Help my cat

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Garcia!

First, I saw your spreadsheet on the group, but the link you posted here has to have the permission's changed to "anybody on the internet with the link can View".

But there's nothing to be panicked about right now. Yes, his numbers are higher than we want, but we've seen a lot higher!

I'm really glad you're here though. Hopefully we can start to get some better results soon!
 
Hey Garcia!

First, I saw your spreadsheet on the group, but the link you posted here has to have the permission's changed to "anybody on the internet with the link can View".

But there's nothing to be panicked about right now. Yes, his numbers are higher than we want, but we've seen a lot higher!

I'm really glad you're here though. Hopefully we can start to get some better results soon!


THANK YOU. I THINK I DID IT, PLEASE CHECK AGAIN. I DO A CURVE TOMORROW.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/181HB7UXAweN2zzXXbObwDGojRXjvW-F0GeP-ZNGfEMs/edit?usp=sharing
 
Garcia, one thing right away that you need to know is that it's important to get at least 1 "before bed" test on the PM cycle too. Most cats go lower at night so it's important to know he's going to be safe while you're asleep (or if you need to set an alarm to get up and test again!)

Also, on the AM cycle, if at all possible, you should try to get at least 1 mid-cycle test (between +5 and +7). If you can get more tests, that's even better!

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not the Pre-shot number so it's important to see how low each dose is taking him
 
Garcia, one thing right away that you need to know is that it's important to get at least 1 "before bed" test on the PM cycle too. Most cats go lower at night so it's important to know he's going to be safe while you're asleep (or if you need to set an alarm to get up and test again!)

Also, on the AM cycle, if at all possible, you should try to get at least 1 mid-cycle test (between +5 and +7). If you can get more tests, that's even better!

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not the Pre-shot number so it's important to see how low each dose is taking him
ok, ill do it tomorrow. THANK YOU AGAIN.
 
Yes I can see the SS now.
I ageee with Chris, those inbetween tests are very important if you can get them.
Are you giving snacks dieting the cycles and well as the two preshot meals?
i tried giving him snacks and doesnt make difference. i even bought a feeder but it doesnt make any difference.
 
vet told me to feed him only after his shot. so he eats twice a day.
i tried giving him snacks and doesnt make difference. i even bought a feeder but it doesnt make any difference.
Feeding only twice a day is old thinking. With the newer insulins it’s better to also give snacks, especially during the first half of the cycle when the insulin is strongest. It’s better for the pancreas.
What do you mean it makes no difference? A n auto feeder is great
 
Given that Macho has been on insulin since August 2020, is there any way that we can see ALL of the spreadsheet, rather than just the last ten days or so? The other clip that you added on FB is from April, so I imagine you have it somewhere?

Re the 4/10 screenshot from FB: In my opinion, and take it for what it is worth, the drop to 186 in an hour is a big drop, but bad. The 98 that you got later is a great number, albeit not high enough to give two units.
190422850_2573845972919184_3621471819582340384_n.jpg
 
Garcia, I am so glad to see that you got some help!
Finding your way around the message board can be a bit daunting, but you're in good hands now.
Good to see.
Laura
 
Yes I can see the SS now.
I ageee with Chris, those inbetween tests are very important if you can get them.
Are you giving snacks dieting the cycles and well as the two preshot meals?
as a matter of fact he p
Given that Macho has been on insulin since August 2020, is there any way that we can see ALL of the spreadsheet, rather than just the last ten days or so? The other clip that you added on FB is from April, so I imagine you have it somewhere?

Re the 4/10 screenshot from FB: In my opinion, and take it for what it is worth, the drop to 186 in an hour is a big drop, but bad. The 98 that you got later is a great number, albeit not high enough to give two units.
190422850_2573845972919184_3621471819582340384_n.jpg
thank you. please check the update spreadsheet. i added yesterday and today bgs
 
Feeding only twice a day is old thinking. With the newer insulins it’s better to also give snacks, especially during the first half of the cycle when the insulin is strongest. It’s better for the pancreas.
What do you mean it makes no difference? A n auto feeder is great
i bought catmate 500 and i tried and he just pee more and just got a little more fat he is 13 pounds now. i can try again.
 
Given that Macho has been on insulin since August 2020, is there any way that we can see ALL of the spreadsheet, rather than just the last ten days or so? The other clip that you added on FB is from April, so I imagine you have it somewhere?

Re the 4/10 screenshot from FB: In my opinion, and take it for what it is worth, the drop to 186 in an hour is a big drop, but bad. The 98 that you got later is a great number, albeit not high enough to give two units.
190422850_2573845972919184_3621471819582340384_n.jpg
i just did it recently he before had sensor libre. i just followed the vert recommendation at that time.
 
Given that Macho has been on insulin since August 2020, is there any way that we can see ALL of the spreadsheet, rather than just the last ten days or so? The other clip that you added on FB is from April, so I imagine you have it somewhere?

Re the 4/10 screenshot from FB: In my opinion, and take it for what it is worth, the drop to 186 in an hour is a big drop, but bad. The 98 that you got later is a great number, albeit not high enough to give two units.
190422850_2573845972919184_3621471819582340384_n.jpg


Hi. can you check the spreadsheet ? i'm confused of why his nadir number did not change from pre (am) shot. i really appreciate any info about what's going on.
 
A couple of things.... have you looked at the 2 dosing methods at the top of the Lantus page and chosen one? That will help determine how to move forward with dosing. I’ll put the link at the bottom.

Are you able to get at least one test in every night? A before bed test is a good one and if it is lower than the Preshot number you may need to get up later and test again. Cats often drop lower at night.

Are you feeding during the first half of the cycle as well as the Preshot meal?

It does look as if Macho needs an increase in dose and this is most likely why the nadir is not lower BUT you need to decide on a dosing method and get consistent pm tests in before an increase.

link to Dosing Methods https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
A couple of things.... have you looked at the 2 dosing methods at the top of the Lantus page and chosen one? That will help determine how to move forward with dosing. I’ll put the link at the bottom.

Are you able to get at least one test in every night? A before bed test is a good one and if it is lower than the Preshot number you may need to get up later and test again. Cats often drop lower at night.

Are you feeding during the first half of the cycle as well as the Preshot meal?

It does look as if Macho needs an increase in dose and this is most likely why the nadir is not lower BUT you need to decide on a dosing method and get consistent pm tests in before an increase.

link to Dosing Methods https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
thank you.

can you check his recent BG?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GZO3EpDU2UUzLUFQi3WNbMLGtNsA8kLIrwz-z-Uk-dU/edit?usp=sharing
 
A couple of things.... have you looked at the 2 dosing methods at the top of the Lantus page and chosen one? That will help determine how to move forward with dosing. I’ll put the link at the bottom.

Are you able to get at least one test in every night? A before bed test is a good one and if it is lower than the Preshot number you may need to get up later and test again. Cats often drop lower at night.

Are you feeding during the first half of the cycle as well as the Preshot meal?

It does look as if Macho needs an increase in dose and this is most likely why the nadir is not lower BUT you need to decide on a dosing method and get consistent pm tests in before an increase.

link to Dosing Methods https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/


I want to do tight regulation. yes, i starting testing him at night before bed.
 
Garcia, one thing right away that you need to know is that it's important to get at least 1 "before bed" test on the PM cycle too. Most cats go lower at night so it's important to know he's going to be safe while you're asleep (or if you need to set an alarm to get up and test again!)

Also, on the AM cycle, if at all possible, you should try to get at least 1 mid-cycle test (between +5 and +7). If you can get more tests, that's even better!

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not the Pre-shot number so it's important to see how low each dose is taking him

please advice. i update macho's spreadsheet. i'm giving him small meals (catmate) too. any idea why his numbers still high?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GZO3EpDU2UUzLUFQi3WNbMLGtNsA8kLIrwz-z-Uk-dU/edit?usp=sharing
 
please advice. i update macho's spreadsheet. i'm giving him small meals (catmate) too. any idea why his numbers still high?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GZO3EpDU2UUzLUFQi3WNbMLGtNsA8kLIrwz-z-Uk-dU/edit?usp=sharing

Hi Garcia,
If you have decided to do TR would you mind putting that at the top of the SS where if says which dosing method please, and also into your signature. It makes a difference as to how we advise you.

His numbers are still high because he needs more insulin. I would increase his dose to 2.25 Units in the morning.
With TR you reduce the dose if the BG falls under 50.
 
Hi Garcia,
If you have decided to do TR would you mind putting that at the top of the SS where if says which dosing method please, and also into your signature. It makes a difference as to how we advise you.

His numbers are still high because he needs more insulin. I would increase his dose to 2.25 Units in the morning.
With TR you reduce the dose if the BG falls under 50.


Ok, Thank you. I just increase the dose i'm using u-100 insuling syringes 3/10 i increase half more unit i guess that is 2.25. I will check his bg before going to bed.
 
Given that Macho has been on insulin since August 2020, is there any way that we can see ALL of the spreadsheet, rather than just the last ten days or so? The other clip that you added on FB is from April, so I imagine you have it somewhere?

Re the 4/10 screenshot from FB: In my opinion, and take it for what it is worth, the drop to 186 in an hour is a big drop, but bad. The 98 that you got later is a great number, albeit not high enough to give two units.
190422850_2573845972919184_3621471819582340384_n.jpg
I just re-read my post. So sorry for the delay. Been a difficult couple of weeks. I mean to say that the drop to 186 was big drop, but NOT bad.

I also was looking at your spread sheet, but can still only see from May 13 on.
 
I just re-read my post. So sorry for the delay. Been a difficult couple of weeks. I mean to say that the drop to 186 was big drop, but NOT bad.

I also was looking at your spread sheet, but can still only see from May 13 on.
no problem.
i dont have the old one. I just add todays #. should i give him 2.25 tomorrow morning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top