Help - need advice very soon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frankie Bear

Member Since 2015
I'm just a newbie still and not sure what to do now. Frank's BG was 24.3 mmol/L at his AMPS. (I guess that 437 mg/dl). +4 was 17.8, +6 was 16.1, and then just now his PMPS was 14.9 (268). I don't know what to do now. I don't know if his BG is still declining or if he hit nadir somewhere between +6 and +12 and is now on his way back up. This is the first time this has happened. Should I hold off on giving him his next dose for maybe an hour and re-test at that time to see if he's still dropping?
Thanks!
Rhonda
 
Hmmm. Hard decision. I think I'd wait 20 minutes without feeding and test again. The number is high enough to shoot and it isn't likely that it will continue to drop 12 hours after the shot, but you will probably feel better if you do the retest. And reduce the dose? It looks like the 5.5 was great for the 437 but will likely be too much for a yellow. Since it's overnight, maybe reduce to 2? It may not be enough, but you have no data for shooting numbers in that range.
 
Oops, too late about the feeding, he was hanging around hungry... Yeah I was thinking 5.5 would be too much for this level too...
 
ah yes, thank you - this seems so tricky! He hardly ate at all, all afternoon, and then I was so relieved that he wanted to eat, I was ready to give him anything he wanted...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top