? HELP 1st day using prozinc -Dosing QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea L 66

Member Since 2020
Hello, I'm Andrea and Willow is my cat. We just started on Prozinc after treating originally with Lantus. We were having a hard time getting din=wn to a dose where we were not having low numbers mid shot.
So after a resting period we are starting with Prozinc.
Last night was first dose starting with one unit. Willow was 305 pmps , 259 +2, 67 +4, 60 40 min later, 80 1.5 hours later. In response to the low numbers I gave low carb food, then with additional drop some higher carb food an treats. Once she hit 80 I had to go to bed so no further testing.
My big question is would you skip next shot? I have to go to work soon and won't be able to monitor. MY gut is telling me I should skip but I need to get her on regular dosing. I am guessing that dose is too high but I'm not sure how soon to reduce or how much.

She is at 355 this AM
 
Thank You for the quick response. I am nervous about leaving her alone. She keeps doing this we were on 1/2 unit of Lantus and we kept having the same issue. I work a job where I am gone for 12 hours a day so it is hard to keep dosing on schedule let alone doing mid-day testing. I am feeling like a failure at this. She has only had one crash where we saw obvious symptoms beyond extreme lethargy. But they all scare the hell out of me.

I think for today I will skip am shot. Is it okay to reduce when she has only had the single dose?
 
You are NOT a failure.

When switching insulin, you would start at the same dose as the previous insulin.

What I would have suggested with Lantus, will apply with Prozinc. You need to test more often. This will give you greater control over what's going on. Lantus dosing, along with most insulin, is based on the nadir -- the lowest number in the cycle. If you're only getting pre-shot numbers, you don't know what's happening at nadir. Pre-shot tests tell you whether it's safe to give insulin. The spot checks let you know if numbers are dropping and if you need to intervene to stop dropping numbers.
 
I can only test more often on my days off. But I will try to do that more consistently. I am terrified that she is going to go HYPO while I am at work. It is one of the reasons I took a while to restart with new insulin.

BTW thank you for all of the help!
 
Hi Andrea,

I second you’re not a failure! You’re monitoring her which is way more than most folks do. You said “we” is there someone else that could maybe help with the midday tests? Just a thought. I live alone so once I go back to work, it will be impossible for me as well :( we can only do the best we can :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top