HELP! AMPS is 178...not sure what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.

Terry and Casey

Member Since 2015
Hi, this is Casey's first time with an amps below 200. I will wait 20 minutes and retest but it it still below the 200 should I give a lower dosage? She presently gets 2 units of prozinc. Please help! I have started moving her to the lower carb canned food.
 
Hi, this is Casey's first time with an amps below 200. I will wait 20 minutes and retest but it it still below the 200 should I give a lower dosage? She presently gets 2 units of prozinc. Please help! I have started moving her to the lower carb canned food.
I retested in 20 minutes and it was 197. But, she was fussing with me and the blood went onto my hand so I tested it from there...does this impact the result? Any way, since it was moving up, I gave her a reduced dosage of 1.5. I am going to stay home and keep an eye on her. Was this the right thing to do?? I'm nervous.
 
I think you did great. I would test again in a couple hours, just to make sure she is headed up. And yes, I'd reduce the dose. Even if this cycle turns out to be high and flat. 2 units plus the low carb may have taken her too low overnight, so a lower dose overall is a good idea.

Next time, get the blood on your fingernail. I know that works. I'm not sure whether getting it on your skin works as well.
 
I think you did great. I would test again in a couple hours, just to make sure she is headed up. And yes, I'd reduce the dose. Even if this cycle turns out to be high and flat. 2 units plus the low carb may have taken her too low overnight, so a lower dose overall is a good idea.

Next time, get the blood on your fingernail. I know that works. I'm not sure whether getting it on your skin works as well.

Thanks for responding Sue. I'll keep checking on her. I know her numbers going down is a good thing but it is so scary worrying about doing the wrong thing and hurting her in the process.
 
Well, it could be a little lower. A little higher or flat. Really, no way to tell and you will feel better knowing than worrying. You could go down to one unit and work your way back up, .25 units at a time, if her numbers are too high on that dose. That is easier and safer than trying to guess how much to reduce. Some cats drop a lot with low carb food, some times right away, sometimes taking two weeks or so. There's no way to predict (sorry) :banghead:
 
You did a great job! The first time Gypsy had a low number, I knew what I should do...but still panicked, logged in, and begged for help. That first time is scary! But it's all good news.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top