Hello Everyone, My Cat has Diabetes :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ed and Bally

Member Since 2010
I took my cat to the vet. this morning because he was drinking an abnormal amount of water and has stopped eating as of Friday. He is also urinating very excessively. I had looked at this site last night and was very concerned it was diabetes as my cat is an indoor cat and weighs 25 lbs. When they did the blood work his blood sugar came back at 400! However they said everything else looked ok.
I got him insulin and gave him his first shot at noon. The vet recommended one unit twice a day of Lantus U-100.
He's still not eating but the vet said it could take 2 to 3 days for his sugar to come down where he would start eating again. They were unable to check his Ketones at the vet so I got test strips and he is normal at the moment, thank God.
I am tempted to up his dosage of insulin to get his sugar down but with him not eating I guess maybe I should follow the vets. direction and just keep him on 1 unit twice a day.?
Diabetes is not new to me. My step dad was an insulin dependent diabetic for several years so I am familiar with giving shots and using a glucometer (on a person anyway). He had a stroke, lost 70 lbs and actually was no longer dependent on insulin.
They also said he is developing cataracts as a result of the diabetes.
Does anyone know anything about this? If I get the blood sugar under control will it keep the cataracts from getting worse?
I have to say that I have learned more from this website then I did from my vet. this morning. Thank you for the great website!
I wish everyone the best with your diabetic pet.
 
Welcome Ed! What's the cat's name? Glad you have been doing some reading; this site is a great resource. Have you read the FAQs?http://binkyspage.tripod.com/faq.html

We have had great success with the right diet (http://www.catinfo.org), insulin (Lantus is a good choice. Have you read the stickies on the Lantus page? viewforum.php?f=9 They will help you understand how it works. You would not want to up the dose without data; it may take a while for his body to learn to use the insulin.

One the best things you can do is to learn how to test your cat's blood glucose levels at home. Then you will know it is safe to give a shot twice a day, and you can see exactly what the insulin is doing. Here is a good beginning site for info: http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm and a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8 We use human glucometers and lancets and test the kitty's ear.

Keep reading and asking questions. Everyone here has or had a diabetic cat and treated them successfully. I always figured my vet was like a GP - she knew a little about a lot of things, but was not an expert on feline diabetes.
 
I'm sorry you have to be here, but it's good that you have some experience.

Keep the dose the same. 1U of Lantus is a good starting dose and it will take a day or two for the numbers to go down, but that's how Lantus works. I highly recommend that you start hometesting. As you probably know from your step dad, he checked his BGs often. It's the same with our cats. Testing is what tells us if the dose of insulin is good, how quickly our cat metabolizes, if he's in safe numbers or could use a dose increase or decrease.

Regarding the cataracts, I believe that is something seen in dogs with diabetes, not cats. But maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong.

Like your step dad, your cat's diet will play a large role in this too. What do you currently feed your cat?

A diet low in carbs, high protein is better for FDs. Carbs are like sugar for humans. My cats eat canned Fancy Feast, the loaf/classic varieties.

Did you get a vial of lantus? I use Levemir, but it's similar. I prefer to buy the pen cartrigdes since my cat doesn't use up a vial before it expires. But, if you do have the lantus vial, it will last more than the 28 days the manufacturer recommends as long as you handle it well.

Here's a link to a sticky on the Lantus insulin support group that explains proper storage: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151

You may want to look at a few of the stickies on that forum there are stickies towards the top that explain a great deal about the insulin and what you can expect.
 
Ed, Sue has given you great advice. A change in your cat's diet to low carb wet food will impact his BG level (some have reported a 100+ drop with a diet change alone).

Please do NOT change your cat's Lantus dose just yet. Sue gave you the links for information on Lantus, and it works differently than other insulins in that it forms a "shed." It takes several days for the shed to form. In addition, if you change your cat's diet and with the resulting drop in his BG levels, you don't want to run the risk of giving him too much insulin. Most of us stick with the "Start low and go slow," philosophy when it comes to insulin, and your vet started you on a reasonable dose. Sometimes when people increase the dose too soon or too often, the dose is increased PAST the point necessary to regulate a cat and - you guessed it - the cat doesn't get regulated and, in some cases, people have to "start over" with a small dose and slowly make increases.

Also, before considering a dose increase, I'd like for you to start home testing. You use human glucometers and either the cat's ear or paw pad. Many people purchase their glucometers and strips from Wal Mart, as it seems to have the best price on strips (which is what really costs).

There are some things you will need to know and have on hand in the event you cat does have a hypo incident. Please see here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2354 and here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1122 for that information.

You will have many questions...please do post back with them, and we will do our best to help and support you.
 
I wanted to chime in on the cataracts thing too. I hear it's kind of rare for a cat to get cataracts, especially from diabetes. People & dogs will pretty easily, but not cats. Is your kitty old? It may just be age related if he is. My Cuddles had the cloudy eyes when she was up there in age (teens), but it wasn't cataracts. She did have issues that needed eye drops.. the vet explained it to me, and said it was 'eosinophilic keratitis'. http://www.animal-eye-specialists.com/ek.html But the cloudiness on the inner part of the eye can also be nuclear sclerosis. http://www.kosmix.com/topic/nuclear_sclerosis Cuddles didn't seem to have any vision loss, as is common with cataracts, so that's why it was most likely nuclear sclerosis.

Sorry you have to be here, but so glad you found us! Please don't hesitate if you have any questions about anything! This board is a WEALTH of knowledge! (& support!) If you want more information on Cuddles' history, please click on the link in my signature in the bottom line to see our old profile.
 
Your cat could be my cats twin Sue and Oliver

Thank you for the replies Sue and Oliver, tuckers mom, Jana + BK + Chester, Larry and Kitties, Steph & Cuddles . It's nice to meet you all. You have some adorable cats. I will have to take a picture when Bally is feeling better.

My cats name is Bally. He is about 13 years old now. I got him at the SPCA when he was 6 months old. The young girls who worked there named him so I just kept it.

I have started reading An Introduction to Feline Diabetes fAQ's here. I will take a look at that link as well Sue. There is allot of infmation to look at and I will be doing so for a while I am sure.

Yes, I will leave the dosage of insulin the same everyone. I plan on consulting the vet before I make any changes if he does not start eating by Tuesday.

At the moment I am on unemployment so I am financially strapped rite now. Between the vet bill and the insulin I spent $330 today that I don't even have yet. Thankfully they took a post dated check at the vet so I was able to write another one at the pharmacy for the insulin, syringes, and Keto-Diastix. All I have rite now is the strips for the blood sugar. I realy can not even afford a follow up visit with the vet rite now to go the glucose curve -without seriously falling behind on bills. At least I know what the problem is now. I think with the help of this site and everyone here I will be able to manage ok.

I did find a site on line this afternoon that is sending me a free One Touch Ultra Mini glucometer with 10 test strips which will help allot. They said 3 to 4 weeks for delivery however so the Keto-Diastix strips will have to do for now even though they don't give you a current sugar level. It's better then nothing for the moment.

I have been looking into the special foods. Unfortunately rite now I simply can not afford it. As soon as I can I am going to get some of that for him but for now my main concern is just getting the sugar down to a manageable level. The vet suggested I start feeding him 4 times a day instead of 2 to help keep his sugar balanced for now.

Steph & Cuddles, they said it was more of just cloudy rite now but it could get worse. The person telling me this was an intern so maybe he was confused with dogs, I'm not sure.

Thank you all for the support and the links. I appreciate your replies. It's very comforting to have other people to talk to who are also dealing with feline diabetes.

I am sure I will be seeing you all here in the future. :-D
 
There are ways to make it much less expensive. Lori and Tom will send you a free newbie kit with meter and strips: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=19541 If you start testing at home, you will really cut down on vet visits. You can do the curves at home.

We don't feed prescription food. We feed wet lo carb between 8=10% carbs. An economical choice is Friskies. Check the food chart for some possible flavors: http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm

You want Bailey to be eating if you are giving insulin. This site has some ideas: http://www.felinecrf.org/persuading_cat_to_eat.htm
 
Ed, I completely forgot to post a link for what we call Newbie Kits. Lori (and Tom, too) can send you one, and the link is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=19528

Believe me, we can all understand tough times financialy. I don't know what you are feeling Bally now, but if you look at Janet & Binky's food chart http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm, you will find many brands (Friskies, Fancy Feast, etc.), and many varieties that are low carb. Oftentimes people feel like they have to purchase expensive food for the cats, and that just isnt' so. It doesn't matter the brand or the cost, only that it is low carb wet.

Since Bally is on Lantus, you should know the advertised 28-day viability for that insulin is for humans. For felines, it lasts longer if refringerated. Also, your vet can give you script for Lantus in a vial or for SoloStar pens. For me, a vial cost $85.00 at Costco, but even with two cats each getting 2 units twice a day, I ended up throwing out about half the vial after it had lost its potentcy. SoloStar pens (5 to a package) cost more up front (about $115.00 at Costco), but many of us have found we can use up all the insulin in the smaller cartridges and not have to throw any away. If you are considering the pens, please do know you CAN use the regular U-100 syringes and do NOT need to purchase the special (and very expensive) screw-on needles.

Once you learn to home test, you vet bills will decrease. You won't have to take Bally to the vet's office for curves, you will be able to supply that information to the vet.

I know this is alot to take in, but hang in there!
 
I did want to say, Ed, that you shouldn't change the food if you have been feeding dry, until you are testing at home. When we changed Oliver from dry to wet, he went down 100 points overnight. If we hadn't been testing, and just gave the regular amount of insulin, he would have hypoed.

Lori can usually get the newbie kits out in a few days so you should be able to try hometesting this week.
 
I know it's considered rare, but I'm certain that is where Pearl's came from. Her eyes have seemed better at some times than others, but I really don't know if it will "go away". I kind of doubt it. Sounds like you are off to a very good start though.
 
Welcome to FDMB

You've already gotten some great advice -- stick with the 1u BID dose for a week -- learn to test blood sugar at home -- change to low carbohydrate canned food (grain-free is good)

Regarding cataracts... it is unusual for cats to develop them, and the few that do -- seem to develop over quite a few years.

I have had 3 diabetic cats -- first Norton, then I adopted Tiggy and recently Rusty. Norton passed away from cancer two years ago.

Tiggy was diabetic for about 6 years before I adopted him, and he had some initial cataracts when we got him 18 months ago --- since then, they have gotten worse but he is not completely blind. His diabetes is well-regulated and I don't know how quickly his cataracts are getting worse, but ... he does have them.

phoebe
 
I am a little concerned. He is not even drinking water now. The vets assistant said he will still continue to urinate though because he is burning fat. I was honestly surprised they did not keep him overnight considering he is not eating and is lethargic. I just hope the insulin kicks in soon.


Sue and Oliver - Rite now he is eating, I should say he was eating dry food until yesterday. I had just switched his dry food from regular Dads to Dad's indoor blend because it said it was to help with weight control. It has whole grains and dietary greens in it. Ironically the symptoms started just after I switched to the new food. So I switched back to the old food for now.
Thanks for tip and link on the Friskies cat food. Are you still feeding Oliver dry food or have you switched to wet?



Thanks Jana + BK + Chester -I am going to have to wait for the free One Touch Ultra Mini glucometer. I hope we will be ok with the strips until then. Thanks for the tips about the hypo. Every time I turn around it seams like there is more things I need to buy, ugg!

Karen & Pearl - The vets intern was telling me about this. I am going to research it online. I will let you know what I find out. You, I and Sue and Oliver have identical cats lol.

Diana and Merlin - Nice to meet you Diana. Yes, this is a great source of information. I learned allot more here then at the vet today. She was telling me all these things at once and it's not like you can remember it all.
I hope Oliver is doing ok.
 
ed, let me know what you need. i'll see that you get it...i'll even let you know of things you did'nt know you need.
 
Ed,

I would really do whatever you can to get him to eat and drink. If you can get him to eat the wet food, that will have some liquid in it. You can warm the wet food up in the microwave till it is nice and stinky and add some warm water to it to make it soupy. We have even been known to put food on our fingers and get them to lick it off. If he will eat the dry, have him eat that. You can syringe water into his mouth - just a syringe without the needle and put small amounts into the side of his mouth so he doesn't choke. You can do the same with soupy wet food.

You don't want the insulin in his body and him not eating and drinking. I would watch him carefully tonight and if he doesn't start eating and drinking and still seems lethargic, get him to the vet.

I changed Oliver to wet the day before he went down 100 points and fed him wet until he died of heart disease. (He did go off insulin after 6 months and lived another year insulin free. He was 16 years old.) The picture is Niko, my present rescue who is a civie - that is not diabetic. I feed him wet - I am convinced the dry food is what gave Oliver diabetes in the first place.

Please consider getting the free meter from Lori and Tom. We all pay it forward by donating meters and strips and money to her so she can send them out to people like you.
 
sue show him if i'm not here how to find his pm's...i just sent him one. recommending the relion for the long term as the strips are half the cost of one touch strips.
and thank you for continueing to use the newbie kits site in my absence guys.
steph told me you did it.
remind newbie's all the time ok.
kits still available.
me, not so much.
not now anyway.
loves ya' all
purrrrrrrrrrrrs from mr. tom
 
Ed, please take Lori up on her offer! She can get a newbie kit (including glucometer & some strips) to you MUCH faster than 4-6 weeks! You never know how fast or slow you'll get those free meters in the mail. This way, you can have your meter within 2-3 days hopefully! I was unemployed for 7 months earlier this year, so I know how much any of this helps!
 
Ed, please consider taking Lori up on her offer to send you a Newbie Kit. It will get to you much faster and, as Sue said, the contents of our Newbie Kits come from people here paying it forward.

Perhaps mix a bit of water in with wet food for Bally? If he's not down with water at all, perhaps some soup broth or the water from a can of tuna? Maybe he'll even eat the tuna? Bally really needs to eat and drink, and unregulated diabetics generally do ALOT of both. I'm concerned because he was given insulin and the symptoms you are describing could be many things, including a hypo. You've said he is lethargic...how do his eyes look? Glassy? How is he doing walking? OK or like a drunken sailor?

Please post back and let us know.
 
Ok, I'm going to disagree with one piece of advice...I'd be giving insulin without him eating. He's at huge risk for developing ketones and hepatic lipidosis and you need to get those numbers down NOW.

that said, he absolutely needs to eat, for the same reasons. Lack of food and lack of insulin means he's burning fat, which leads to ketones and fatty liver and he can easily die from these. All you need to do is syringe feed watered down babyfood and water, consistently and constantly throughout the day. And you need to test his urine for ketones using ketostix from your local pharmacy (test his urine).

You absolutely CAN get him through this; my Squeak was about the same. But you need to get a combo of food/water/insulin into him and now...

Jen
 
I'm with Jen.. you need food AND insulin to keep the ketones away. I think he just needs to start syringe feeding him some food at this point so he gets something in him. He doesn't want kitty to get hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver) - definitely a fatal disease!

Ed, do you have any wet food at home? & a needleless syringe? If not, you can pick those up at Petsmart tomorrow. You can puree any food really, and get that into the syringe, to feed him with. let us know if you need help w/ syringe feeding. You just put the tip of the syringe at the side of their mouth, squeeze some in, and let kitty swallow it themselves. It can and usually DOES get messy. ;-) But kitty needs to eat soon too! Do you have an ER vet that sells A/D food? That food is SO much easier to use for syringe feeding, and most kitties like the taste of it. I use it to force feed my foster kittens when they're sick & don't want to eat. I have a 24 hour ER vet by me that will sell that to me w/o a prescription or anything. I'm sure they'd have a feeding syringe too. (You can't buy the A/D at a regular store.. it's considered a prescription diet.)
 
My only concern is that Bally apparently hasn't eaten since Friday. The vet gave him 1 U about ten hours ago (if I have my time zones right!). I do understand his BG level must be very high, but without food or water.... nailbite_smile

I just don't know...I understand what you're saying (and don't necessarily disagree), but since Ed is testing for ketones...

This is one of those tough calls to make and, unfortunately, Ed may have to make it on his first day and without any idea of what Bally's BG level is right now.
 
The cat is going to be running high. At this point, it is unlikely that he is going to need food to keep him 'safe' enough to get insulin.
 
ed, sent pm again. it's okay if he's not drinking. once his bg's are lowered they won't drink too much. you did say he is eatting right now did'nt you? i think that's good enough. he'll drink if he needs to..you can put a little water in his food.
 
um, Lori, it is ok if he doesn't drink much once he's regulated and if he's eating canned food, but right now he's unregulated and likely quite dehydrated
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top