? Help!!!!! I’m not sure I made the right call? 11/4 Scout AMPS=469; +4.25=357;PMPS=181

sandscout

Member Since 2018
Hi, I am not sure I made the right call this evening with dosing and could use some experienced eyes!
This morning I increased Scout’s dose by .25u to 2.0 units. At +4.25 he was at 357. His PMPS was 181, so I followed the SLGS protocol, since he was under 200 and I wasn’t sure where he would go tonight. I wanted him to have some insulin, so I gave him 25% of his new dose. I knew I wouldn’t be able to test him a lot tonight,
( @Bobbie And Bubba helped me out with ideas for testing with a biting cat here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-do-i-do-this-10-29-scout-amps-449.221053/ ) which is what I think he would have needed if I shot his regular new dose.
Could some of you take a look at Scott’s SS and give me some feedback? I would be really grateful.
 
The most important thing is to keep Scout safe.
With SLGS and the BG at 181 your choices were:
  • give nothing
  • give a token dose (10% -25% of the usual dose)
  • feed as usual and test in a couple of hours and then make a decision based on that value.
As it is hard for you to get frequent tests done with Scouts biting I think you made a good choice.
If you cant test again give him some small snacks during the cycle.
I hope the new medication you are getting works well.
 
I think the Prozac may be starting to work a little -it’s been almost a week now, and instead of biting he did a sharp “meow” when he pulled away too soon from the lancet. So small steps:)
And thank you for your input, I wanted to keep him safe with the smaller dose, keeping him safe is the most important thing. I gave him a snack at +3 and will give another in a few hours.
Bron, thank you for replying.
 
Over time, as you gather more data, and hopefully Scout becomes more cooperative on testing, you can gradually lower the number at which you give the full dose. Experienced SLGS users can shoot as low as 90.

Paws crossed the Prozac keeps working.
 
I hope your vet mentioned that Prozac does not act quickly. In humans, it takes roughly 2 months for an initial dose to reach a full blood level. A person may begin to feel some change/improvement before that but it doesn't act quickly. In other words, be patient. I'm guessing that given a cat's metabolism, it may take about a month before the Prozac reaches full effectiveness.
 
Sorry, I wasn't online last night for your tag. I think given the situation with testing being difficult that it was wise you skipping for safety. I am glad that he is getting better and hope he continues to do so. Fingers and Paws crossed! :)
 
Back
Top