Cynthia and Sara
Member Since 2010
Hello everyone,
well, Sara's been doing better : PS 250-300, nadir 130-150.
The problem: On nov 19th, we leave for 2 weeks. No one can home test while we are gone;
We might be able to pay a vet tech to give shots BID.
otherwise given her numbers, we might not shoot while gone. I dont know what else to do. Family reunion in the US, tickets bought, can't bring her along.
Question: I want to switch to Lantus from the Caninsulin, but do we have enough time to work it out before we leave? to Get the dose right?
If the person who shoots her while gone can't deal with Lantus protocol or hometesting, is it worth switching now? or keep going on Caninsulin and wait till we get back?
It seems from reading that there is less of a chance of hypo on Lantus than caninsulin, so maybe she'd be safer while we're gone?
and because of her CRF, have to feed some Royal canin Renal with about 15% carbs: does that change the Lantus protocol?
My vet doesnt know what to do and I have to see her tommorrow...
I'd appreciate any advice from lantus users--no one has experience with this in France....
thanks!
well, Sara's been doing better : PS 250-300, nadir 130-150.
The problem: On nov 19th, we leave for 2 weeks. No one can home test while we are gone;
We might be able to pay a vet tech to give shots BID.
otherwise given her numbers, we might not shoot while gone. I dont know what else to do. Family reunion in the US, tickets bought, can't bring her along.
Question: I want to switch to Lantus from the Caninsulin, but do we have enough time to work it out before we leave? to Get the dose right?
If the person who shoots her while gone can't deal with Lantus protocol or hometesting, is it worth switching now? or keep going on Caninsulin and wait till we get back?
It seems from reading that there is less of a chance of hypo on Lantus than caninsulin, so maybe she'd be safer while we're gone?
and because of her CRF, have to feed some Royal canin Renal with about 15% carbs: does that change the Lantus protocol?
My vet doesnt know what to do and I have to see her tommorrow...
I'd appreciate any advice from lantus users--no one has experience with this in France....
thanks!