Help- accidentally injected 3x too much insulin

Kjensoc

Member Since 2019
(sorry also posted on main forum and couldn't figure out how to link here and it was suggested I do that)

Help! I was preoccupied. I usually fill the syringe with too much and reduce to Simba's doseage. And he snuck into his sister's higher carb food before I did that. And I pulled him away and injected him. My guess is it was at least 6ml and his dose is 2ml.

PMPS 97
+1 100
+2 77

I let him eat his sister's med carb wet food and some cat treats.

I will continue to test him and am wondering if I need to give him Karo syrup now.

so sorry my spreadsheet is not updated I have been very lax putting the numbers in on there. His dose was increased to 2ml
 
Glad to see some other experienced helpers - helped you. Glad to see that Simba got thru this emergency unscathed.

It was a good learning experience for you. Even after 4 years, I double check Leo's dose in the syringe every time. Then right after the dose, I put a check on the tracking sheet. This helps avoid potential "double dose" if you are too tired. And it can happen since we are often up all hours day and night taking care of our sugar kittehs.
 
So glad that all ended up okay. It has happened to many being preoccupied or too tired or both. As Jeff said, getting a system in place to make sure you check and double check yourself to prevent another overdose.
 
Theresa and I use a daily ongoing printed checklist. It helps us track Leo, and also helps us avoid mistakes. Anyhow, this works well for us.
Date
Time
BG (glucose)
Dose
Comments
Daily spreadsheet for Leo.jpg
 
Hah! I use exactly the same sheet, & write on it as I go. Keeps me organized. What a scary thing, this overdose; happy that all's well now. Maybe this isn't a bad time to read up on hypoglycemia, and start putting together a hypo box so you have everything you need in one place. I have 50 test strips in there, and even a spare meter. There's info here on FD on what to put in there. The box sits at the end of my kitchen counter: these hypoglycemic events are stressful enough without having to worry about finding stuff too!
 
Back
Top