presouzkitty
New Member
CONFUSED!!! First off I use BCP PZI past year, before that I used IDEXX PZI. My 14 1/2 yr old female has been diabetic for almost 9 years. She started having some throw up sessions yesterday mid day about 6 hours after her AM shot. So I checked her blood sugar it was high for that time of day, read 365 which is usually her pre shot number. So I gave her one unit in a panic thinking PZI peaks at 6 hours? This was at noon time, (she had her regular 3 units 7AM like usual) I stopped checking her blood for a long while since she has been on same food same routine for years. So last night instead of just shooting, I checked her BG and OMG it was only 79!! I was freaking, so I re checked it, it was 80, so no shot for her last night. Upon brushing her after her 365 reading yesterday after noon I noticed more dander and a greasy coat which usually means her sugar is high, so it all fit so why would her sugar be so low now? And her coat NOT so danderish this morning!? Maybe I brushed it all out.. UGH..I’m so confused, now this morning before her shot of course IM GOING TO TEST HER and her sugar was 190, any thing UNDER 250 my VET says is a NO SHOOT number. So I sit here all perplexed. IF I had not paid attention and just given her the shot as I have so many mornings so many times over the past 9 years with out testing, she would have been dead or in night emergency vet last night. THANK YOU JESUS for giving me the sense to do the right thing!! SO CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT THE HECK?