maggie&curly
Member
First of all, thank you Cindy and Mousie for the testing supplies- they really came in handy today. Curly was kind of acting weird last night, walking around crying, and not eating his food. Today when I fed the cats he did not come to eat. I put the bowl of food in front of him, but he did not show any interest in it. (my other cat is eating fine so I don't think its the Friskies). I was running late for work and was not sure what to do- usually when he is acting like this his sugar is high. He is normally on Humulin-N 1.5 units every 12 hours. I tried to test him (thank you again, cindy!) but could not get a reading so I gave a reduced dose (just under the 1 unit mark) of his Humulin-N since he wasnt eating (although when I put a bowl of milk down he did start drinking that). After I gave the dose I decided to try one more time and I was able to get a reading, which was 256. I want to make sure that it was okay to give him that 1 unit with him being at that level.
Honestly since I have not had the testing supplies until now I don't know what his usual preshot level is. It used to be 500, but that was when the vet thought he was having rebound high sugars because of too high of a dose so she brought him down to 1.5 units twice daily. He got his last dose last night at around 1:30 a.m. and then the reduced dose today at 11:45 a.m. I am just worried about him and am not sure whether I should try to get someone to go sit with him until I get off work. And unfortunately I was out of the baby food and other goodies that I usually entice him to eat with, although I will pick them up on my way home tonight.
He has reacted like this in the past when a dose or two was missed, and this time I can only think of one dose that was missed due to my work schedule, and he normally does okay as long as he doesn't miss 2 or 3. Which was why I was afraid to just not give him any, since that seems to be what leads to this. Anyway, I am so used to him being super high before his shot that I have no idea if 256 is a good level to shoot at or not.
Also there was that incident last week when he accidentally got an overdose of his insulin- I had run out of syringes and used one that I didn't realize until afterward was a U-40 syringe, but he seemed to do fine. I wonder now if he had some kind of rebound from getting that higher dose?
Now I see the benefits of curves! Thank you again, Cindy and Mousie, I will do a curve on him the next day off that I have. But if anyone can tell me whether he should be okay until I get home it would sure help me. Thanks for any help or advice anyone has to share.
Honestly since I have not had the testing supplies until now I don't know what his usual preshot level is. It used to be 500, but that was when the vet thought he was having rebound high sugars because of too high of a dose so she brought him down to 1.5 units twice daily. He got his last dose last night at around 1:30 a.m. and then the reduced dose today at 11:45 a.m. I am just worried about him and am not sure whether I should try to get someone to go sit with him until I get off work. And unfortunately I was out of the baby food and other goodies that I usually entice him to eat with, although I will pick them up on my way home tonight.
He has reacted like this in the past when a dose or two was missed, and this time I can only think of one dose that was missed due to my work schedule, and he normally does okay as long as he doesn't miss 2 or 3. Which was why I was afraid to just not give him any, since that seems to be what leads to this. Anyway, I am so used to him being super high before his shot that I have no idea if 256 is a good level to shoot at or not.
Also there was that incident last week when he accidentally got an overdose of his insulin- I had run out of syringes and used one that I didn't realize until afterward was a U-40 syringe, but he seemed to do fine. I wonder now if he had some kind of rebound from getting that higher dose?
Now I see the benefits of curves! Thank you again, Cindy and Mousie, I will do a curve on him the next day off that I have. But if anyone can tell me whether he should be okay until I get home it would sure help me. Thanks for any help or advice anyone has to share.