Help For Molly #7

Status
Not open for further replies.
I see the 266 @ +6. Interesting. Not sure what she is up to just yet. You can leave her some LC Fancy Feast to munch on this afternoon and relax. Molly is fine. :)
 
Oh yes the kibble might very well have done that. I know you were concerned and understand why you gave her kibble but the kibble is really high carb and she didn't need anything that high to keep her safe. Let's try to keep it out of the picture for now cause it will bump up the numbers considerably and take longer than the wet to clear her system. :)
 
Over time you'll get used to orchestrating what you feed at what BG level to keep her safe. This weekend is a good time to keep up the drop dose unless her PS is below, say, 5 or 6, to see how she handles it. If she drops quickly or lower than you'd like start by intervening with a little low carb food first. Add in the higher carb wet S/0 only if absolutely necessary. It's important to learn where her boundaries are on days when you can be there to monitor. That gives you good information for what she might do on your days at work.
 
So if she’s a 5 or 6 tomorrow. I can still giver her a drop? But just monitor her more?
If you're brave you can try that but let's see first how she does today. Lantus can keep BG quite flat in good dark green numbers if it's given on a low-ish PS. Linda and I haven't encouraged you to push the envelope that far because you're away at work and are still in the learning stages of dosing Molly.
 
Last edited:
Adrienne, Lantus is actually better at holding numbers down than it is at pushing them down. I eventually gave Menace insulin at readings even lower than 5 mmol and she would just sail along in dark green numbers from morning to night. I gradually reduced my BG cut off level over time and was using a bit more aggressive dosing method. It was scary at first but I am retired so my schedule is far more flexible and I could be home with her to see how she reacted and steer her if needed. When you are working all week it's a little harder but I would encourage you to shoot any reading 5 or over when you can monitor so you can see how Molly reacts. It will definitely help when making decisions during the week when monitoring is more sparse.
 
Ok, We'll see what her numbers are tomorrow. I'll be brave if they're at 5 or 6. I did give her a drop yesterday morning. But got scared where I wasn't going to be home. I'm assuming her BG is still up due to the kibble from yesterday?
 
Hard to say right now. It might be a small influence but it may be that with all the quick reductions Molly had due to her numbers that she needs either a drop or even an increase back to 0.10u for a period of time. Only by monitoring will we be able to tell. Those missed shots drained out the depot but the drop depot should be close if not back to the right level by now so we should start seeing exactly what the drop is doing for Molly in the next couple of cycles.
It's not uncommon to have to increase again to the last good dose which was 0.10u. Sometimes they wobble a bit.
 
Just saw that pinkie on the SS. YUCK! I won't be around tomorrow AM and in case Kris is not around either, I wanted to suggest you raise the dose to 0.10u again as long as Molly's AMPS is 150 or higher which I suspect it will be. If you can test her at +3 and again at +5 or +6 it will give us a view of what she is up to on that dose. Want to get her back to those nice blue and dark green numbers. I'll check in when I get home in the afternoon.
 
Just saw that pinkie on the SS. YUCK! I won't be around tomorrow AM and in case Kris is not around either, I wanted to suggest you raise the dose to 0.10u again as long as Molly's AMPS is 150 or higher which I suspect it will be. If you can test her at +3 and again at +5 or +6 it will give us a view of what she is up to on that dose. Want to get her back to those nice blue and dark green numbers. I'll check in when I get home in the afternoon.

Very disappointing to see that. I’m out for the evening and hopefully tomorrow morning. It won’t be as high
 
Holy moly! Did you do a retest after getting that 76? Your spreadsheet doesn't show a "no shot". Is that what you did?
 
Ditto on the HOLY MOLY! Just got home and didn't expect that AMPS at all. I can't believe that bit of kibble on Thursday took that long to clear Molly's system and in such a sudden fashion. This is puzzling. Any chance she got into more kibble since Thursday.......an overly accommodating cat Daddy maybe?:confused:
 
I would say yes but are you feeling up to grabbing another test before bed? Her numbers are a bit puzzling right now so it would be good to know where she is at least +2 and preferably +3 post shot. I doubt she'll get frisky but if she does better to catch it early so you can get some rest.
 
I would say yes but are you feeling up to grabbing another test before bed? Her numbers are a bit puzzling right now so it would be good to know where she is at least +2 and preferably +3 post shot. I doubt she'll get frisky but if she does better to catch it early so you can get some rest.

I’ll test her before bed. I seen this morning she puked a little. More fur than anything
 
Is she shedding her winter coat? I've had a couple of hairballs out of my fur kids in the last couple of weeks and I like to think that is a sign of spring coming.:smuggrin:
 
I agree with Linda that Molly's number right now are a bit hard to figure out. You don't have to worry though. It just means that the dosing might be a little back and forth. It's important to know exactly what she eats because kibble can really mess things up - if that's been in the picture recently.
 
Sorry Adrienne. Given that 76 yesterday, I think the drop was the right choice dose wise. While Molly is being a bit of a mystery right now, I think that AMPS might be a bit of a bounce from the green yesterday. Molly may have surfed in lower numbers for awhile yesterday and is reacting to them right now. You made a good decision IMO.:)
 
That's a good question but also one we will never really know the answer to. Could be less food and or/less activity. A lot of cats run lower at night so she may be surfing in lower numbers for a bit longer and then just doesn't jump back up as far in the morning. It could be that her pancreas is sporadically producing more normal amounts of insulin. Or she just likes to keep you guessing like every other cat. :cat:
 
Sorry Adrienne. I was out last night and didn't check in when I got home cause it was late. You made the right decision giving Molly the drop dose. As for the pink afterwards, that is really within the 15% meter allowance so it could be partly food bump and/or meter variance or a bit of both. Let's see what Molly's BG is in the AM. I think some of the ups and downs you're seeing right now is from the skipped shots and the depot bouncing around a bit as a result.

With SLGS method of dosing, you would skip the shot for any pre-shot under 90 which is what you've been doing. Molly may need a bit more insulin support to get her more used to lower BG and that means you may need to start shooting pre-shots below 90. I am hoping this weekend she will honour us with some lower BGs so we can see what she does when you can monitor her a little more.
 
I'd stick with the drop this morning and see what she does. I know I keep going back to the kibble, but are you absolutely sure there is no way Molly is getting into some contraband? Her numbers are, to be honest, a bit puzzling. It's possible she is going lower overnight that we are not seeing without testing later into the night cycle. Maybe over the weekend, you could set an alarm for the middle of the night and get a glimpse at what she is doing while you are sleeping.
 
I'd stick with the drop this morning and see what she does. I know I keep going back to the kibble, but are you absolutely sure there is no way Molly is getting into some contraband? Her numbers are, to be honest, a bit puzzling. It's possible she is going lower overnight that we are not seeing without testing later into the night cycle. Maybe over the weekend, you could set an alarm for the middle of the night and get a glimpse at what she is doing while you are sleeping.

I’m absolutely sure she’s not having any kibble. I feed her beef or chicken fancy feast and her treats. I’m a little disappointed with the numbers. I really don’t understand where she was doing so good! She seems more hungrier lately
 
She likely is a bit hungrier with the slightly higher numbers. Let's use the weekend to try to figure her out. The SLGS method can get kitties into remission but in some cases, it leaves them in a situation like Molly's where her numbers have come down but she is still wobbling a lot and not staying in the lower range we need her to be in. We'll get this figured out but it may mean you are going to have to be a little more aggressive with dosing and perhaps be setting alarms periodically to grab some tests at night to do so safely. Molly is doing well and sometimes it's that final hump that is the hardest.
 
Her BG is wobbling a lot and that is probably making her feel a little less spunky. As long as she is eating, peeing, pooping, preening, purring (if she usually purrs) and playing to some degree or at least is interested in your attention, I wouldn't worry about her.
 
Yes I think tonight (or tomorrow morning if you prefer) would be a good time to boost her up to 0.10 again and see how she does on that dose.
 
Sorry, folks. I've been occupied with a lot of other things this week and haven't been here much. I agree with Linda's suggestion to try 0.10 u again this weekend and maybe be a little more aggressive because you're at home to monitor.
 
Molly had so many reductions so close together that she just hasn't yet got the "hang" of sitting in lower numbers. She may be a bit higher in the mornings because she is going a bit lower at night than you are seeing. It's a mystery and all we can do is guess and adjust the dose so she starts getting back to the the blues and dark greens again. This is not uncommon. I went up and down on the dose with my girl several times before she finally decided to stay there and started tumbling down the dosing ladder very quickly. Molly's is only 3 months into this journey.....still early days. It's those ups and downs we all find so frustrating but they are completely normal.
 
Got lots of strips and some higher carb food around (the SO wet is fine) and time to spend on Molly? If so, I'd give her the drop and see what she does. I'm betting she will just surf along nicely but you want to be prepared to take action should her BG drop to lower levels. I will be around to keep tabs on you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top