the vet so I've used 80-120 in the past and he was rarely in that range, and when he would go under 80 I was concerned. At what number do I start giving high carb rescue items? I'm currently freaking out when he's in the 50's.
Also, my sensor program only goes up to 400 so when I get a HI message should I enter it as 400-499 or 500 and over?

So far we've tried mostly Fancy Feast pate or flaked, a few Weruvas, Friskies and Beyonds. The kibble is Young Again Zero Mature. I also bought some free dried raw treats (but he also gets 3 temptation catnip treats every morning for being a good boy)

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this. Hopefully I am able to FINALLY get him in the range he needs to be in.
 
Welcome, Rosie and thanks for getting your signature and spreadsheet set up so quickly. I'd like to suggest you also take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilar board. In particular, we have information on the two dosing methods we use which look to be a bit different than what you're doing.

We look at normal blood glucose range as between 50 - 120. When you intervene can depend on which of the two dosing methods you're using. This is more of an issue with the Tight Regulation Protocol and in particular, with that dosing method Watson would be considered a longer term diabetic since he's a year past his diagnosis date. However, read over the methods and we can answer any questions you may have as to how they differ and what's best suited for you and Watson. Just one FYI, with Tight Regulation, no dry food or similar treats can be in the picture.

What you're seeing is that Watson is doing what we refer to as "bouncing." His liver and pancreas have not gotten used to lower numbers and they panic when he drops into lower ranges. When that happens, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause numbers to spike upward. It can take a few days for the bounce to clear.

If you were not aware, the Libre is not as reliable as a hand held meter when it comes to lower numbers. There can be a large difference between the Libre reading, which is appreciably lower, than what you would get if you were testing with a glucometer.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Welcome, Rosie and thanks for getting your signature and spreadsheet set up so quickly. I'd like to suggest you also take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilar board. In particular, we have information on the two dosing methods we use which look to be a bit different than what you're doing.

We look at normal blood glucose range as between 50 - 120. When you intervene can depend on which of the two dosing methods you're using. This is more of an issue with the Tight Regulation Protocol and in particular, with that dosing method Watson would be considered a longer term diabetic since he's a year past his diagnosis date. However, read over the methods and we can answer any questions you may have as to how they differ and what's best suited for you and Watson. Just one FYI, with Tight Regulation, no dry food or similar treats can be in the picture.

What you're seeing is that Watson is doing what we refer to as "bouncing." His liver and pancreas have not gotten used to lower numbers and they panic when he drops into lower ranges. When that happens, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause numbers to spike upward. It can take a few days for the bounce to clear.

If you were not aware, the Libre is not as reliable as a hand held meter when it comes to lower numbers. There can be a large difference between the Libre reading, which is appreciably lower, than what you would get if you were testing with a glucometer.

Please let us know how we can help.

Thank you, I'll look over the board you suggested for dosing. My sensor sends a warning when Watson reaches 55 so at that point I've been giving him higher carb stuff, treats and maple syrup. Maybe that wasn't the right thing to do? At what point do I start to do that? Also, should I be marking those rescue items and mid-day food on the spreadsheet somewhere?
 
The headache with the Libre is that when it tells you Watson's at 55, a hand held meter may give you a reading of 150. The Libre is not consistently accurate at the lower end of the scale. Is it possible for you to home test with a regular glucometer?

You can put a note in the comments section of the spreadsheet if you are giving high carb food. If you look at my spreadsheet, it will give you one example of how people hand the information. Some members will add a comment to the cell.
 
The headache with the Libre is that when it tells you Watson's at 55, a hand held meter may give you a reading of 150. The Libre is not consistently accurate at the lower end of the scale. Is it possible for you to home test with a regular glucometer?

You can put a note in the comments section of the spreadsheet if you are giving high carb food. If you look at my spreadsheet, it will give you one example of how people hand the information. Some members will add a comment to the cell.[/QUOTE


I guess I could try a glucometer. I’ll try to get to the drugstore soon and see what’s available. I will also go back into the spreadsheet sometime this week and add in all of the extra meals and high carb emergency stuff. Thanks again for your help!
 
The pharmacist helped me pick this. It sounds very complicated. Please tell me I only have to do this when the numbers are low, like how low? I’m sure there are instructions on how to do a blood draw somewhere in the threads so I will look at that tomorrow.
upload_2024-4-22_18-6-14.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-22_18-6-14.jpeg
    upload_2024-4-22_18-6-14.jpeg
    78.6 KB · Views: 515
The pharmacist helped me pick this. It sounds very complicated. Please tell me I only have to do this when the numbers are low, like how low? I’m sure there are instructions on how to do a blood draw somewhere in the threads so I will look at that tomorrow. View attachment 69942
Hi Rosie it's really not complicated at all
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
Here is a video one of our members made testing her kitty
She's using a pet meter that has to be coded ,with a human meter you don't have to code it.

I have always used a human meter
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

If you can't get enough blood using the 30 gauge lancets get the 26 or 28 gauge lancets. The lower gauge lancets will make a bigger hole to get more blood. Don't worry its it's not a big hole ,you won't even see it
@Rosie Lass
 
Last edited:
but he also gets 3 temptation catnip treats every morning for being a good boy)

@Rosie Lass
I looked up the ingredients and they look like they are high in carbs
CHICKEN BY-PRODUCT MEAL, GROUND CORN, ANIMAL FAT (PRESERVED WITH MIXED TOCOPHEROLS), DRIED MEAT BY-PRODUCTS, BREWERS RICE, WHEAT FLOUR, NATURAL FLAVORS, BREWERS DRIED YEAST, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE COLOR, DRIET CATNIP, CHLOROPHYLL (SODIUM COPPER CHLOROPHYLLIN), CHOLINE CHLORIDE, SALT, TAURINE, DL- ...


Instead of them
Click on this link and look at post #6. Numbers are to the right
You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brand-new-many-questions-3.255627/#post-2878703

Freeze dried treats that only contain one ingredient (the meat or fish) is zero carb and fine to feed to a diabetic :D

I also did a search on our site and found this posted by a member
The other treat is just steamed chicken, or boiledchicken. All I do is get chicken breasts, steam them, then dice the chicken into tiny cubes. I do a big batch then put them into small 1cup containers andfreeze them. I always have a small cup of chicken in the frig because she may want something to eat in the 2hrs before her shots and she can't be fed, so she settles fora few of the chicken cubes.

Can you add to your signature SLGS also and for what you are feeding you need to add kibble where you have low carb
low carb/Young Again kibble
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We use these so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units if needed, these make it easier to do that

Watson is so adorable with his head resting on the arm of the couch :cat:

By the way here is your post about the syringes ,both myself and JL
responded to your question, tap on the link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/syringe-type.289108/
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the blood draw information. Although it freaks me out reading it, it looks very helpful. Do I only have to do this when the numbers are low on his Libre 2 sensor? If so, how low when I start checking?

Regarding the treats, I did buy 3 types of freeze dried treats that he is so-so on. Will giving him 3 pieces of the temptation catnip ones really be terrible? I’ve done it every morning for 5 years so it is really ingrained for him to expect them.

I really do appreciate all the help.

Watson is hating almost all the new food I’m giving him which makes us both sad and me overwhelmed.
 
Thanks for the blood draw information. Although it freaks me out reading it, it looks very helpful. Do I only have to do this when the numbers are low on his Libre 2 sensor? If so, how low when I start checking?

Regarding the treats, I did buy 3 types of freeze dried treats that he is so-so on. Will giving him 3 pieces of the temptation catnip ones really be terrible? I’ve done it every morning for 5 years so it is really ingrained for him to expect them.

I really do appreciate all the help.

Watson is hating almost all the new food I’m giving him which makes us both sad and me overwhelmed.
I'm going to tag a few members who can answer you about the Libre ,I have never used one
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy

Thanks ladies
 
Last edited:
Will giving him 3 pieces of the temptation catnip ones really be terrible? I’ve done it every morning for 5 years so it is really ingrained for him to expect them.
Hi Rosie, I'm just going by what the ingredients say in my post #9, maybe the members I tagged can tell you what they think
About him hating all the food you have tried so far
Here is the food chart ,maybe take a look 6% carbs and under are OK
http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Can you add to your signature SLGS also and for what you are feeding you need to add kibble where you have low carb
low carb wet/ Young Again kibble
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We use these so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units if needed, these make it easier to do that

To add to your signature tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add what I asked you to add then tap Save

If you don't have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings let me know and I can suggest some
What was Watson eating before you started feeding the low carb wet ?
@Rosie Lass
 
Last edited:
Or GA can also mean "Guardian Angel".

If you think poking your cat's ear is going to be an issue, I would just get a manual blood glucose reading if the Libre numbers are under 100. As Watson gets acclimated to having his ear poked, you'll have a choice regarding whether to continue to use a Libre plus a few pokes when necessary or to switch over to a hand held meter. One other consideration is that if Watson's numbers indicate he's going into remission, you're going to be seeing a lot of lower numbers and will likely need to be relying on the hand held meter.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Do you think Rosie feeding Watson 3 pieces of the Temptation Cat Nip Treats 3 times a day are too high in carb
I looked up the ingredients and they look like they are high in carbs
CHICKEN BY-PRODUCT MEAL, GROUND CORN, ANIMAL FAT (PRESERVED WITH MIXED TOCOPHEROLS), DRIED MEAT BY-PRODUCTS, BREWERS RICE, WHEAT FLOUR, NATURAL FLAVORS, BREWERS DRIED YEAST, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE COLOR, DRIET CATNIP, CHLOROPHYLL (SODIUM COPPER CHLOROPHYLLIN), CHOLINE CHLORIDE, SALT, TAURINE, DL- ...

Thanks Sienne

Rosie asked me
Will giving him 3 pieces of the temptation catnip ones really be terrible? I’ve done it every morning for 5 years so it is really ingrained for him to expect them.
 
Hi Rosie it's really not complicated at all
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
Here is a video one of our members made testing her kitty
She's using a pet meter that has to be coded ,with a human meter you don't have to code it.
So ignore that
I have always used a human meter
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

If you can't get enough blood using the 30 gauge lancets get the 26 or 28 gauge lancets. The lower gauge lancets will make a bigger hole to get more blood. Don't worry its it's not a big hole ,you won't even see it
@Rosie Lass

Thanks to your help I did my first metered test a minute ago. The Libra2 said he was at 54, the meter said 55 so I'm happy they were close. Watson did a great job for testing too! Should I now be giving him some high carb food/treats?
 
Thanks to your help I did my first metered test a minute ago. The Libra2 said he was at 54, the meter said 55 so I'm happy they were close. Watson did a great job for testing too! Should I now be giving him some high carb food/treats?
Great job Rosie !
Do you have any higher carb food in the house

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up whether you need to feed low carb, med carb or high carb food
If there is a big drop on BG numbers you would need to feed and keep testing
I saw on your SS in the remarks section you have Watson some young again , they are around 5 or 6 % carbs
Can you test again and see what it is now
With SLGS method anytime a kitty goes below 90 you reduce by 0.25 units
So the next dose would be 1.75 units
Rosie can you please add this information to your signature please when you get a chance it's important
Can you add to your signature SLGS also and for what you are feeding you need to add
low carb wet/ Young Again kibble
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We use these so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units if needed, these make it easier to do that

To add to your signature tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add what I asked you to add then tap Save

If you don't have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings let me know and I can suggest some
What was Watson eating before you started feeding the low carb wet food

can you add CVS human meter to your spreadsheet up top also and to your signature so members know you did check again with a human meter .(CVS Meter)
Libre is considered a human meter also
 
Last edited:
I would also pick up some med and hc food to have in the house in case you need to bring Watson's BG up and have honey in the house
If he won't eat it , it's really the gravy in it that's higher carbs, so uncase you can't get him to eat it squeeze the gravy out of it and see if he will lick it up

Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

sometimes dry food takes a little longer to bring up low numbers and, once it does, it takes much longer to leave the system.


How to handle Low Numbers
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

SLGS Method , give it another read :cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
Great job Rosie !
Do you have any higher carb food in the house

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up whether you need to feed low carb, med carb or high carb food
If there is a big drop on BG numbers you would need to feed and keep testing
I saw on your SS in the remarks section you have Watson some young again , they are around 5 or 6 % carbs
Can you test again and see what it is now
With SLGS method anytime a kitty goes below 90 you reduce by 0.25 units
So the next dose would be 1.75 units
Rosie can you please add this information to your signature please when you get a chance it's important
Can you add to your signature SLGS also and for what you are feeding you need to add
low carb wet/ Young Again kibble
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We use these so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units if needed, these make it easier to do that

To add to your signature tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add what I asked you to add then tap Save

If you don't have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings let me know and I can suggest some
What was Watson eating before you started feeding the low carb wet food

can you add CVS human meter to your spreadsheet up top also and to your signature so members know you did check again with a human meter .(CVS Meter)
Libre is considered a human meter also
I would also pick up some med and hc food to have in the house in case you need to bring Watson's BG up and have honey in the house
If he won't eat it , it's really the gravy in it that's higher carbs, so uncase you can't get him to eat it squeeze the gravy out of it and see if he will lick it up

Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

sometimes dry food takes a little longer to bring up low numbers and, once it does, it takes much longer to leave the system.


How to handle Low Numbers
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

SLGS Method , give it another read :cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
I have given him 10 high carb treats about an eighth of a cup of high carb food plus rubbed some Maple syrup on his gums. I’m gonna test again in four minutes. I’ll try to get my signature updated once he’s out of crisis. I’m about in tears. He still at 53 at 1:05 PM so he is now having gravy lovers turkey. I don’t have the needles with smaller increments, but they are ordered and should be here tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
I would also re-test. Given the amount of high carb stuff (treats, high carb food, maple syrup), there's a good chance Watson's numbers are going to be sky high. In addition, his numbers may bounce from his dropping into lower a lower range than he's used to. Just so you have this handy, this is a link to a post on the Lantus board on how to handle low numbers.

With SLGS, you decrease the dose when numbers drop below 90. You will want to adjust Watson's dose to 1.75u for his evening shot.

From what the ingredients are in the treats you're using, I suspect they are high in carbs. Corn - especially since it's the 2nd ingredient, brewer's rice, and wheat flour are all carbs. I would see if you can find an alternative that Watson likes.
 
I’m gonna test again in four minutes. I’ll try to get my signature updated once he’s out of crisis. I’m about in tears. He still at 53 at 1:05 PM so he is now having gravy lovers turkey.
Did you get another test yet, you said 53 at 1:00 PM
We are all in different time zones can you just tell us 53@ what where in the cycle for instance 53 @+4 or @+5
OK I see it was 53 @+4 on your SS
You will have to eyeball the 1.75 units tonight
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

@Rosie Lass
Don't cry Rosie, don't fill him up a lot in case you have to keep feeding him
 
I would also re-test. Given the amount of high carb stuff (treats, high carb food, maple syrup), there's a good chance Watson's numbers are going to be sky high. In addition, his numbers may bounce from his dropping into lower a lower range than he's used to. Just so you have this handy, this is a link to a post on the Lantus board on how to handle low numbers.

With SLGS, you decrease the dose when numbers drop below 90. You will want to adjust Watson's dose to 1.75u for his evening shot.

From what the ingredients are in the treats you're using, I suspect they are high in carbs. Corn - especially since it's the 2nd ingredient, brewer's rice, and wheat flour are all carbs. I would see if you can find an alternative that Watson likes.
I just retested the sensor said 54 the monitor said 55
 
I just retested the sensor said 54 the monitor said 55
I see on your SS that was @+5
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Recap
53
53 @ 4.25
47 @ 4.5
53 @ 4.7
54 @+5 sensor 55 @+5 CVS Meter

Elise can you take a look at this please , Rosie is a new member
@tiffmaxee
I suck at telling members how many carbs to feed if they are low
Thank you Elise
She has the Libre2 on and is testing again with the CVS human meter to confirm the numbers
 
Last edited:
I would also re-test. Given the amount of high carb stuff (treats, high carb food, maple syrup), there's a good chance Watson's numbers are going to be sky high. In addition, his numbers may bounce from his dropping into lower a lower range than he's used to. Just so you have this handy, this is a link to a post on the Lantus board on how to handle low numbers.

With SLGS, you decrease the dose when numbers drop below 90. You will want to adjust Watson's dose to 1.75u for his evening shot.

From what the ingredients are in the treats you're using, I suspect they are high in carbs. Corn - especially since it's the 2nd ingredient, brewer's rice, and wheat flour are all carbs. I would see if you can find an alternative that Watson likes.

Retested at 55. I will reduce dose tonight. I’m sorry to be so needy
 
Great job Rosie !
Do you have any higher carb food in the house

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up whether you need to feed low carb, med carb or high carb food
If there is a big drop on BG numbers you would need to feed and keep testing
I saw on your SS in the remarks section you have Watson some young again , they are around 5 or 6 % carbs
Can you test again and see what it is now
With SLGS method anytime a kitty goes below 90 you reduce by 0.25 units
So the next dose would be 1.75 units
Rosie can you please add this information to your signature please when you get a chance it's important
Can you add to your signature SLGS also and for what you are feeding you need to add
low carb wet/ Young Again kibble
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We use these so we can adjust the dose by 0.25 units if needed, these make it easier to do that

To add to your signature tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add what I asked you to add then tap Save

If you don't have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings let me know and I can suggest some
What was Watson eating before you started feeding the low carb wet food

can you add CVS human meter to your spreadsheet up top also and to your signature so members know you did check again with a human meter .(CVS Meter)
Libre is considered a human meter also
 
Retested at 55. I will reduce dose tonight. I’m sorry to be so needy
You're not being needy at all Rosie. I would give Watson another teaspoon of the FF Gravy Lovers Turkey or at least the Gravy.
I suck at giving how much to feed that's why I tagged Sienne

Later on just add CVS monitor up top of your SS
Libre 2/ CVS meter ok?
@Rosie Lass
 
I would also pick up some med and hc food to have in the house in case you need to bring Watson's BG up and have honey in the house
If he won't eat it , it's really the gravy in it that's higher carbs, so uncase you can't get him to eat it squeeze the gravy out of it and see if he will lick it up

Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

sometimes dry food takes a little longer to bring up low numbers and, once it does, it takes much longer to leave the system.


How to handle Low Numbers
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

SLGS Method , give it another read :cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
I’ve added to my signature, hope it’s ok now. It was 55 at +5, and the Libre2 said 54 so they are pretty close. I’ll drop to 1.75 units tonight. New needles coming tomorrow. Still have all my old high carb food so I’m all set for rescues. So sorry to be such a pest
 
I’ve added to my signature, hope it’s ok now. It was 55 at +5, and the Libre2 said 54 so they are pretty close. I’ll drop to 1.75 units tonight. New needles coming tomorrow. Still have all my old high carb food so I’m all set for rescues. So sorry to be such a pest
You are not a pest Rosie at all, I was always posting tons when I first started out . Did you feed Watson again after 55@+5?
Signature looks good :cat:
Later on just add CVS monitor up top of your SS
Libre 2/ CVS meter so members know

Rosie I think you can delete from your signature
currently on 2 units twice daily because doses change constantly and members will see it in your spreadsheet when the dose changes

Rosie if it wasn't for me taking the advice from the members here I know Tyler wouldn't be in remission for 3 years and 3 months so far ( knock on wood) . I never followed what my vet told me

I think it would be a good idea if you started posting on the Lantus Forum tomorrow, there are more eyes on the Lantus BoardBoard
Here is the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

To the right you will see post new thread
You can say you were posting on the Feline Health Board before
Introduce yourself and Watson
We have a certain way to post there
In your Title put
Date Watson AMPS BG and any other tests you take after that ,and you can continue with the PMPS BG and any additional numbers you want to add.
To do that look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools ,tap on that then tap in Edit Title and add your other tests
always use @+ , not the time of day Then tap Save.

We like you to post everyday and then link your previous days post to the new one in case members need to go back and read something
To post your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat in the upper left hand corner , so if you post on the lantus board you will copy and paste it to your post for tomorrow. I syck at explaining this too low it's above //feline diabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new member do you see it ? You will copy and paste it to tomorrow's post .
So you will always post your previous days post to your new one
@Rosie Lass
 
Last edited:
Recap
Recap
53
53 @ 4.25
47 @ 4.5
53 @ 4.7
54 @+5 sensor 55 @+5 CVS Meter
54/55
66 @+5.25
63 @+5.5
54 @+5.75
49
56 @ 6.25
56 @6.75
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee
Thank you Elise :cat:
Rosie does have
FF gravy lovers turkey. 15% carbs also
From her SS in remarks section
Refused food offered at 8am, had to offer different food at 9am; 1/4 cup YA kibble @ 11:54am, Tested 55 with meter @ +3 - 10 regular treats & 1ml maple syrup @ 12:25pm; 1/4 cup regular kibble @ 12:40pm; FF gravy lovers at 1:04; 1ml maple syrup & more gravy lovers @ 1:30

She hasn't updated what she has been feeding as of yet
 
Last edited:
Just seeing this. I would check his BG in 30 minutes. Are you still feeding the hc treats? . It takes 20-30 minutes for the food to work.
I’ve been checking every 15 minutes he’s had wet food, kibble and treats along with honey and maple syrup. It goes up for a while and then drops back down.
 
@tiffmaxee
Thank you Elise :cat:
Rosie does have
FF gravy lovers turkey. 15% carbs also
From her SS in remarks section
Refused food offered at 8am, had to offer different food at 9am; 1/4 cup YA kibble @ 11:54am, Tested 55 with meter @ +3 - 10 regular treats & 1ml maple syrup @ 12:25pm; 1/4 cup regular kibble @ 12:40pm; FF gravy lovers at 1:04; 1ml maple syrup & more gravy lovers @ 1:30

She hasn't updated what she has been feeding as of yet
56 still at +6.75

Is glucose gel a good option for felines? If so, I could keep some of that onhand
 
I’m not familiar with glucose gel. It’s best to give food he will eat. If it’s not high carb you can add honey or Karo to make it higher carb if the bg drops too low.
 
Rosie -- stop beating up on yourself!! You're doing great. There is an overwhelming amount of information to learn about managing your cat's diabetes and you are at the beginning of this adventure. You're learning. Each and every person here has been in your shoes. And, frankly, we've had MDs who didn't know how to treat their cats and vets who have come here to learn a new or different insulin. You are in not only good company but among a community of people who care deeply about their cat and the kitties of the members here. We expect that you will be asking questions.

If you have had a chance to look at the link I provided on managing low numbers, you'll notice that there's a comment about not becoming complacent. For many cats that drop into lower numbers, they wobble around. You bump up their numbers with high carb, you breathe a sigh of relief after seeing the numbers rise, you test a little while later and the numbers have dropped again. It's not atypical. It's telling you your dose is too high. To be honest, I would have expected Watson's numbers to skyrocket after you gave him as much high carb as you did. So not only does your kitty need less insulin, he may not be a cat that has a robust response to high carb. The frequency with which you were testing and how you were handling the lower numbers was great! Every cat responds differently to high carb. It's very good information for you. Now, you'll just need to see if that pattern is typical or today was a one off experience.

Oh, and it helps to remember that cats do not like to be predictable!
 
You did a great job keeping Watson safe Rosie :cat:
I'm glad he finally came back up for you.
Try and relax now :bighug: Congrats on the reduction . I hope Watson surfs safely tonight I hope to see you over in the Lantus Board tomorrow ,see my post #30 ,with how busy you were today you might have not gotten a chance to read it :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Rosie -- stop beating up on yourself!! You're doing great. There is an overwhelming amount of information to learn about managing your cat's diabetes and you are at the beginning of this adventure. You're learning. Each and every person here has been in your shoes. And, frankly, we've had MDs who didn't know how to treat their cats and vets who have come here to learn a new or different insulin. You are in not only good company but among a community of people who care deeply about their cat and the kitties of the members here. We expect that you will be asking questions.

If you have had a chance to look at the link I provided on managing low numbers, you'll notice that there's a comment about not becoming complacent. For many cats that drop into lower numbers, they wobble around. You bump up their numbers with high carb, you breathe a sigh of relief after seeing the numbers rise, you test a little while later and the numbers have dropped again. It's not atypical. It's telling you your dose is too high. To be honest, I would have expected Watson's numbers to skyrocket after you gave him as much high carb as you did. So not only does your kitty need less insulin, he may not be a cat that has a robust response to high carb. The frequency with which you were testing and how you were handling the lower numbers was great! Every cat responds differently to high carb. It's very good information for you. Now, you'll just need to see if that pattern is typical or today was a one off experience.

Oh, and it helps to remember that cats do not like to be predictable!
His numbers did come up, and of course now they are too high, but it sure took a long time to get there. He will get dinner and insulin in less than an hour, and I am dropping him down to 1.75 units as best as I can tell from looking At the syringes that I have. I appreciate all the help and support you gave me today.
 
You did a great job keeping Watson safe Rosie :cat:
I'm glad he finally came back up for you.
Try and relax now :bighug: Congrats on the reduction . I hope Watson surfs safely tonight I hope to see you over in the Lantus Board tomorrow ,see my post #30 ,with how busy you were today you might have not gotten a chance to read it :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
I actually made a hard copy of what you sent to me and I will look it over tomorrow when I am less crazy
Thanks again for your help
 
Watson’s BG is now 400+, I served his dinner and hoped to reduce his insulin to 1.75 afterwards as recommended. He will NOT eat. What do I do now?
 
Last edited:
Watson’s BG is now 400+, I served his dinner and hoped to reduce his insulin to 1.75 afterwards as recommended. He will NOT eat. What do I do now?
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
Please read post #42, 44 and post 48 and down so you can get an idea what's been happening ,her kitty won't eat and
Her shooting times are 9 AM and PM ,it is now 10:30 PM
Rosie wants to know if she should shoot now
If you look at her SS she had a tough time today ,bringing his numbers up
@Rosie Lass
I'm trying to get you some help Rosie, I hope someone will see this

Rosie add to your title HELP NEEDED WATSON WON'T EAT
Put that before NEW MEMBER
Tap on Thread Tools to the right, then tap on EDIT Title add it and then tap save
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom
Nope, not a bite. I’m thinking if I don’t hear anything soon I’m just gonna give him one unit because he still up there at 400+
If no one answers then just do that, you are 2 hours late though right?
Lantus usually doesn't kick in until 2 hours after giving it, so hopefully he will eat something
Jus t be sure to fill in his preshot number and put shot 2 hours late in the same cell or square.
Did you maybe try crushing up some young again on his food?

Now you are going to be off schedule for tomorrow morning, we will have to see how you can back on track because I don't think you can shoot your usual time which is 9 AM correct?
@Rosie Lass
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom
OK, I caved and gave him 1/3 cup of the zero carb kibble and he is eating that. Actually, none of the cats will touch their wet food tonight. It’s a fancy feast, turkey, and giblets. Guess I won’t be buying that again. If he eats most of this kibble, I think I will be comfortable, giving him his insulin even though it’s gonna throw off our timing now
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top