Help? 9/18/19 Blaze AMPS 324, +6 214, PMPS 161, +12.10 146

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Okay, of course Blaze decides to drop into blues the night before we leave for Maui!

AMPS was 324
+6 was 214
PMPS is 161

We have to be up at 2 am tomorrow and leaving at 3 am to catch our flight to Maui, should I skip the shot tonight? Give a reduced dose?

And now I'm wondering if Blaze will be safe at 1U while I'm gone and the pet sitter is in charge. We already decreased from 1.25U to 1U while we are gone for 10 days. If Blaze was below 200 and above 150, we were going to have the pet sitter give 0.5U, and no shot if below 150. Does that all sound okay after this PMPS?

Pet sitter can only do AMPS and PMPS.

@Nan & Amber
@MrWorfMen's Mom
 
I'm going to stall feeding and testing in 10 minutes, but I'm wondering if it's best to skip the shot tonight because I can't be up all night testing him.
 
Sarah, I think skipping tonight is quite acceptable given you can't be up all night. If you are worried about Blaze in your absence, you can always change your no shot limit to 200 and 0.5u dose for BG between 200 and 250. Above 250, full dose for an extra margin of safety.
 
Sarah, I think skipping tonight is quite acceptable given you can't be up all night. If you are worried about Blaze in your absence, you can always change your no shot limit to 200 and 0.5u dose for BG between 200 and 250. Above 250, full dose for an extra margin of safety.
Do you think that's necessary or is that excessive? Should I just leave things the way I planned?
 
Sarah, I think skipping tonight is quite acceptable given you can't be up all night. If you are worried about Blaze in your absence, you can always change your no shot limit to 200 and 0.5u dose for BG between 200 and 250. Above 250, full dose for an extra margin of safety.
I can't decide what to do :(

I think he should be okay with what we had planned on.
1U for anything above 200, 0.5 U for numbers between 200-150, no shot for 150 or lower. Let me know if you think I should do that you just suggested above. I guess I could actually give him 0.5U tonight and test a couple times before bed?
 
Upping the dosing limits might seem excessive but sometimes kitties don't eat the same amount when their people are gone. There is no way to know if you need that much cushion but better to set higher limits than have them too low. Blaze will get back on track when you get back.

I think it's fine that you gave the 0.5u dose tonight.
 
Okay, I will do as you suggested then! Going to leave these instructions for the pet sitter, just to be safe. Thanks Linda!

no shot limit to 200 and 0.5u dose for BG between 200 and 250. Above 250, full dose

Blaze has been in pinks and barely any yellows since we did the vacation dose decrease but of course he dips into blue the night before we leave! Oh Blaze!:cool: He wants to go to Maui too. I showed my pet sitter how to update his spreadsheet with AMPS and PMPS numbers too, so that should be kept up to date while we're gone.
 
You can always count on our kitties to do something dramatic at just the wrong time. :rolleyes:He'll be fine.
You can always leave your board sign on for the pet sitter too if she has any questions.
 
You can always count on our kitties to do something dramatic at just the wrong time. :rolleyes:He'll be fine.
You can always leave your board sign on for the pet sitter too if she has any questions.
Oh yes, always count on it! I should have known he was planning this tonight :joyful:

And yes, I told her she can post on here any time she needs to, I'm leaving it open, as well as the spreadsheet.
 
Back
Top