HELP CONFUSED! THANK YOU

Status
Not open for further replies.

presouzkitty

Member Since 2010
CONFUSED!!! First off I use BCP PZI past year, before that I used IDEXX PZI. My 14 1/2 yr old female has been diabetic for almost 9 years. She started having some throw up sessions yesterday mid day about 6 hours after her AM shot. So I checked her blood sugar it was high for that time of day, read 365 which is usually her pre shot number. So I gave her one unit in a panic thinking PZI peaks at 6 hours? This was at noon time, (she had her regular 3 units 7AM like usual) I stopped checking her blood for a long while since she has been on same food same routine for years. So last night instead of just shooting, I checked her BG and OMG it was only 79!! I was freaking, so I re checked it, it was 80, so no shot for her last night. Upon brushing her after her 365 reading yesterday after noon I noticed more dander and a greasy coat which usually means her sugar is high, so it all fit so why would her sugar be so low now? And her coat NOT so danderish this morning!? Maybe I brushed it all out.. UGH..I’m so confused, now this morning before her shot of course IM GOING TO TEST HER and her sugar was 190, any thing UNDER 250 my VET says is a NO SHOOT number. So I sit here all perplexed. IF I had not paid attention and just given her the shot as I have so many mornings so many times over the past 9 years with out testing, she would have been dead or in night emergency vet last night. THANK YOU JESUS for giving me the sense to do the right thing!! SO CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT THE HECK?
 
First, fantastic that you are testing. Definitely could have saved her life.

In general, we say not to shoot under 200 but to wait 20 minutes, without feeding, and test again. If it has gone up some, shoot a reduced dose. If it has gone up quite a bit, shoot a regular dose. Sometimes a long term diabetic will just start responding. Sometimes it does mean other medical issues.

So any other behaviors that are different?
Any recent food change?

The +6 shot can certainly change the picture as you could have some overlap.

You skipped this am, right?
 
Hi there,
we ususally say that you should not shoot at +6, we usualy stay with the 12/12 schedule
except for the TID kitties here.
how is she doing to day and how are her numbers?

Denise and Shakes
 
Yeah she was throwing up and no hair ball coming up went on for a few hours so I decided to see what her sugar was.. MY BAD giving her a unit mid day.. yeah no shot that night or that next morning.. *sat morning, but I did check her sugar it was back up to 365 which is her pre shot numbers.. I gave her the usual 3.0 units at noon. BUT IM not going to shoot her till her regular time at 7 am after her test. THANK GOD I didnt blindly give her a shot that night. Thanks for the reply.. I think I caused this whole thing by panic mid day dose. Im not even going to test her now since Im not giving an evening shot, its only been 9 hours and I dont want to think all night after reading the test if I should or should not give her a shot, and then second guess myself all night. I faxed my vet she left me a message saying I over thought the entire thing LOL.. anyway thanks so much.. you think after nearly 9 years I would have this figured out, which I thought I did... I have not been back but a few times since the change over last year here, it was too confusing to me~ ha ha so I got smarter or the site got easy again like it used to be.. thanks again all.. hugs... see you on facebook~~!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top